We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gwbert Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emlyn Hotel(Newcastle Emlyn)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cartref Hotel(Fishguard)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tara Hotel(Fishguard)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Haze Hotel(St. Davids)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveler rating
265
161
38
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
161
38
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflat rocksea viewcardigan bayexcellent restaurantlovely hotelteifi estuarythe clifffree standing bathsister hotelhuge portionscar parknight breaksingle bedfood was lovelyevening mealboth morningsamazing views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 473 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had a Kgb deal for a two night bed and breakfast with dinner thrown in on the first night. We upgraded to a sea view room for £20 and WOW what a fantastic room. The bay window, you could sit in, overlooking the sea - room 21. Staff could not be more accommodating, food was fabulous value for money, and large helpings. Breakfast was wonderful, a choice of cereal and fruits to start followed by full Welsh/English breakfast or smoked haddock which I had and was lovely. All in all, a fab weekend away, and lots of places to visit nearby and a golf course just up the road. Will definitely go again, even at their usual rates I would go again. There was also juccuzi and sauna access which again was lovely, and a gym if you wanted to do a little exercise. Room was clean and comfortable, home from home.

Room Tip: Room 21 was ours, fabulous, but it was on the 2nd floor, although there was a lift.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAREN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We booked because what we read on trip adviser & were not disappointed, everything was actually perfect, couldn't, get better than the service, the room, the food, the staff. Will be back for more. We had room 20, the view amazing, we even could have our dog with us, she only tiny but such a treat for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelaghdugdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here in October last year and decided to return a second time. Definitely not disappointed. Clean, warm and comfortable, the restaurant is of the highest standard and nothing is too much trouble. Superb views from the front and side of the hotel. Ask for a bay view when booking a room. Beware of low flying geese at dawn and dusk, marvellous.

Room Tip: Ask for a front bay view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Last weekend we spent an excellent two days at the Gwbert Hotel. We were allocated room 12 which overlooked the Teifie estuary and Cardigan bay. The room was clean modern and well decorated. The bathroom although small was well equipped with toilet hand basin and shower.
The both nights we stayed we ate in The Flat Rock Restaurant and I must say the food was superb, I can recommend the lamb casserole. All of the staff at the hotel are warm, friendly and made us feel welcome.
We arrived on Saturday and that afternoon while having a drink on the balcony we were able to see a dolphin swimming in the bay in front of us. The views from the balcony are stunning and the sunsets worth seeing.
Access to the hotel is good with ramps to facilitate wheel chairs and a lift to all floors. Overall an excellent stay thank you all

Room Tip: Room 12 overlooks the bay
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappytravelerSouthWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

A somewhat understated hotel in a quiet seaside location, overlooking Cardigan Bay. Our room was fairly basic but clean and well-equipped; the location is good for coastal walks and dolphin-spotting, although it should be said we did not see a single dolphin!
The quality that sets this hotel apart is its restaurant. The food is amazing and people seemed to come from far and wide to eat there. This was something of a disadvantage to residents as we had not been warned that the restaurant is always fully booked at weekends-possibly week days as well. The staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble, squeezed us in, albeit at times we would not necessarily have chosen but it was well worth this slight inconvenience.
The food came in generous portions, was hot, fresh, imaginative and delicious.. Service was extremely efficient and attentive and a similar standard was maintained at breakfast.
I would certainly stay in this hotel again and indeed, would take a sizeable detour ro eat here again if I was anywhere even close to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 63andout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews