We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection”
other travelers have booked this property
Telegraph Travel named this exact site as having the best sunset on Earth.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Telegraph Travel named this exact site as having the best sunset on Earth.
the views from every room in the house are... quite breathtaking sunset view from the deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Telegraph Travel named this exact site as having the best sunset on Earth.
the views from every room in the house are... quite breathtaking
sunset view from the deck
the kitchen dining space is perfectly designed with social inclusion of the chef(s) in mind
2nd double room looking west and north to the Hebrides from the comfort of your bed
window to the Hebrides
The decking at the front is 54m2, plenty space to play and quaff a sunset prosecco!
set your solar wind forecast and get outside to watch the Aurora Borealis or Northern Light show
the master bedroom has direct access to the outdoor deck & a cool pop-out window for chillin/readin
hallway adorned with naval charts
the infamous Waternish sunset
master bedroom
the outside deck looking in
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Stellasta...
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

This place is perfect. The house is every bit as beautiful as the pictures make it look. Simple and clean, the decoration is tasteful and doesn’t detract from the view. The kitchen is very well equipped and Thomas left us a welcome package of milk, eggs and a bottle of wine.

Thomas was quick to respond to every question from booking though how to operate the windows. We had trouble with the hot water in one bathroom one day and he had a plumber out within 12hrs of my emailing him.

The house is warm and cozy and the WiFi works great.

We walked around Stein, hiked out on th Waternish peninsula, ate at Loch Bay (amazing!) and enjoyed visiting Skyeskins, the nearby sheepskin tannery. There’s a great coffee shop there too. It’s in a yurt, and called Yurtea and Coffee.

Overall, we loved it and wished we could stay longer.

Overall we

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosssco82
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Salt Winds stay”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Had an lovely relaxing time at Salt Winds in Waternish. Beautiful house and location. Comfortable, spacious bedrooms, and large open plan living space, all with stunning views. All bathrooms spotlessly clean and very high standard, like the rest of house. Kitchen was very well equipped and a joy to use. Managed to have breakfast and dinner outside all four days, with the midgies only an occasional problem when the wind dropped! Really didn't want to leave and looking forward to going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2018
Fantastic to hear, thanks so much. You will always be welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jantimp2
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat ”
Reviewed June 3, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We arrived home yesterday after spending 2 weeks at salt winds celebrating our silver wedding anniversary. The house was stunning, even better than the photos suggest. The views are amazing, particularly the sunsets. We had 2 days of cold rain where we lit the lovely log burner followed by 12 days of hot, actually very hot sunshine. We sat on the decking watching dolphins play in the bay below. It was magical.
The bathrooms and kitchen are all modern and everywhere was immaculately clean. The beds were comfortable.
Our dog had a great time watching the wildlife and chatting through the fence with the little dogs next door. It’s great to find a truly luxurious house that accepts dogs!
We ate out at the loch bay restaurant and the edinbane inn and the food was so good.
The owner, Thomas, was quick to respond to any questions and very pleasant.
I would happily have stayed here for ever. Thanks for a fabulous holiday. Hope to be back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2018
It was a pleasure to host you. I was very envious watching you sit on the deck every day when I drove past! Come back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate S
1 review
“Beyond expectations”
Reviewed April 23, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Salt Winds provided us with an unforgettable stay on Skye. The house is beautifully equipped with great attention to detail. Location wise, it can't be beaten - the views are spectacular. Easy walking distance to a great pub and lovely restaurant. We had a wonderful week. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2018
Thank you very much for your visit Kate. I am so glad you loved it
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara Z
1 review
“Fantastic views”
Reviewed April 17, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Having a fantastic time at Waternish. Beautiful views and a stunning lodge with everything you could possibly need. Well done Salt Winds. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2018
Thanks Lara! Please come back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevayvi
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfection on Skye”
Reviewed April 14, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We have just returned from a fantastic break on Skye. The house is so comfortable and beautiful. It has everything you could need, and feels truly special. Above all though is the setting - waking up to that view everyday feels like a real privilege, it will stay with us.

Skye is so special - with so much to see, you just have to get out and experience as much as you can; the feeling of coming home to Salt Winds after a day of adventure and exploration was just heavenly.

Waternish is so stunning - I am running out of superlatives; if you are hesitant, don’t be, book, book, book! You won’t regret it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2018
Wowzers! Thanks so much for the awesome feedback! It makes all our hard work so worthwhile to hear from guests in such a positive manner :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellywiag
Edinburgh scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I don't want to go home...... ”
Reviewed April 12, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Oh where to begin... The house it just amazing, so well thought out. The open plan nature of the living space is wonderful allowing you to see the beautiful scenery wherever you look out. The TV and stereo equipment kept us well entertained and there is a large amount of info about the island and walks you can do. Lots of books and DVDs and games to keep you occupied in the evenings too
The kitchen is so well equipped, we had a great time cooking together.
Everything about Saltwinds is fantastic the views are breath taking, every time the light changes it adds a magical sparkle to your visit

Thomas your house is so fantastic we didn't want to leave.. Thank you for hosting us, I can't wait to come back...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2018
Reviews like this make all the hard work worthwhile. Thank you so much for your visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing