We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Every Creature Comfort in a Splendid Setting”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Burnside Cottage

Burnside Cottage, Waternish, Isle of Skye.
With stunning sea views it makes the perfect getaway.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Burnside Cottage, Waternish, Isle of Skye.
With stunning sea views it makes the perfect getaway.
The stunning Waternish Peninsula
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Burnside Cottage, Waternish, Isle of Skye.
With stunning sea views it makes the perfect getaway.
The stunning Waternish Peninsula
Cosy sitting room with multi-fuel stove. Perfect to while away the cold winter nights.
Kitchen/dinner
Master bedroom with ensuite bathroom. It has a lovely view over the Loch.
The view from the master bedroom out towards the Loch
Ensuite bathroom with shower
Burnside cottage in the sun
The stunning view from the twin bedroom
Kids room - with great views of the sea from the top bunk
The stunning colours of a sunset on Watnernish
The garden in full bloom.
The sea arches just the otherside of Ardmore Bay - a short walk from the house.
The burn or little stream of Burnside Cottage
A perfect day in Waternish
The moorland is just out the back door
Sun going down over the Outer hebrides.
Dolphins in the Minch
Watnerish at dusk
The post box by the front gate - from the days when the cottage was the old post office.
A Seal off Waternish point.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
jacobsdog
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Every Creature Comfort in a Splendid Setting”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
9
people found this review helpful

This was my seventh trip to the Isle of Skye and my wife's third. So you can imagine we are both very much fans of this beautiful place.

We booked Burnside Cottage direct with the owner. She was excellent at responding to our emails and in providing useful information, both for the area itself and the cottage.

The cottage is situated in the peaceful hamlet of Hallistra (about a thirty to forty minutes drive from Portree) on Skye's Waternish Peninsula. It directly overlooks the sea and the views in general from it are stunning.

Burnside Cottage is pet-friendly. We took our two dogs with us and there are some lovely walks to be had without having to drive to the better known sights of the isle. We also noticed no extra charge was made for us having our dogs there - something we've had to pay as an extra to the main booking charge on previous stays elsewhere.

The cottage was spotlessly clean and tidy on arrival and the caretaker couple who oversee its upkeep for the owner, friendly and helpful when we met them.

Burnside Cottage has been provided with every creature comfort you can reasonably think of. Extremely comfy. reclining sofas make it a real pleasure to enjoy the front room area while watching TV/listening to music etc. in the evenings. A quality CD/radio/iPod unit is provided, as is Wi-Fi and satellite TV with an excellent range of channels.

A selection of DVDs and CDs are on hand to compliment your own. There is even a calculator or two, should you want do work out your bills - hopefully not!

The kitchen area has a broad range of good quality appliances: dishwasher,fridge-freezer, breadmaker (with recipe and ingredients provided), microwave, main cooker etc. All cutlery, crockery, glasses, linen, cleaning materials are also on hand. A washing machine and tumble dryer have also been provided, accessed in the utility room.

There are three bedrooms (one with bunk beds), one with shower en-suite, and another separate bath, shower and loo. Fixtures and fittings are quality, the showers powerful and hence enjoyable to use.

There is a log-burning stove in the front room. Ideal for colder nights to enjoy a cosy evening at home. One tip for taller people like myself: do please stoop when walking in the passageway leading from the kitchen to the front room. It is quite low and you can bang your head if you don't!

One particularly enjoyable way of spending time at the cottage, we found, was sitting in the comfortable porch area enjoying some wine, reading or just generally taking in the views.

We had planned to go out for the day most days of our stay; but we found Burnside Cottage so delightfully relaxing and situated that we spend most of time at the cottage or walking nearby with the dogs.

I've done a few reviews for Trip Advisor over the years and usually found some negatives to detail on each one. I can genuinely say that for this review, I cannot think of any, other than our stay having to come to an end at the end of the week.

Burnside Cottage is the best holiday cottage I have stayed in to date. I strongly recommend both it and its location to anyone considering a holiday in self-catering accommodation on the Isle of Skye

Date of stay: April 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 24, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aberfeldy
Reviewed May 21, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely atmosphere of the house and the island
Liked least: Definitely does not apply!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mealsgate, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 9, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped and comfortable
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wanderer6...
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2019 for a stay in July 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jürg K
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Die schöne Lage und die gute Ausstattung
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thiery B
Toulouse, France
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
Google Translation

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: le temps
Liked least: seulement UN pub dans le village
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing