We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Soul soother”
other travelers have booked this property
Green Pastures Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Green Pastures Cottage
View from Green Pastures Summer view from cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Green Pastures Cottage
View from Green Pastures
Summer view from cottage
View from cottage autumn
Kitchen
Bathroom
Lounge
King Size Bedroom
Twin Room
Cosy lounge at night
Breakfast with a view
Dawn view from cottage
Winter View from cottage
Deer on the croft in front of the cottage
View from cottage
Dawn view from cottage bedroom
Huge rainshower in bathroom
Kitchen in the evening
Dawn view from lounge
Dawn view from lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Lancashir...
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Soul soother”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just returned from a wonderful week at Green Pastures.
If you are looking for solitude, great views, real fires, a welcoming home from home atmosphere then look no further. This cottage is just bliss. I went with my husband and 9yr old daughter and each one of us just fell into a relaxed state of mind. The views are amazing and ever changing. The cottage is warm and gives you a hug when you walk through the door. To light the real fire in the evenings just made it all the more special.
Yes it is remote, and about 15 mins from Dunvegan or just over half an hour to Portree so if you feel the need for people head there, personally I adore the remoteness and the quietness. It helped soothe my soul.
The kitchen and bathroom are fab and full of the mod cons. The shower is just out of this world, I mean I could have spent the week under it. I loved lying in bed and listening to the wind and rain on the window in the bathroom.
I really cannot recommend Green Pastures to anyone looking for a soul replenishing holiday. Our daughter loved the computer, which is a great little addition as it meant when she wasn't reading she could play her games.
Thank you Helen for all your help we have had the most amazing time. *Happy, contented sigh*.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage. Wow what an amazing review, we are so pleased that you loved our cottage so much. We do try to make the house feel like a home, because we know that sometimes holiday rentals can feel quite soulless and impersonal. It is lovely to light the fire and relax, isn't it? We are so glad that your young daughter enjoyed it too and that you felt the cottage gave you a hug on arrival, fantastic!!
I'm assuming at the end of the review you meant to say "I cannot recommend highly enough for a soul replenishing holiday", rather than "I cannot recommend"!!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the cottage, we hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayleigh...
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Beautiful cliff side location. Quite remote and a bit far away from most of the places we visited (an oversight on our part!) but driving on Skye is a much more pleasant experience than driving on England so not a big issue! The welcome basket was a nice touch and it was great to be able to have herbs/spices/s+p etc in the kitchen to use. The cottage was cosy and easy to keep warm with a lovely lounge to relax in come evening time. We also took the bikes in the shed out for a spin which was great fun!

The only negative comments I would make are that one of the bins had not been emptied when we arrived and also the log burner had not been cleaned out. The log burner was a shame and for the price we paid for the week I would have expected it to have been made up for one fire as this has been our experience with other holiday lets; so with this in mind we feel it was a tad overpriced when compared to some other places we looked at.

Overall however, the cottage is lovely and we had a very enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Log burner not emptied
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2015
We are so pleased that you enjoyed our cottage on your short break and found it to be peaceful and cosy. The cottage's peacefulness is partly due to it being in a quiet location but nevertheless it is only 30 minutes drive from the island's capital, Portree, and close to Dunvegan Castle and Neist Point. Skye is quite a big island and its indented coastline means that it's not always quick to drive to places!
We're sorry that the log burner had not been emptied but this doesn't prevent it from being used in any way, in fact its often good to have ashes in the bottom of a stove as this helps the logs burn, and we do provide logs, coal, kindling and firelighters so that you can light the fire.
We are very reliant on the council to empty the bins but they only do this midweek and it alternates between recycling and general waste so the bin would still have rubbish in it on your arrival on Sunday as we had guests in on the previous week. If it was an internal bin that was not emptied we can only apologise for this oversight.
We don't feel that the cottage is overpriced as apart from having one of the best views on the island and 6 acres of land surrounding it, it has a luxury kitchen and bathroom as well as the log fire, free bicycles, and even a cross trainer! However we are pleased that overall you had such a pleasant time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101cats77
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquillity, comfort, stunning scenery - what more could you want”
Reviewed July 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We spent a week in Green Pastures Cottage - the weather wasn't great, blowing a gale all week. But then you don't go to Skye in February for the weather! The location of the cottage was just perfect for us - off the beaten track, which made for a very relaxing and tranquil holiday. Just what we needed before baby number 2 arrived!
The cottage was extremely comfortable and had everything we needed. The fire made the living room very cosy, although we only lit it a couple of times because, despite the gale blowing outside, the cottage was plenty warm enough. The views from the cottage were ever-changing and just amazing. We were treated to an amazing display of the Northern Lights on one night! One of the reasons for choosing the cottage was it's location in the hope of seeing the Lights but I didn't think we would actually get lucky!
Helen, thank you for a memorable holiday :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2015
Thank you for your comments, we are so pleased you loved our cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth F
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful, welcoming cottage in an amazing location”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I spent a blissful week in this wonderful cottage at the end of February. From the moment we set foot in the cottage we felt immediately 'at home'. The owners have gone to great lengths to modernise the property but left enough of the original features to retain the charm and cosiness of a traditional Highland cottage. The kitchen and bathroom are very modern with all the amenities one might need for a relaxing holiday - the shower is amazing and very welcome after a cold, wet day on the hills. The views from the front windows are spectacular - I can't remember the last time I spent so long gazing out of a window at the ever-changing sky and sea. Although there's a road in front in of the property it leads to a dead end and is very quiet - we hardly ever saw a car pass in front of the window. We were looking for somewhere a little bit off the beaten track and even though the cottage is situated in a tiny hamlet we never really saw anyone - it's remote enough to feel like an escape without feeling totally isolated. I really can't speak highly enough of the place - we had an incredibly relaxing stay at Green Pastures and we look forward to returning in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being there!
Liked least: Getting there!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so pleased you felt at home and that you loved the way our cottage has been modernised, we thought it important to have really super kitchen and bathroom but also cosy and comfortable sitting room and bedrooms.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janice f
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A absolutely perfect place to stay, stunning views just lovely.”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely little cosy cottage with everything to meet your needs during a stay. Perfect location over looking a bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The midgies.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klas75
Lund, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic view”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived quite late when it was dark so when we got up in the morning we had no idea wat awaited us and when we opened the curtains we just stood there in awe. A view tha few places in the world can compete with in my opinion, provided of course you like the somewhat barren landscape the cold and salty winds create. The peninsula is marvelous but slightly of route, but then again that's the whole point isn't it? It's not a very long drive in to town though so it's not isolated to the point of it being a problem but then I'm swedish and some of you may have a slightly different relation to distances.
The cottage has just about everything one may ask and a cosy living room with a fireplace so you can finish the day in the best of ways.
We had a wonderful stay and I'd recommend the cottage without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Family128
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
“Wonderful stay in a idyllic cottage”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2012

We ( a family of two adults and two children) stayed for one week at the Green Pastures cottage! The view over the sea is spectacular. The first night we saw dolphins.
The cottage has a nice atmosphere and is luxurious with a nice kitchen and bathroom. There's wifi and we could use the computer. Enough space for the four of us. We did the cliffwalk from the house, we also went to the beach and saw a seal. The isle of Skye is beautiful! We really want to come back to the Green Pastures one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view and atmosphere
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing