We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lusta Cottage

Lusta Cottage and croft overlooking Lochbay and the Outer Hebrides
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lusta Cottage and croft overlooking Lochbay and the Outer Hebrides
Lusta shore edge Another beautiful day - zoom of view taken from Lusta Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Lusta Cottage and croft overlooking Lochbay and the Outer Hebrides
Lusta shore edge
Another beautiful day - zoom of view taken from Lusta Cottage
Pink sunset of Stein taken from Lusta Cottage
Exploring Lusta Croft
Our favourite picnic spot on the croft!
Sue and Craig under Lusta's biggest waterfall!
Lusta Waterfalls
Seaview to Outer Hebrides and gate to croft from righthand side of garden
Angus enjoying the bottom of the croft
Christmas at Lusta Cottage!
Sunset over Stein taken from Lusta Cottage
Sheep with lambs at the top of Lusta croft
Lusta Family bathroom
Double Bedroom with Ensuite
Twin Bedroom 1  in main house
Twin Bedroom 2 with separate access and ensuite
En-suite Shower room with Twin Bedroom 2
Kitchen
Lounge
Sunset from Lusta Cottage
Snowy view taken from inside conservatory (Xmas 09)
Snowy Beach! The Beach at Lusta Christmas 2009
Winter wonderland at Lusta - Chritmas 2009
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
LoveTrave...
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Great Location and the conservatory has great views, many walks on your door step. We took two dogs that loved it. The accommodation is comfortable and cooking facilities worked well and everything was clean and tidy. We would come back here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2017
We are so pleased that you enjoyed yoyr holiday and appreciated the beauty of the Lusta Cottage croft and Waternish. We absolutely love it and we are so glad to be able to share it with you too! Best regards Sue and Craig
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 15, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2016
We are so glad you enjoyed your holuday at Lusta Cottage. Thank you for the lovely review - we are do lucky to have the conservatory looking out over such a spectacular view and our children (and mad lurcher) love the freedom of garden too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ruth M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect holiday home, perfect location.”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We've just had a great week at Lusta Cottage, and would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Skye, especially if you're interested in the North end, as we were. It's in a fabulous location with stunning views, and the cottage is very comfortable, more like a second home than a holiday rental. After spending the day watching whales, sea eagles, and seeing the sights of the island, Waternish is a welcome retreat. Craig and Sue are more than helpful, and we hope to be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Immediate help when we had a problem.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2016
Thank you for the lovely review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lusta Cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2016
We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed Lusta Cottage. Thank you for your lovely comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
C H
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best location ever.”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The sunsets are truly amazing and the environment so peaceful it's another world. The overall experience was really great. The cottage is well equipped with everything you need, We've known Waternish for over 60 years and it is looking as well as it's ever looked. Waternish is delightfully peaceful if your looking for bright lights this is not for you. The walk through the croft to the Stein Inn is quite steep and over some fairly rough ground but well worth the effort, it's a bit longer but you can walk round the road. As you would expect on Skye the midges can be a bit of a problem but that applies to the whole of Scotland. We had fantastic weather which added to the enjoyment. I would have no hesitation in recommending it, go and enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the midges
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2016
Many thanks for your lovely comments, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lusta Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing