We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a community arts centre/cineam/ theatre should be.”
Review of Theatr Mwldan

Theatr Mwldan
Ranked #9 of 18 things to do in Cardigan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cardigan’s Not-for-Profit 3-screen independent digital cinema & Arts Centre. Mwldan presents over 3000 2D & 3D films a year, as well as an exciting programme of live satellite broadcasts, exhibitions, live music, theatre, dance, comedy & family shows. We are also one of Wales major producing venues, with over 50 touring productions under our belt since 2006. We also have our own record label, with a new album due out in autumn 2013.
Ealing
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a community arts centre/cineam/ theatre should be.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Simply Google their website and be amazed at the diversity of offerings. This is community arts at its best with a wide range from mainstream cinema to art exhibitions and many concerts.

I hope they go from strength to strength/

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nigelbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best open-air Shakespeare anywhere.”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The theatre provides tickets for the Festival Players in the first week of August every year. in the ruins of St Dogmael.s Abbey: a wonderful backdrop. We gave been going for the last 12 years; it is a highlight of our summer. The actors give us pure unadulterated Shakespeare with no RSC type gimmicks. The verse is always spoken quite perfectly, measured yet animated.
Worth going a long way to see and hear Shakesepeare done `properly.' Must take hours and hours of practice to give every syllable full weight and meaning. This amateur company cannot be praised too highly for excelling most professional actors in verse-speaking, movement and meaning. Excellent musical accompaniment. This was easily the best `Midsummer Night's Dream' we have seen anywhere: we offer this judgement as a pair of English teachers who know the play almost by heart. All thanks to Theatr Mwldan for supporting this event.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank johnpollard5_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Small but Perfect”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Theatra Mwldan is well worth a visit, the choice of films suit all age Groups and there is a Nice Cafe and the Tourist Office is based here offering many more places to visit in this delightful part of Wales.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food for veggies!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Never had a bad meal here. Always plenty of veggie options. Generous portions, fresh and tasty, friendly staff and good coffee. The only downside to this place is that you're essentially sitting in the middle of the theatre foyer, so lacks atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JayflowerMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basye, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were visitors to the area in May, and we hope that local residents realize what a gem they have in this theater. The scope and variety of the films and performances here are more like what one would find in a large city in the United States. The lobby area also has a helpful visitor center, a cafe and bar with good food, and free wi-fi, not always easy to find in rural Wales.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theatr Mwldan also viewed

 
Cardigan, Ceredigion
Cardigan, Ceredigion
 

Been to Theatr Mwldan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing