We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brongwyn camp site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardigan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brongwyn Holiday Cottages
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The facilities are clean but the customer service from the owner is appalling! THE SHOWERS ARE ALSO TERRIBLE - NO WATER PRESSURE, WATER DRIBBLES OUT AND NO WHERE TO PUT YOUR STUFF SO EVERYTHING GETS WET! Tents have to be put on a hard standing made up of tarmac and rocks which wrecks the base of your tent! Our tent is now torn. When we arrived it was raining, we had 2 cars in our party and space was limited so i parked behind my friends car so i could unload (we were sharing a tent) and the owner demanded that i moved the tip of my car wheel off the grass, and i mean DEMANDED, there was no 'welcome, how was your journey, or can i help - he went straight into being rude and aggressive (cars and tents all around us were on the grass, my car wheel was just on the grass by an inch) i was clearly unloading and attempting to watch 2 children at the same time (in the rain) and asked if i could just finish unloading which should take no more than 10 minutes, he agreed. He came back on the dot of 10 minutes clearly agitated as he walked towards me and shouted at me right in my face to 'MOVE YOUR CAR NOW' the other people in my party were really shocked (plus campers all around) my young children witnessed this and became very upset. When i asked him to lose the attitude and speak to me civilly he told me 'this is my site and i told you to move your car and you haven't'. I told him that i had clearly been unloading when he first asked me and he agreed that could unload first. I also pointed out that i was stood at my car door about to move it so if he left and stopped shouting at me i would be able to actually move it. I suggested that if he had helped me to unload it could have been done sooner. He commented that i was being difficult, which i was not. This really did spoil the whole experience. I later saw him cleaning the communal areas and said could we clear the air as we have obviously got off on the wrong footing he TOTALLY BLANKED ME! His wife then said he was very tired and why couldn't i understand how important it was to maintain the grass!!! So much for customer service!!! I explained that my wheel was hardly touching the grass and cars and tents were parked all around the site ON the grass i didn't understand the problem and thought her husband was ignorant and rude. She said 'oh well, just go and enjoy your holiday' If we hadn't actually put the tent up we would have moved sites but couldn't face it! Rude horrible little man who needs to learn customer service. (we later found out they are keen to retire and are selling the site, hence the grumpy old man.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 33 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

We have just had a super week at Brongwyn Cottages staying in Granary Cottage! The owners couldn't have been more helpful & accomodating (keeping the pool open for an extra half an hour on one day for us!). Our 2 boys (aged 3 & 6) thought they were in heaven when they saw the pool & play area! Our cottage was extremely clean & perfect for our needs. Unlike other self catering accomodation we have stayed in, we had 24 access to free washing machines & tumble dryers which meant we didn't have to bring home a suitcase full of washing! The beds were amazingly comfortable & our children actually slept past 7am! The only slight critisism I have is that a king size bed would have been good & my husband moaned about the mirror in the bathroom not being above the sink for shaving! We had a very private outside garden area but our children were still able to play where we could see them. There was lots of helpful information leaflts about places to go & we arranged our Tesco delivery for 2 hours after we had arrived, although there is a Tesco 5 minutes down the road. We would go back again & recommend it to everyone, especially families. They also have a caravan/camping site plus fascilities if you wish to do that! As an extra bonus, after a very wet few months, we had beautiful weather & didn't have a spot of rain!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Folley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

These beautiful little cottages have been created from some of the old farm buildings. We stay in Dairy Cottage where we can take our dog. The big kitchen is superbly kitted out with dishwasher and freezer, as well as a full size cooker and fridge, and more than enough equipment to serve up a family meal for far more than the cottage sleeps! The sitting room is also spacious and comfortable with a huge "L" sofa, and with a lovely view over the fields. Each cottage has it's own little patio area with chairs, tables and sun umbrella - much needed while we were there :-)

The bedrooms are small but perfectly comfortable and more than adequate. After all, when days are spent walking the coastal path, or the Presellis, or on one of the many beaches in the area, there's no reason for large bedrooms. Large kitchens and sitting rooms are far more important. There is also free wifi.

There's also a lovely little summer house should the weather be less clement, a splendid indoor swimming pool with sauna, steam cabin and gym, and should you feel the need, you can book yourself a Spa massage. I booked the services of Claire who was superb. The whole place is surrounded by carefully managed woodland, and there are great safe children's playgrounds.

We used to come here when the children were small and it was just a small campsite for tourers and tents. The campsite is still there, but on the far side of the cottages.

What makes this place especially lovely is its "hidden" nature. You feel you are in an old Welsh village that time has forgotten - it's that "Port Meirion" secret place sort of feel - only no large menacing white spheres! This is a sheltered, green oasis, only a few minutes from great beaches, the coastal path, the bustling little town of Cardigan, and a whole load of places to explore and visit.

So much care has gone into the development of the cottages, and they are beautifully maintained. We can't think of anywhere better to stay. We think of this as our annual slice of heaven!

Room Tip: All the cottages are beautiful - it's just a matter of how many of you there are, and whether yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 691amandak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have been to Brongwyn for 3 years running now, have also recommended to family members who are now regulars! We have stayed at Bramble Cottage and Clover but prefer Bramble as is bungalow suitable for anyone with mobility limitations.
Anna and Graham are friendly and welcoming and helpful. The site is gorgeous, a small cluster of very well equipped and comfortable stone cottages, beautiful, natural gardens and set in beautiful countryside. There is a small secluded camping/caravan area set back and also a lovely, warm pool and spa with sauna and steam room and it is all beautifully maintained. Our only regret is that the Bistro is, sadly, no longer open Our children were most disappointed as we had promised them brunch there. It was lovely to be able to enjoy the wonderful food and without worrying about babysitters.
Our children, age ranges from babies to teens, love it here and make good use of the pool, games room and play area. There is a small gym too but we didn't use this. There is a barbecue and seating near the pool and laundry facilities are free for cottages but shared with campers - though never overcrowded! Mum loves it here, as do we all! We come away relaxed and refreshed. We came originally for the Swimming without Stress courses with Cheryl and Ian - strongly recommended also for those lacking in confidence in the water as well as for serious swimmers.

Cardigan is just a short drive away with a big Tesco, if needed. Mwnt Beach is brilliant for small children - we spent a lovely sunny day there building dams and digging. Lots of other small clean, well kept beaches just a short drive away and not overcrowded but Poppit Sands also not far.
Plenty of things to do in the area - one of our favourites is the Dyfed Shire Horse Farm, very good value for lovely day! You can take a picnic as we did or eat in the small cafe. There's a small play barn and swings etc. with a go-kart track, a ride on the trolley round the farm and a nature walk, feeding the calves, birds of prey as well as the farm animals and Shire horses. We strongly recommend Brongwyn Cottages to anyone looking for a luxurious, relaxing and stress-free family holiday.

Room Tip: All the cottages have good sized rooms but Bramble is the only bungalow with a double and two twin b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MussALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The other reviews say it all really. Hosts were welcoming and the facilities were impeccable.It is a little "off the road" and we used the car a lot. No reception for my Orange Network but that really was a good thing....just made sure I checked my emails before turning off the main road. We didnt sample the restaurant as it wasnt open when we stayed. The swim holiday we booked-with "swimming without stress" was one of the best things i have ever done. We all enjoyed it and swim more efficiently and with much more enjoyment. Hope we go back one day.Cottages were well equipped and obviously recently refurbished.Very quiet and calming stay. Massages/treatments could be pre-booked.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCVFolkestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

I stayed here with my husband, baby and parents in Barley Cottage for one week. It was really really lovely. The cottage was huge downstairs, very comfortable living area, nice dining area and lovely big well equipped kitchen. The bedrooms were nice and light but with the bonus of having black out blinds (which was great for the baby!).

The beds were soft Pocket Sprung Memory foam which i have to be honest, i was dreading...i have never liked "soft" beds. But oh my goodness....BLISS! i am now in the process of buying one of these mattresses because it was such a comfortable night's sleep! I am usually quite stiff with bending over to pick up the baby all day so it can be sore getting up in the morning....but i was springing out of bed here! OK enough about the beds!

The grounds are beautifully tended. If you are lucky enough to stay in Barley then you have a little patio area out the back which is surrounded by a huge, green and very British (at it's best...and i am not particularly patriotic!) garden. Lots of birds, butterflies, and at night a few bats and the sound of the odd owl. :-) the style is definately wildflowers and not manicured and precise....which i loved. Full of life.

The indoor pool was brilliant....lovely temperature, great facilities and perfect to take in a little baby (3 months).

I had a massage at the spa...which is one room upstairs in the same block as the pool. Was very nice and relaxing.

There are free laundry facilities, which was great for us.

Anna and Graham are always wandering around but if you cant find them at any point you can ring them from the pool building. They were extremely helpful and friendly.

Cardigan and Aberporth are great. The beaches are all ace (especially Mwnt which is stunning and if you kayak you have the added bonus of potential spotting the famous bottle nose dolphins!). Cardigan town centre is very Welsh ...which i loved...one of the buskers was playing a mini harp! But everyone was very friendly (am Welsh but sound English). Aberporth beach was full of young families but with a lovely, relaxed holiday atmosphere...not like some of the beaches at home which are strewn with litter and lager louts! Infact my parents liked Aberporth so much they are looking for a holiday cottage to buy there!

All in all this was fabulous place to stay and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessHelicopter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We spent the second week of our fortnight's holiday at Brongwyn in Bramble cottage. The cottage was clean and spacious with a big kitchen/diner, a good sized lounge and 3 doube/twin bedrooms, plus one bathrom and one shower room. The cottage was well equipped, including fridge, freezer, dishwasher, microwave, TV, dvd player, hairdryer, bed linen and towels, etc. Beds were top quality too! The owners are friendly and willing to help when asked.

There is a small campsite a short distance away from the cottages, which was quiet, but well used. We occasionally found people from the site wandering past our kitchen door on their way to the central facilities which could be used by cottage users and campers. The facilities themselves were good with restaurant/cafe/bar open most days (we planned to use the restaurant on our final day but illness struck!), plus an excellent indoor heated swimming pool (free for cottage users, limited opening hours), spa (didn't use), washing machines/driers (free for cottage users), children's play area - good assortment of equipment for small children, plus a small games room and gym (didn't use so can't comment).

Brongwyn is approx 4 miles outside Cardigan and there's lots to do in the area. We enjoyed the beautiful beaches at Mwnt and Poppit Sands, Cardigan Island Animal Park (great for spotting seals), New Quay (plenty of dolphins) and caneing on the Teifi, amongst lots of other things. There is a Tesco in Cardigan, along with a mix of other small shops.

We had a great week at Brongwyn and especially loved the location which enabled us to chill on site or find activities in and around Cardigan.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank clare1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardigan hotels
3.2 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
870 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 2 in Tresaith
384 reviews
2.4 mi away
No photo provided
Glanhelyg B&B
#13 of 18 in Cardigan
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
456 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#1 of 15 in Cardigan
27 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brongwyn Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brongwyn Holiday Cottages

Address: Brongwyn Mawr | Penparc, Cardigan SA43 1SA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Cardigan
Hotel Class:5 star — Brongwyn Holiday Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Brongwyn Holiday Cottages Cardigan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing