We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Fforest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardigan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fforest Camp
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Myself and my partner went for a long weekend in April, the first thing to say is this place is absolute perfection.

We stayed in a dome which were kitted out with a massive bed, wooden chandelier and log-burning stove. The bedding consisted of reindeer hides and Welsh woollen blankets. After a long drive it was so relaxing to light the fire, and sit on a massive bean bag with a glass of vino to watch the sun go down.

There was lighting, a USB plug point & one normal plug in the done - the bedding was also provided which was a nice touch.

I was nervous about the toilet & shower block, but they were also fab - boiling hot showers and everything was immaculately clean. Can't complain at all!

We took our excitable Border Collie with us, which was great as Fforest are so welcoming to dogs. She sat in the pub with us in the evenings and ate breakfast at our feet in the mornings - this place is truly doggy heaven.

James & Sian the owners are just lovely, so chatty, friendly & can't do enough for you.

Now for the best bit about Fforest - THE PUB. The Bwythyn is candlelit and stocked with the most amazing local beers and wines, it's absolutely beautiful in there and an easy way to waste a few hours.

In short - just go. Leave behind your phones, laptops & stress and instead spend a few days wandering around the forest, eating good food and relaxing.

Room Tip: If you want the best - go for a Dome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WalesGwendoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    14
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed in dome 9 at fforest camp in the first week of September with my wife.

The first thing to note is that a stay at fforest camp is expensive. So after a 6 hour journey, having some difficulty finding the place (in the middle of nowhere; little signposting) and arriving to an off-road car park with no sign of life, we were perhaps feeling a bit miffed. We were not aware that there were carts to put your stuff on and pull to the tents so ended up lugging our gear to the reception and then onto dome 9 at the back of the farm - not a relaxing start!

However, the cup of tea and warm welcome at reception set the tone for the rest of our stay and was greatly received. The reception itself is a beautiful space with oak tables/benches, bunting, chalkboards, woodland flowers in jars - a rustic and relaxed atmosphere which you cannot help but be taken in by. In fact, at times the staff seem as relaxed as the setting itself which does mean that the odd request gets forgotten. I was initially somewhat frustrated by this but by the end I accepted that it was just the fforest way and I sort of loved it for that.

The dome was a good choice for a stay. The website gave limited information about the accommodation but everything necessary is included (bed; bedding; warm blankets, firewood for the wood burner etc). It is well furnished for a cosy stay. Similarly there is sheltered seating on the decking next to the dome equipped with stove, water butt, ice box and a barbecue set. Fforest camp provide a full set of pots, pans, kettle, tea/coffee, utensils, washing up liquid etc so all you really need to bring is yourself and some food. The toilets and wash facilities were some walk from the domes we stayed in but they were clean, functional and importantly, the showers were hot!

There is a sauna in the forest which we tried and is well worth the effort although be prepared to start the wood burner yourself - it takes 30 mins to get it warm if the staff haven't got it going or other campers haven't kept it going. Also try a few of the welsh tipples at the pub. Nothing quite like a cold beer on a summer evening by a campfire.

Fforest camp just misses out on five stars for me. The price, the lack of signposting/greeting when you get to the car park and lack of information about the accommodation/activities are areas where I think it could be improved. Nonetheless, I wholeheartedly recommend a stay. Relax. Don't do it. That's the fforest way.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We found this fforest camp a little out of the way in that there are no local restaurants and a day time cafe nearby. The Domes are great and very comfortable and cozy. The stove was redundant as the weather at night was warm. The lady who runs the site was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for her. We might try the Cilgerran camp close to Cardigan next time. The Tipee pizza place in the centre of Cardigan was quite good too. My only criticism is that the activities could be better co-ordinated, all staff should be able to furnish accurate directions and booking should be possible on-line.

Room Tip: Dome 10 is one of two domes on their own in the upper field
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank templeDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Haven't just returned from FForest camp a week ago, all I can say is that I can't stop thinking of the lovely fun and adventurous memories we made there.
We stayed in the crog lofts which are so cosy and have so much character to them. We were able to watch the children play whilst cooking or relaxing outside our accommodation, as there is a field in front with the most beautiful climbing tree that also has a swing. Who would have thought that one tree could bring endless hours of fun and laughter!
They do a meal night once a week which we decided not to have and instead BBQ. Big mistake! It looked fab! And our friendly neighbours who had it said it was amazing!
can't wait to return next year !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 nights staying in the Domes at Fforest 10 days ago. I have to say that everything was better than we could have imagined. The welcome we received when we arrived, the facilities and the atmosphere were all amazing. The little pub on site and the cinema tepee for the kids topped it all off brilliantly. I would highly recommend this to anyone (and have been preaching about it since we got back!). Our kids are 4 and 6 and the staff were excellent with them both. we'll be booking again next year...probably for a week next time.

Room Tip: The Domes were excellent but request one close to the toilet block if you don't want to go too f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k8mca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I'd heard about Fforest over a year ago, but couldn't get the dates I needed on a previous holiday. Imagine how excited I was to be able to get the dates I needed this year...

We arrived in Cardigan after a long trip down from Scotland (and a ferry ride from Northern Ireland!) and, following the directions in the email, very quickly found the camp. The only real problem we encountered was right at the start... We didn't know where to go or what to do!

After a bit of detective work, we were sorted out by Louie, who quickly gave us the tour and brought us to our Threepi. For it being a big tent, it was very comfortable. The camp beds are a very high quality set up, I had hurt my back prior to the trip... But the bed wasn't an issue, it was actually quite therapeutic.

The wood burner in the tent was simple to use and quickly heated up the area. The kitchen area and decking are perfect for relaxing and cooking up some good scram. Everything is easily accessible. The showers and toilets are close by (even in the dead of night!) and the on site pub is within staggering distance. Very handy!

The included breakfast is a community deal. Cereal, eggs, toast and a selection of preserves and spreads are available.

The staff are brilliant, and the other guests are quickly part if your holiday (like minded folks always seem to get along!) making it a brilliant experience!

We'd planned more than we could fit in, so didn't take part in the many activities available, but there's plenty that can be joined in to if you want!

If you're looking for a relaxing holiday or an adventure, Fforest is your spot!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eightlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We came here for a wedding, and it was absolutely perfect for the couple tying the knot. Gorgeous setting, really tasty food, staff were really lovely and very accommodating. Many guests were late on the Friday night due to motorway being heaving, and staff stayed well past the official last check in time to see everyone in. The site was beautiful, and the little pub on site lovely with an excellent selection of local booze. What I will say is that it is expensive for a tent. I chose the cheapest option-the Nomad- and is was around £250 for a 4 man tent with a mattress and blanket each, an outdoor beanbag and an outdoor area. I felt it was a lot of money for very basic facilities. Plus point though- was near the loos. I got the chance to check out a dome- and got tent envy! However, it did mean being able to stay in the venue for the whole of the wedding weekend, there was free tea and coffee the whole time, and the whole event was magical - even down to the weather.Basically, it is brilliant for the event we were at and I am sure many other people will love it to. Just brace yourself for the cost- and then enjoy it!

Room Tip: If you're happy roughing it, go for a Nomad. But if you want a bit more luxury, I'd say it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newstigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardigan
4.7 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
762 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hammet House
Hammet House
#1 of 5 in Llechryd
465 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coed y Bryn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#3 of 14 in Cardigan
20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Black Lion Cardigan
Black Lion Cardigan
#14 of 16 in Cardigan
33 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bethsaida B&B
Bethsaida B&B
#2 of 5 in St. Dogmaels
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fforest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fforest Camp

Property: Fforest Camp
Address: Fforest Farm Cwmplysgog | Cilgerran, Cardigan SA43 2TB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Cardigan
Hotel Class:5 star — Fforest Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at fforest is an experience more like staying in a hotel than a tent,a hotel with woodland corridors and canvas rooms.No TV, no mini bar, no trouser press:Sleeping, living and eating under canvas. With beauty, birdsong and cold-at-night. We offer a selection of accommodation types from traditional tunnel tents to Scandinavian Katas and geodesic domes. NEW for 2013 we have the fforest campshack - two bell tents with a communal living and dining area, complete with woodburning stove. Ideal for larger groups or two families to share, the campshack sleeps up to 8. If you don't do canvas then we also offer 4 crog lofts - boutique split level living in a converted farm building. Our accommodation has featured on BBC and S4C and in a national Visit Wales TV & cinema ad campaign. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fforest Camp Hotel Cardigan
Fforest Camp Cardigan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing