We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A screensaver view”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Lusta Cottage

Lusta Cottage and croft overlooking Lochbay and the Outer Hebrides
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lusta Cottage and croft overlooking Lochbay and the Outer Hebrides
Lusta shore edge Another beautiful day - zoom of view taken from Lusta Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Lusta Cottage and croft overlooking Lochbay and the Outer Hebrides
Lusta shore edge
Another beautiful day - zoom of view taken from Lusta Cottage
Pink sunset of Stein taken from Lusta Cottage
Exploring Lusta Croft
Our favourite picnic spot on the croft!
Sue and Craig under Lusta's biggest waterfall!
Lusta Waterfalls
Seaview to Outer Hebrides and gate to croft from righthand side of garden
Angus enjoying the bottom of the croft
Christmas at Lusta Cottage!
Sunset over Stein taken from Lusta Cottage
Sheep with lambs at the top of Lusta croft
Lusta Family bathroom
Double Bedroom with Ensuite
Twin Bedroom 1  in main house
Twin Bedroom 2 with separate access and ensuite
En-suite Shower room with Twin Bedroom 2
Kitchen
Lounge
Sunset from Lusta Cottage
Snowy view taken from inside conservatory (Xmas 09)
Snowy Beach! The Beach at Lusta Christmas 2009
Winter wonderland at Lusta - Chritmas 2009
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Marguerit...
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“A screensaver view”
Reviewed December 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

The location and views were outstanding. Nearby restaurant great. Close to good hiking. Furnishings were basic but adequate. We really enjoyed our stay and will return some time in the future.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2015
Thank you so much for your review. We just wanted to let you know that for the new season we have just had the whole interior freshly redecorated, replaced the futon sofa mattress with a sumptuous, double depth, leather covered mattress and added lots of cushions. There is a newly fitted kitchen floor to complement our relatively new electric stove/oven. There is also a new picnic bench on the front lawn for all to enjoy the views - weather permitting! We look forward to welcoming you back to Lusta cottage soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KARTIK18
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
“the location and situation is 'OH MY GOD'”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We were 3 couples ,all aged above 55 yrs,the location ,and situation of Lusta cottage is AWESOME,it is home ,used by the owners,so it was pretty homely .The owners were quite responsive .Except the TV ,not working ,its a lovely homely place.A bit cramped/small for 6 adults ,but still we enjoyed ,the kitchen had 100% utensils, and coffee/tea ,sugar ,oil etc ,toilets were small but Good.Sadly due to clouds,except one evening ,we saw a great sunset.Beds ,as in UK ,were a bit small ,but OK,no complaints.Overall ,would visit again ,for the location ,and homely atmosphere.Kindly note ,mobile networks is v v erratic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and the conservatory
Liked least: no tv
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2014
We were so pleased that you enjoyed Lusta Cottage. We are so sorry there was a fault with the TV reception. We immediately called a Sky TV Engineer to investigate, which resulted in a new replacement satellite dish and connections being fitted and both TVs are now working 100%. The mobile signal all over Skye is unfortunately eratic, however there is a landline payphone at the cottage. We also plan to provide WiFi Internet by January 2015. Thank you for your kind and constructive comments. Best wishes Craig and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anji29
Noida, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The location of the cottage is great. The sunset view from the cottage was amazing. The house has all the amenities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Sunset view from the cottage
Liked least: No phone network
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Darby20...
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic croft with stunning views.”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

What a great place! We loved exploring the croft and its stream with our 6 year old son, with whom we had many adventures. It made for a very active outdoor holiday for the whole family. Fantastic to be able to walk to the Stein Inn from the cottage. Can't say enough good things about it. Sorry to leave, intend to rebook next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: exploring the croft
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINDA T
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“View to die for!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just enjoyed a second visit and holiday at Lusta Cottage. Lovely cottage with superb views across to the Outer Hebrides. Wonderful sunsets too. The sun lounge overlooking the croft and Loch Bay is a fantastic observatory for wildlife watching.
We regularly saw both Golden Eagles and White tailed Eagles. The Hebriddean lambs in the croft were very entertaining!
Very well-equipped accommodation with comfy beds.
Also, very handy for the Stein Inn and the Lochbay Seafood Restaurant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic location, disappointing cottage”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Cottage in a fantastic location however we didn't expect to have to clean the cottage on arrival. When we arrived, the beds were not clean and the cottage was very dirty. Our feet stuck to the kitchen floor which had to be properly cleaned again. Toilets had to be cleaned and the duvets and pillows were equally as dirty under the dirty covers - we were extremely disappointed. Also, the second double room is accessed from an external door, with no internal connection which was not ideal with family. If it wasn't such a fantastic location we probably would not have stayed. Not the level of accommodation you would expect for the money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location only
Liked least: cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2014
We were very sad to receive such a negative review. Living 635 miles away it is difficult to be 100% sure of the circumstances, however we have always taken pride in providing a clean and comfortable cottage and we have never had this situation arise before.

The reviewer, who arrived early, before the agreed access time, neglects to mention that we responded immediately to her perceived issues. On receipt of her phone message we apologised for any upset and immediately recalled our lovely Cleaner back to the cottage - within 20 minutes of the complaint being made! To our knowledge, the house had been thoroughly cleaned, all the bedding washed, dried and ironed before the beds were made. The cleaner was happy to return to meet with the guest to rectify any perceived issues - and as far as we were aware the problem was resolved within half an hour of the guest's (premature) arrival. We did not hear any more from the guest. Had there been any further issue raised or if we had been made aware that the guest was still not satisfied, we would immediately have asked some local friends to independently witness the problem and report back to us - however we had no reason to believe that there was a serious issue.

We are sorry the guest was not happy with the separate access to the third bedroom. However, our website clearly states "...There is one double room with its own en-suite shower/toilet, one twin bedroom with family bathroom and a separate, externally accessed twin room with private shower/toilet, tea making facilities and satellite TV......" In our experience, guests usually enjoy the additional privacy and independence gained by having a separate entrance to the third bedroom - it is particularly enjoyed by Grandparents, teenagers, other couples etc.

Regarding value for money, we like to think our prices are very reasonable for such a wonderfully unique cottage, that not only sleeps up to 8 people but that has 17 private acres of croft land, with it's own seashore frontage, to explore and treat as your own!

We are glad that the guest at least acknowledged that the Cottage is in a fantastic location. We have always felt very privileged to own Lusta Cottage and have taken great pleasure in being able to share our fabulous family holiday cottage with others who appreciate its amazingness!

We are so sorry that these guests were unusually disappointed and wish them well for the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A place to unwind”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Words cannot really explain the wonderfulness of this place. It is an experience to savour. Everything is there, but it is entirely up to the visitor to slow down find them and relax. There is no internet, wifi or phone signal, which was difficult to start with, but once we had immersed ourselves into the tranquillity then we began to chill. The walks surrounding the property are worth exploring. Otherwise just sit and watch another glorious sunset, with a whiskey and good company

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the consevatory
Liked least: En suite a little snug
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing