We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable weekend, apart from the snoring”
Review of The Gwbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gwbert Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Enjoyable weekend, apart from the snoring”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My husband & I spent 2 nights at the hotel, which was a Christmas present from my in-laws. We had a beautiful room with a stunning sea-view (21) the restaurant was as good as always, staff were excellent and couldn't fault anything. Apart from the first night we were kept awake by the person in room 22 who snored like a pig. The hotel offered to move us to another room but the room we had was so nice we decided to stay put and just put cotton wool in our ears for the second night. Fab hotel, recommend to anyone! If the person who slept in room 22 reads this email please go and see a doctor as you have a problem, it is not normal to make that much noise!

Room Tip: Room 21 is fab but you can hear people in room 22 both talking and snoring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuHaHe66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    153
    35
    7
    2
See reviews for
78
232
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 21-24March with my friend Jenny and our two dogs Erol and Neville in room 21. This is our second stay at the hotel in 6 months and if is once again absolutely FABULOUS, the room has the most amazing views and was exceptionally clean, bed linen and towels smelt fresh, great facilities. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The food was as good as we remembered, Well worth a stay you would not be disappointed. We will definitely be returning later in the year. THANKYOU for making our stay so relaxing and enjoyable.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mrslashers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We booked this hotel through the Amazon Local deal and stayed 18-19 March 14. We arrived late afternoon and were met by the very friendly reception staff. We were delighted with the room (10) and the view of the sea. The bathroom was duly inspected by my wife and passed the test. The room was clean felt fresh, and the bed comfortable. The furniture was modern oak. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and boy oh boy what a treat. The lamb casserole was to die for. Steak on the second night. Yum! Generous helpings.The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. (Suggestion. Please serve tea and coffee at the table. That bar thing is really awkward and if busy could be impossible.)
I tried the Jacuzzi and Sauna and this was ok. Didn't use the exercise machines as I have an aversion to such things. All in all great staff, great room, great food and the bitter is recommended. Thank You. Ed and Gloria D.

Room Tip: We had a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handydock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

What a lovely hotel this is. Situated right on the sea front just about two miles from Cardigan. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The food was of extremely good quality with plenty of choice. Comfortable and clean hotel plenty of seating areas both inside and outside on the terrace overlooking the sea. They even have seals in the water. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff obviously liked working there. Plenty of parking spaces in the car park to the rear. Lots to see out and about. Beautiful walks and places of interest. If I was in that area again it goes without saying I would definitely stay there. Well done to the owners and staff.

Room Tip: Pay just £10 extra for a sea view room. Opening the curtains to the sea view is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coulsdon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I was looking for a hotel in this area as I had to travel there on business for one night, and this one was recommended to me. It's always a bit of a risk booking a hotel which isn't part of a chain as you have no idea what to expect. Needn't have worried! The hotel is in a fantastic location with amazing sea views from the terrace and the rooms at the front. The food is really very good, good wine, friendly service, comfortable room. This would be a great place for a quiet break away - it's pretty remote, but it's also very quiet and peaceful. It's on my list of places to visit again. Thank you to the staff for being so helpful and welcoming !

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The hotel is clean & tidy and the staff are extremely helpful and very courteous. The chef can't be faulted - we chose rib-eye steak and sea bass fillets on the first night and chicken supreme and leek & Caerphilly cheese phyllo parcels on the second night. We were there on St David's day and they served Welsh Cawl soup as a first course and it was delicious. Everything was cooked to perfection with delicious sauces and perfectly cooked fresh vegetables. Breakfast is buffet. A good choice of: cereals; yoghurt; prunes; pears; grapefruit; eggs, grilled back bacon, grilled sausages, tomatoes, mushrooms; fried bread; sauted potatoes, toast, marmalade, plus unlimited tea and excellent expresso coffee (americanos; lattes; cappuccinos, etc). New owners have just taken over and although some fittings, etc. are a bit tired it won't take much to remedy small shortcomings. The views are tremendous and the hotel is surrounded by its own small golf course, where you play onto and off a small island (Check out on Google Earth). Cardigan town is delightful and the surrounding coast is spectacular. Whilst we didn't use the spa and leisure facilities - they looked top class. Finally, don't forget to watch out for the seals and dolphins.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the new wing. Whilst the views are not so good the size and quality is modern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We have just stayed at the Gwbert Hotel. Had such a lovely stay... great food and wine. Breathtaking views of the sea - really recommend having a sea-view room. Friendly staff. But why have you painted it purple ?

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view room - really worth the extra £10 a night - could have sat by the window all day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardigan
0.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
804 reviews
10.7 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
557 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
Fishguard Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goodwick
419 reviews
2.6 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
2.8 mi away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#2 of 14 in Cardigan
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwbert Hotel

Property: The Gwbert Hotel
Address: Gwbert on Sea, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gwbert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in The Gwbert Hotel the hotel stands on the banks of the River Teifi at the estuary at Gwbert-on-Sea - renowned for its salmon and sewin - it is one of the finest hotels in the locality. The hotel offers high standards of accommodation with lift to most floors. We also have four self-catering holiday homes on the hotels grounds. The tastefully decorated bistro (Flat Rock) with its panoramic views of the Pembrokeshire National Park offers an extensive menu. with dishes to everyone's tastes. A romantic weekend at the ‘Domain of the Dolphin’ is a must for all couples who wish to have a "get away from it all" weekend break. So don’t settle for anything less. Call us today and see what a difference a little attention makes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Gwbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwbert Hotel Cardigan
The Gwbert Hotel Cardigan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing