We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful - and good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gwbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gwbert Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Certificate of Excellence
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“wonderful - and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is one of the best places I've stayed in for a long time. The Gwbert Hotel, near Cardigan, looks over the Teifi estuary and Cardigan Bay and even in bad weather the views are wonderful. The room I recently stayed in was modern, clean and well equipped, the restaurant serves wonderful food and the staff are charming.
There's a sauna and gym and the hotel is right on the Wales coastal path.
And it does good deals - a single bed-and-breakfast is £55; two-nights dinner-bed-and-breakfast for a couple is £220 - great value at a great place.
Go there and enjoy!

Room Tip: ask for a room iun the front overlooking the estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JegeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    141
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
76
213
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

My mum and I stayed there for two nights with out dog, very welcoming staff, the room that we had was over looking the sea and was bright, modern and extremely comfortable. We had a two night b & b and dinner deal, the food and service was excellent, a little treasure of a hotel in the most beautiful setting, we watched the sun go down over the sea as we ate there amazing food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I had a two night break. The weather was great and this hotel is a very good place to stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The food is of a high quality and generous portions! Staff is very friendly and helpful. All in all a very pleasant stay in a beautiful area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Great jacuzzi and sauna!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gobinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I live locally, and regularly eat at the flat rock. On this particular day I enjoyed a lovely birthday lunch with my mother and sister overlooking the sea! It was lovely to have such a professional service and welsh speaking staff, which is a bonus for this area! We were even asked by the proprietor if all was well with our meal! Great service Flat Rock, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tomtom1879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppitPoppit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I tried to book a table but they were fully booked, however they invited us to have have drink in the bar and if a table came up in the bar or the restaurant they would let us know. We did this and within 5 minutes we had a table in the bar over looking the bay. We all ordered Fillet steak with veg and chips and all were cooked to our liking. The place is immaculate and well appointed. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppitPoppit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markinch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for two nights 9th and 10th April and had a great time. We were given room 11, which had a lovely sea view. We had dinner 1st night in the hotel restaurant, my daughter had the lamb and I had the fish both were served with the most delicious vegetables. I used the jacuzzi both mornings. Great start to the day. Rooms are very clean and comfy beds. At breakfast I asked for porridge and was given the biggest bowl ever. Special thanks to Will and all the staff who were so pleasant and friendly and made our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have amazing sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Got to the restaurant at 2pm and were invited to sit down and wait for service. Half an hour later a staff member came to us. We ordered food and were promptly told the hotel had finished serving for the afternoon but we could purchase crisps and drinks at the bar.

We ordered at the bar then sat outside. 20 mins later we spotted our order on a table in the open doorway to the outside seating area. We collected the drinks ourselves and, an hour after arriving, we were enjoying tepid coffee and crisps.

So if it's lunchtime on a bank holiday weekend, you don't want food and you're not bothered about your order of drinks even reaching your table, the Gwbert hotel won't let you down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwanseaJohn_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardigan
0.2 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
10.7 mi away
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
2.8 mi away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#7 of 14 in Cardigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 2 in Tresaith
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwbert Hotel

Property: The Gwbert Hotel
Address: Gwbert on Sea, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gwbert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in The Gwbert Hotel the hotel stands on the banks of the River Teifi at the estuary at Gwbert-on-Sea - renowned for its salmon and sewin - it is one of the finest hotels in the locality. The hotel offers high standards of accommodation with lift to most floors. We also have four self-catering holiday homes on the hotels grounds. The tastefully decorated bistro (Flat Rock) with its panoramic views of the Pembrokeshire National Park offers an extensive menu. with dishes to everyone's tastes. A romantic weekend at the ‘Domain of the Dolphin’ is a must for all couples who wish to have a "get away from it all" weekend break. So don’t settle for anything less. Call us today and see what a difference a little attention makes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Gwbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwbert Hotel Cardigan
The Gwbert Hotel Cardigan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing