We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most beautiful views and house, you won't...”
other travelers have booked this property
Telegraph Travel named this exact site as having the best sunset on Earth.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Telegraph Travel named this exact site as having the best sunset on Earth.
the views from every room in the house are... quite breathtaking sunset view from the deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Telegraph Travel named this exact site as having the best sunset on Earth.
the views from every room in the house are... quite breathtaking
sunset view from the deck
the kitchen dining space is perfectly designed with social inclusion of the chef(s) in mind
2nd double room looking west and north to the Hebrides from the comfort of your bed
window to the Hebrides
The decking at the front is 54m2, plenty space to play and quaff a sunset prosecco!
set your solar wind forecast and get outside to watch the Aurora Borealis or Northern Light show
the master bedroom has direct access to the outdoor deck & a cool pop-out window for chillin/readin
hallway adorned with naval charts
the infamous Waternish sunset
master bedroom
the outside deck looking in
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
evegard20...
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The most beautiful views and house, you won't want to leave”
Reviewed March 2, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

From the day we arrived we knew this was the best accommodation we could have booked, the house is perfect in every way and the views are breathtaking. The master bedroom with the large window looking out to the Loch is amazing. The decor in the house is really quirky which we loved, nice personal touches

The Stein inn is a 5 minute walk and we loved it, we had lunch and it was really nice and wholesome. Kirsty the bar lady and Frank the chef were so welcoming and great to chat to, they made us feel so at home :)

We had our furry baby Brinley with us and he also loved the house and the Stein Inn and was made very welcome.

We fell in love with Coral Beach and the Fairy pools, well worth a visit but you may have to carry your dogs over some stone paths through water at the fairy pools.

The Uig Hotel is dog friendly and lovely welcoming owners, the burger was amazing and Brinley was given some treats :)

We were blown away by Skye, Waternish and the Salt winds accommodation, we will definitely be back.

Eve, Ky and Brin
xxx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2018
Wow, what fantastic feedback. Thank you so much for coming to visit Salt Winds. You will be most welcome to return :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily Dev...
1 review
“Luxurious romantic dog friendly dream home!”
Reviewed February 24, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The house is beautifully decorated with wonderful views. Its in a nice peaceful location with wonderful walks all around (and a dog friendly pub within walking distance which is always nice!)
Its hard to find dog friendly places which which also have a designer boutique hotel feel to them so I was delighted with this place!
The booking and check in was very straightforward and there was plenty of local information supplied by the owner.
A truly gorgeous place you will want to return to!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2018
Thanks so much for this Emily. I am very glad you and the pooches loved it. Skye is generally just a magical place for dogs and humans alike!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeleneBro...
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed February 8, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Have been coming to Skye for many years and stayed in most of the hotels, however this time we thought we would rent a house as we were coming for a week to spent Christmas. After staying here I could never go anywhere else, the house is beautiful and pure perfection. The views are totally breathtaking and some of the best I have seen, very peaceful. There was a flurry of snow and it felt so magical, made our Christmas very special.The house felt more like a home rather than a holiday rental and had everything you need and finished to a very high standard. We cannot wait to go back and this time I will book 2 weeks, we did not want to leave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 10, 2018
Hi Helene, I am so glad you enjoyed your Christmas in Salt Winds. See you next year and thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 5, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 21, 2018
Hi Irene, it was a pleasure to host and you will be most welcome to return. Thanks for the kind words
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sue T
1 review
“Gorgeous house in a spectacular setting in Waternish”
Reviewed November 12, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful house and appreciated all the little touches that made it so welcoming and comfortable. The 'wow factor' was there from the moment we walked in the door. It was such a treat to explore the house and find everything. There are lots of ideas we are going to steal for our own house!

The house had spectacular views over the bay and there is lots to see and do around Waternish but be aware that many places close for the season around the end of October.

Thank you Thomas for having such a gorgeous property, for the care and attention given to making our stay as easy and enjoyable as possible and for all the information you gave about Skye and things to do. The only downside was having to leave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2017
It was an absolute pleasure to host you and I am so happy you loved the place. Please come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander...
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Brought my family up to here for a few days to celebrate after our wedding. Absolutely stunning location for a fantastic 'familymoon'. The facilities were first class, a real 'wow factor'.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2017
Thanks Alexander, we are glad you and your family had such a fantastic time at Salt Winds
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbrad4d
Haslemere, United Kingdom
1 review
“Majestic Salt Winds”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A gloriously positioned base to explore Skye. The house is immaculate and extremely well equipped and presented. It provided everything we required for our week on the island and what a view! With the delicious Loch Bay restaurant and the sadly rather tired Stein Inn within walking distance it would be hard to better Salt Winds. We shall return...!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2017
Excellent, we are so happy you loved it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;