We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short break.”
Review of The Gwbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gwbert Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent short break.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

2 night KGB deal at this lovely hotel, complimented with fabulous weather. We chose not to upgrade to a sea view, definitely a mistake on our part, but room 19 was clean, comfortable, small window overlooking car park, spacious bathroom and very cool at night, a bonus! Food was delicious, friendly staff and stunning views from the terrace over the estuary. Excellent place to explore the coastal path and beaches, Mwnt is such a gem!! Would recommend and thanks a lot for a relaxing stay at Gwbert Hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby71WestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    151
    35
    7
    2
See reviews for
77
228
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
rotherham
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a fab weekend at gwbert hotel. We had a KGB deal which was really good but we would have paid the full price. We had a sea view so we could lay in bed and see the view, wow what a sight. Every detail of the hotel was well run. Everyone was so pleasant, well mannered and nothing was too much trouble. The service in all areas was exceptionally good, the bar staff, waiter service, hospitality, management all worked together and like clockwork. Everyone seem to know their job and even if it was not their job they did it which is a rare quality these days.
The food was extremely good we all had different meals but each one was superb and good quality.
On another note we popped down to Cliff hotel which we had stayed in a couple of times before but the last time we stayed it had gone down hill, we were really disappointed and at this visit it did not improve. The service was rubbish, people were waiting at the bar around 10 waiting only one guy serving, the atmosphere was dead. This hotel should be one of the best alongside Gwbert Hotel but its not.
Gwbert keep up the good work, you deserve to succeed and we really hope you continue the way you are, you are all excellent and we can't wait to return. Thank you. Gareth and Maggie Roberts and John and June Wyld.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garethmagg1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Didn't stay at the hotel, but nearby. We had heard about the Gwbert's reputation on food, and thought we woud eat there. Stoped on our way to our hotel for a quick lunch break. Very good choice and food arrived promptly.
We said we though of having our evening meal there, and just happened to ask if we needed to book. The waiter came back and said they had one spot at 7-15pm! I thought he was jocking, but that evening the place was full. The restaurant, the bar and even the outside tables. There were two tables with 8 each on them. Ranging from grandparents to parents, to teen agers and two young children. It was a treat just watching the staff serve the table. There was a mixture of meals, from steaks, gammons, fish, etc. But all of the food was ready at the same time. The whole two tables were served within 2 to 3 minutes. What a kitchen! To have these meals ready at the same time called for excellent kitchen staff.
Even with at least another 15 tables to serve, our food came in a very reasonable time and the waiting staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. Beautiful view of the sun setting on Cardigan Bay. Will definatley eat here when in the area, and next time even stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 427Hedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed as part of a KGB voucher deal for two nights and were in room 21 with a sea view at the top of the hotel. Room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom had a large shower and bath. We arrived at lunchtime on Sunday and had bar lunch meal on the terrace overlooking the estuary as the weather was sunny it was really busy but we did not have to wait long for our food. The restaurant was superb, food and service was excellent both for dinner and breakfast

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room for stunning views of the estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54Retired2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Booked a 2 night dinner , bed and breakfast deal through the KGB deal for our 1st wedding anniversary.

Arrived around 7pm - had trouble finding the hotel mainly because of sat-nav but the hotel is right on the corner with the restaurant attached. Parking a little tight as we arrived at tea time and the restaurant is very popular with the locals.Check-in was the quickest ever and the staff very friendly. If theres noone on reception there is a phone to ring for assistance. Lift was bit slow so we avoided it all weekend just in case!

We had room 15. Room was clean, spacious enough for the two of us with all that you would expect and need from a double room. Bed very comfortable with great pillows and duvet - best pillows in a hotel for a long time! View of the sea was great from the side of the hotel we were on especially as we hadnt requested it. Shower was high quality and clean.

You do need to book for dinner in the attached restaurant - Flat Rock Bistro - as its very popular. We did and upon arrival we were asked whether we wanted to sit down at our table now or get drinks and be called from the bar when our food was ready. Nice touch. Our order was taken straight away and only had to wait 5-10 mins before being called to our table. Choice of food was great and was obviously fresh. Very high quality food and portion size was spot on. You can have no complaints if you eat here. Staff quick, polite and friendly.

Breakfast is served in the same restaurant and is a mix of self serve juices, coffee, cereal and fruits plus a choice from the cooked breakfast menu - best of both worlds. Again the food was cooked very well and of a good size.

They have a terraced area at the front of the hotel where you can enjoy drinks and food while enjoying a fantastic view of the estuary into Cardigan Bay.

Overall we were very pleased with our visit to The Gwbert Hotel. Location was excellent, staff very friendly, food excellent and room very comfortable. Highly recommended especially if you can get a good deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveCharli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford,England
Level Contributor
112 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed with friends on a deal which was amazingly good value. Had 3 rooms all with sea view (extra charge but worth it). The dining room had a sea view also and we could not fault the food-honestly a real bargain. Staff a credit to the place also.

Bit annoying that the coastal path to the right had been blocked off by a local farmer - didn't hear the story as to why! Also uphill walk from Poppit Sands to the coastal path there is a long and tiring walk with not a lot of choice because of the lack of a car park. Beautiful though.

Would return - deal or not.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LsaKingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

just back from 2 nights at this very well run hotel.,as we had some rare sun we spent
3 hours basking on the outside terace with the fab view drinking nice beer.
we had meals in the restaurant both night and thought the food was very well cooked
and presented.if we ever go back to the area we shall try to stay there again.
the only gripe i have is the sound-proofing between room 15 and 14,you could have
heard a mouse fart,never mind an adult.but it wasnt funny listening to our naighbour
taking a shower at 5-45 am.well done to all staff at wbert hotel.

Room Tip: avoid room 15 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEALINE-ANTARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardigan
0.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
764 reviews
10.7 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
550 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
2.8 mi away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#3 of 14 in Cardigan
20 reviews
1.2 mi away
Webley Waterfront Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwbert Hotel

Property: The Gwbert Hotel
Address: Gwbert on Sea, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gwbert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in The Gwbert Hotel the hotel stands on the banks of the River Teifi at the estuary at Gwbert-on-Sea - renowned for its salmon and sewin - it is one of the finest hotels in the locality. The hotel offers high standards of accommodation with lift to most floors. We also have four self-catering holiday homes on the hotels grounds. The tastefully decorated bistro (Flat Rock) with its panoramic views of the Pembrokeshire National Park offers an extensive menu. with dishes to everyone's tastes. A romantic weekend at the ‘Domain of the Dolphin’ is a must for all couples who wish to have a "get away from it all" weekend break. So don’t settle for anything less. Call us today and see what a difference a little attention makes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Gwbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwbert Hotel Cardigan
The Gwbert Hotel Cardigan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing