We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous house in a spectacular setting in...”
other travelers have booked this property
Telegraph Travel named this exact site as having the best sunset on Earth.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Telegraph Travel named this exact site as having the best sunset on Earth.
the views from every room in the house are... quite breathtaking sunset view from the deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Telegraph Travel named this exact site as having the best sunset on Earth.
the views from every room in the house are... quite breathtaking
sunset view from the deck
the kitchen dining space is perfectly designed with social inclusion of the chef(s) in mind
2nd double room looking west and north to the Hebrides from the comfort of your bed
window to the Hebrides
The decking at the front is 54m2, plenty space to play and quaff a sunset prosecco!
set your solar wind forecast and get outside to watch the Aurora Borealis or Northern Light show
the master bedroom has direct access to the outdoor deck & a cool pop-out window for chillin/readin
hallway adorned with naval charts
the infamous Waternish sunset
master bedroom
the outside deck looking in
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
suetT8482...
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous house in a spectacular setting in Waternish”
Reviewed November 12, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful house and appreciated all the little touches that made it so welcoming and comfortable. The 'wow factor' was there from the moment we walked in the door. It was such a treat to explore the house and find everything. There are lots of ideas we are going to steal for our own house!

The house had spectacular views over the bay and there is lots to see and do around Waternish but be aware that many places close for the season around the end of October.

Thank you Thomas for having such a gorgeous property, for the care and attention given to making our stay as easy and enjoyable as possible and for all the information you gave about Skye and things to do. The only downside was having to leave.

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2017
It was an absolute pleasure to host you and I am so happy you loved the place. Please come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander...
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Brought my family up to here for a few days to celebrate after our wedding. Absolutely stunning location for a fantastic 'familymoon'. The facilities were first class, a real 'wow factor'.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2017
Thanks Alexander, we are glad you and your family had such a fantastic time at Salt Winds
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbrad4d
Haslemere, United Kingdom
1 review
“Majestic Salt Winds”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A gloriously positioned base to explore Skye. The house is immaculate and extremely well equipped and presented. It provided everything we required for our week on the island and what a view! With the delicious Loch Bay restaurant and the sadly rather tired Stein Inn within walking distance it would be hard to better Salt Winds. We shall return...!

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2017
Excellent, we are so happy you loved it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkap2017
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Waternish Vacation”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We spent a week in Skye, specifically Waternish. The house was as advertised - exquisite views, great location, and we felt at home as soon as we walked in the door. Great for a family stay, dinners and drinks on the deck (if the weather permits), the house and all its amenities were top notch.

Lots of great memories - we didn't not want to leave!

Thank you to Thomas for your quick responses to our questions, recommendations for the area, and providing our family with such a great house!

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
It was a pleasure to host you guys, we are so glad you loved the place. Take care and come back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janejeff2...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect for humans and dogs alike!”
Reviewed August 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What an absolutely stunning house! We booked the accommodation as we decided to marry on the Isle of Skye and thought it would be great to spend a few days before and after the ceremony in somewhere a little more special. We could not have asked for anything better...I am slightly on the OCD side and get disappointed quite easily when places aren't as advertised upon arrival..I can safely say not only was I not disappointed by this house I was blown away by how brilliant it actually is. This little gem was perfect....clean, spacious (it's like a tardis!!), delightfully furnished, very high specification of fixtures and fittings along with stunning views all round of the beautiful Waternish village. The owners were so very kind in leaving us a gift and card to both welcome and congratulate us on our upcoming ceremony. We took our two Patterdale's with us and the location was great to walk both over the hills and also not far to the pub to sit by the coastline! Also an excellent location from which to set off and explore the rest of the island by car too....always wonderful to return back to Waternish though and watch the stunning sunsets! The locals were friendly and accommodating, even to one of our slightly nervous dogs....such a relaxing place to be. We will definitely be returning in the future....I have to say this is one of those reviews where you are torn over writing it...you want to sing the house's praises from the rooftops as it is so fantastic but you don't want it to become so popular you can't get a booking again Thank you for providing us with such beautiful accommodation for our honeymoon.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
thanks for such an awesome review guys! We were so happy to host you for your special holiday and that you were so impressed by our house. Take care and come back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msurber20...
Buelach, Switzerland
1 review
“Lovely and relaxing Cottage”
Reviewed July 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Very lovely place!
Cottage is completly equiped with al you probably gonna need.
Beautiful view over the Village.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
Thanks so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expeditio...
1 review
“Excellent holiday”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Great house. Top quality furnishing and beautiful location. Quite remote location but close to awesome lochs and nice walks.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
Thanks :) Come again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing