We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wavecrest Guest House
Ranked #8 of 23 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The best guest house we have stayed in,probably better than some 4star hotels.So impressive in every way, clean and crisp.The hosts eric & shelag are really friendly,
our stay was perfect, We Would recomend The Wvecrest to anyone looking for quilty accomidation,great food and good hopitality.
thank you
Angie & Malc xx
wolverhampton

Room Tip: We had room 4 on the side we had no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angiemal5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 192 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2011

we had such a lovely time. Eric and Sheila are so welcoming and make you feel like part of the family. The guest house itself was stunning and our room was like a posh hotel room. Can't say enough good things about this place. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Catrin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I have stayed in Barmouth for around a dozen times, and often liked the places I've stayed but have always said a good breakfast is not to be had in the town. When you find a jug of fresh milk in your room instead of those UHT cartons you know the food is going to be good. Homemade marmalades & jams - try the lime marmalade - pot of butter on the table, no catering packs, fresh berries each day to accompany the yoghurt. Breakfast is cooked to perfection by Shelagh to an order taken and served by Eric. Everything is local. The sausages are 91% meat, the eggs have just rolled down the mountain from the farm and taste great!
If you are stuck for somewhere to go Eric and Shelagh have been in Barmouth 30 years and know the locality very well. To give an impression of your hosts, just as I was booking to come back next year Eric was on his way out to pick up the chamber maid because it was raining that day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Eric & Shelagh made our stay so special, the Wavecrest has such a homely feel we just know we will return. On arrival we were given a jug of fresh milk to accompany the well stocked drinks tray in our room. So much better than messing with those litte cartons. Our room was very clean and airy, sheets white and crisp with a classic cream duvet cover and coordinating soft furnishings. Period furniture gave the room the character it deserved. The bathroom was spotless with ample white towels and plenty of hot water any time of day.
Breakfast cooked to perfection by Shelagh and served by Eric, homemade marmalades & jams, pot of butter on the table, (no annoying litte packets) fresh berries each day to accompany the yoghurt. Oh and I must mention the mushrooms because they taste so good! I think the secret is in the cooking. We did notice that other people's dietary needs were considered as nothing seemed too much trouble for Eric and Shelagh.
If you are stuck for somewhere to go Eric and Shelagh have a wealth of local knowledge and many guide books for inspiration.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBKPaignton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Having stayed in Barmouth for the past 4 easter weekends,we have found a little gem.
On the sea front close to the town, good hearty food,great hospitality,and very clean.
Quiet but close enough to walk into town. Perfect. Will stay again and would recommend anyone to try.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NigeMandHERBERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We found Eric and Shelagh extremely friendly and welcoming, especially to our five year old daughter Megan. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were clean with comfortable beds and the breakfast was excellent. Having had bad experiences previously I vowed never to stay in a B&B again, however this B&B has changed my mind and I hope that other B&B's can live up to my experience at Wavecrest .

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chavard632004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Very warm welcome ,sumptious bedroom and bed, very modern bathroom.Breakfast consisted of top quality ingredients cooked to perfection.This Hotel is a Jewel in Barmouths crown.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilymerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 23 in Barmouth
174 reviews
0 mi away
Belle Vue
Belle Vue
#21 of 23 in Barmouth
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#4 of 23 in Barmouth
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wavecrest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wavecrest Guest House

Address: 8 Marine Parade, Barmouth LL42 1NA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range: $97 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wavecrest Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wavecrest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wavecrest Guest House Barmouth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing