We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good average”

The Black Lion Hotel
Ranked #35 of 45 Restaurants in Cardigan
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Cardiff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

The rooms were average, the breakfast was average, the price was average but the staff were cracking. Opened up early for breakfast the morning after and the night before they found us a pub that served real ale for the rest of our party then cooked for us before we went there. They really did look after us.

Watch out for the absolute bonkers plumbing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterIsaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    35
    9
    10
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great staff and room !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Staff so kind and helpful. Nothing too much trouble. Stayed in room 7. fantastic bath, a walkers dream ! Pub meal nice too. Many thanks

Helpful?
Thank pammiewallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Cavery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We arrived at 12 o'clock on Sunday and was shown upstairs to the restaurant. We were the only people there but it had only just opened for lunch. The waitress who served us was very polite and made us feel welcome. We both had pawn cocktail to start which came with a very fresh tasting salad and bread on the side. We then moved onto the cravery where we had the choice of roast beef and turkey both cooked perfectly. A large range of veg where also available. All tasted great. For dessert I had the starwberry cheese cake and my wife had chocolate sponge cake with custard both tasted great. Would defiantly go again if in the area.

The 3 course cravery was £12.95 which was the average price for the town

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely last minute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Tracy the managaer was a star, lovely lady, nothing to much trouble...efw things need updating. The pricese the owners charge you'd expect more for your money. Overall had a great time, but we ate out...good choice with some feedback reviews on here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahH74_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Good fresh food and great character. Central location in Cardigan.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank DrDavid_Richards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Lion Hotel also viewed

Cardigan, Ceredigion
Cardigan, Ceredigion
 
Cardigan, Ceredigion
Cardigan, Ceredigion
 
Cardigan, Ceredigion
Cardigan, Ceredigion
 

Been to The Black Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing