We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Croeso Cymreig (Welsh Welcome)”
Review of The Gwbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gwbert Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Certificate of Excellence
Abergavenny, Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Croeso Cymreig (Welsh Welcome)”
Reviewed August 25, 2009

I felt welcome at this hotel as soon as I went into reception. Although very busy, the staff promoted a relaxed atmosphere, and could answer any questions. Our room had a magnificent view over the Teifi estuary, with easy chairs in the bay window where we could relax and watch the Canada geese fly past in formation. I did not want to play golf on this visit, but the facility was available. Walking along the clifftops and looking down at the coves was idyllic. Discovering the Ceredigion coastline by car was delightful. We were surprised to find the hotel's bistro so busy, even on a Monday and Tuesday evening. It is a recomendation in itself that so many local people like to eat at this venue. The only arae for improvement I would comment on would be to tidy up the area outside the kitchen which is in contrast to the rest of the hotel, as vents, etc. are visible to anyone using the car park. The car park can get busy when the bistro is in full swing in the evening, but it is in the process of being extended. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karibu09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    153
    35
    7
    2
See reviews for
78
232
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

It really is a beautiful part of the world with little beaches and bays tucked away. The hotel was on the other hand not that great. I would expect more for somewhere that charges about £100 a night (2 people sharing).

We had a baby with us and hence a travel cot, but there was not enough room to swing a cat. Also the shower room was dusty and dirty with mould and that pink bacteria stuff (Serratia marcescens?) growing in there.

The people were lovely and friendly. The food seemed nice and the restaurant is very popular, but there are only about a dozen parking spaces so you may end up parking all the way up the hill in the evenings as people eating in the restaurant/bar usually fill up the car park.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shalupatel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We arrived with friends for a chillout week-end after a hectic coupleof weeks.
The location was superb. Wonderful views fom the rooms , restaurant and verandah over the estuary and the sea. Great sunset!
The staff were very welcoming and rooms comfortable and nicely decorated.
Standard of service was excellent with good choice of courses in a busy but efficient restaurant.
This was confirmed by the number of local diners visiting as well as residents .
Certainly one to recommmend.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nanaprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2009

It was Ok but no bath in bathroom only rickety shower module, carpet under bed had not been hovered for a long time, bed under valance dirty and very marked by black shoes, service a bit ‘slap-dash’ in bar and restaurant, (Wine not poured from bottle for tasting – just plonked on the table etc etc.) Service for breakfast very slow one day only to have the boiled egg dropped on the floor when it did arrive, kept finding fire door on our top floor landing wedged open, landing light not working but was quickly replaced, hotel seems to be run by 1/2 young girls!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alienbeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2008

I stayed here whilst on business in the area for a week. I found the staff very helpful and friendly. The hotel's restaurant was very good and clearly had a good reputation in the area. The lounge was on the small side but had a good atmosphere. The hotel had wireless internet - a must for business travellers, but this was only availble in the lounge and not the rooms. The rooms were comfortable but had a dressing table rather than a desk which hindered working in the evening. The showers could do with modernising. All in all though I would visit this hotel again, but whilst on holiday rather than on business.

  • Liked — Wireless Internet
  • Disliked — Showers
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sc00b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2008

Thank you Google maps for a totally misleading entry as to where this hotel is located. It is shown on Bathhouse Lane close to the town centre, when in fact it is 3.5 miles away along the bay.
However its location is idyllic if you want to appreciate the seaside scenery.
I was a travelling alone on business and had booked a standard room. I was given a spacious twin (room 11) with a stunning sea view (see photos). It was nicely decorated with a very airy feel and at only £40 B&B it was a real bargain.
The room was reached by a maize of doors, small flights of stairs and corridors. I must admit I did get lost a couple of times and I wondered how I would fair if I had to get out in an emergency.
The bar area is of a contemporary styling with large screen TVs offering a choice of viewing. As a real ale fan and much to my delight they were serving a local ale, which was excellent quality. The bar staff are all young people and were a little too eager to depart at the end of their working day.
I did not dine at the hotel, as I preferred to try a recommended Indian restaurant in town (see my forum entry)
When I went for breakfast the next morning I had a better chance to view the spacious dining room with it excellent views of the bay. I had already been allocated a table, so there was no need for me to be early to get a window table. There was a choice of cereals and a good menu including full English breakfast.
Overall I had a very enjoyable stay at the Gwbert Hotel, but next time I will try their sister hotel ‘The Angel’ in Cardigan town

  • Liked — Modern Style of Bar & Restaurant which have great iews of the bay
  • Disliked — Too far from Cardigan town
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2008

Bright, airy, freshly renovated hotel with great sea views from those rooms facing the right way (worth asking for).

Nice clean tidy room and bathroom although for those who like a bath it's a shower only.

Popular bar/bistro/restaurant with good reasonably priced food.

The only downside was hearing evey footstep from the room above - fortunately they retired not too long after I did.

Staff were excellent; all in all great value and well worth considering. I would go back.

  • Liked — Price, view, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Noise from room above
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Platz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardigan
0.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
799 reviews
10.7 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
557 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
Fishguard Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goodwick
416 reviews
2.6 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
2.8 mi away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#2 of 14 in Cardigan
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwbert Hotel

Property: The Gwbert Hotel
Address: Gwbert on Sea, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gwbert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in The Gwbert Hotel the hotel stands on the banks of the River Teifi at the estuary at Gwbert-on-Sea - renowned for its salmon and sewin - it is one of the finest hotels in the locality. The hotel offers high standards of accommodation with lift to most floors. We also have four self-catering holiday homes on the hotels grounds. The tastefully decorated bistro (Flat Rock) with its panoramic views of the Pembrokeshire National Park offers an extensive menu. with dishes to everyone's tastes. A romantic weekend at the ‘Domain of the Dolphin’ is a must for all couples who wish to have a "get away from it all" weekend break. So don’t settle for anything less. Call us today and see what a difference a little attention makes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Gwbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwbert Hotel Cardigan
The Gwbert Hotel Cardigan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing