We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“TIR NAN OG, Isle of Skye 5 Star self catering...”
other travelers have booked this property
Tir nan Og Cottage overlooking the sea and Outer Isles. Cosy fire, underfloor heating. Peace. Quiet.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tir nan Og Cottage overlooking the sea and Outer Isles. Cosy fire, underfloor heating. Peace. Quiet.
Romantic, cosy log fire. Unlimited logs supplied. Al fresco dining in our garden o'er the sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Tir nan Og Cottage overlooking the sea and Outer Isles. Cosy fire, underfloor heating. Peace. Quiet.
Romantic, cosy log fire. Unlimited logs supplied.
Al fresco dining in our garden o'er the sea
Seaview livingroom, cosy fire, books galore, telescope, SAT TV, DVD, IPOD Dock, MP3 player: 100% R&R
Diane shares her favourite  books about Skye.
'Energy saving' country kitchen with every appliance & cookware.  imaginable. Seating for 4.
Beautiful, spacious, sunrise master king bedroom. Its own 'Morning Room style' seating area, too !
Bliss! Master ensuite. Walk-in drenching & 3 way massage showers, H&H sinks, towel warmer, bidet...
Artist owner Diane couldn't resist the pewter Rose coat hooks to welcome you on arrival day.
Your first view of Waternish when you arrive on our lovely peninsula. Only 8 minutes to Tir nan Og!
From Tir nan Og's garden -
Diane's sunset photo. A thousand more beautiful sunsets await you!
Sea, Island views. Beautiful garden. Lots of seating. Cosy 'summerhouse' & protected bike shed, too.
Romantic, quiet evening in Tir nan Og's garden.
Paint, photograph, walk in the Quiraing's dramatic 'lunar' landscape: 30 minutes from  Tir nan Og.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
_mazz2204
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TIR NAN OG, Isle of Skye 5 Star self catering holiday cottage”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Tir nan og is the most perfect immaculate cottage detached cottage with everything you need for the most relaxing holiday. Diane the owner has ensured that everything you need to make your stay unforgettable is supplied, from a spa bath/room to a beautiful log burner and lovely towelling bathrobes. The cottage is extremely welcoming and very very relaxing with a lovely garden and spectacular views across islands out to the sea.
All the information you need about the locality including and where to eat did not disappoint as well as the maps and books with a wealth of information for you to peruse and plan your day out on Skye.
It is a cottage that I would recommend any person to stay in, I cannot find the words to describe everything it's best you experience it yourself. The care and attention that Diane has paid to make our stay unforgettable is second to none. Thank you for the most wonderful relaxing holiday and to have shared your garden with two mountain hares as well as the various species of birds. Perfection.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2018
Thank you for being our guests. So pleased you enjoyed yourselves, and found everything to your liking. Our 'resident' mountain hares are delightfully entertaining, And since my husband is an avid birder too, he is especially happy to read that you enjoyed 'twitching'...It is our pleasure to welcome you back again to Tir nan Og. Just give us a shout! Slainte bha!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect get-away retreat in a magical location. Stunning!”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

What a romantic setting. We could not imagine a better place to go for our honeymoon. Diane's cottage sits on top of the hill overlooking the beautiful ocean and the green virgin pastureland. Tir nan og cottage is a great start for loads of gorgeous walks. Diane kindly kept a guide in her library to recommend the best ones. The hamlet Stein with its buzzing pub and excellent seafood restaurant is also at walking distance. There are also loads of local craftmakers nearby worth a visit. The cottage has all the comfort you can ever dream of, the most comfortable bed, a beautiful kitchen with very wide windows overlooking the bay and a working log burner fireplace in the living room! The perfect feature to enjoy these incredible bright scottish nights. Diane is also an excellent host and has been communicating to us very regularly on the phone or per email to give us all the info we needed and useful tips to enjoy our stay. We can not recommend enough this place.
As we say in french, "ce n'est qu'un au revoir", Isle of Skye and Tir nan og we will see you soon.
Laurent & Rebecca.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2017
Thank you, Laurent and Rebecca. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Tir nan Og Cottage; and especially that you pampered yourselves and took advantage of all the amenities. I was happy to connect with you so your experience at the cottage was not only seamless but all that you wished for. I love your (pardon my simple translation} 'it is only until you see 'us' again'... and so to you, a bientot, and may you experience many more happy life celebrations at Tir nan Og .
Diane Hoff-Rome (proud owner of Tir nan Og Cottage, and proud to share our 'adopted' island , Skye, with you).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marie-jan...
North Berwick
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, wild location”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I recently stayed at Tir Nan Og with our 10 month old baby, and for two nights, my brother in law and his wife. The cottage was very easy to find, following Diane's directions, and everything was exactly as promised in the pre-arrival information.

The master bedroom was very comfortable, with a lovely big bed and gorgeous sheepskin rugs. High quality sheets and towels throughout. The kitchen was exceptionally well-equipped and the living room cosy and comfortable.

The views from the living room, kitchen and retreat/second bedroom were spectacular and we were lucky enough to enjoy a series of breathtaking sunsets from the comfort and warmth of the kitchen.

As mentioned, we were four adults for the first two nights - things were cosy! The kitchen does not allow for four adults to move around very easily and there was nowhere for the four of us to sit together to enjoy a meal or a drink - but that did not prevent us from enjoying the two nights. The second bedroom is a good size and has a great en suite with jacuzzi bath tub (which the 10 month old thought superb!), however, the bed is a little on the small side (we would caution against two adults sharing).

Diane is a thoughtful, well organised and efficient host - despite being so far away. She ensures guests are well prepared well in advance of their trip, and her recommendations for foodie destinations and places to visit are to be trusted.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Marie-Jane, I really appreciate your kind words about the cottage and my personal suggestions. And thank you for inspiring us about new ideas for the kitchen breakfast area, too. What is most important to me is that my guests have a wonderful experience on Skye, and a luxuriously relaxing time at Tir nan Og, away from the everyday frenzy. I love Skye. I love our cottage and I was pleased to share it with you and your family, and especially knowing that you appreciated Tir nan Og is heartening.

Our bespoke dining table is one of the special features of our newly designed multi-use Retreat space.. A pity that the four of you didn’t have time to enjoy a meal together 'at table' with its plush leather padded chairs for your comfort and to enjoy the gorgeous views across the garden and loch.

Further, I am disappointed that the first I knew about your two family visitors wishing for more sleeping space, ’was in your review, ‘after the fact’. Oh, dear: if you only had contacted our housekeeper or any one of our team, one would have popped over immediately to sort everything - no matter the time of day or night!
Although, their stay was only 2 nights, additional bed space would have been rectified immediately, as we have a robust King size sofa bed in the living room (with privacy doors) that would have given them a plethora of space, in addition to the enjoyment and privacy of the Retreat space, too,

But, most of all, we thank you again for being our guests and sharing your thoughts with us. In the Highland way, ‘we welcome you to “Haste ye back again, soon!”

Diane Hoff-Rome, owner
(Note: to our prospective guests: we post ALL our team & emergency contact details in the kitchen, in the cottage 'goings on' folder and in your Guest Arrival Information packet that we send to all our guests before you arrive!).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpk58
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“a wonderful week at Tir nan Ogh”
Reviewed October 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent a wonderful week at Tir nan Ogh in July, the cottage was magnificent,affording wonderful coastal views , and having all the facilities you could wish for. The location was quiet, which was what we were looking for, but only a couple of minutes from the nearby village of Stein.
Diannes professionalism shone through when making the arrangements with her from the other side of the world!, there were no hassles or problems whatsoever. We'd certainly recommend Tir nan Ogh to anyone looking at spending some tome exploring the Isle of Skye.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2017
Thank you for kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed you holiday on our favourite Island, Skye and at our much beloved cottage, Tir nan Og. Thanks to our wonderful Skye folks who help us keep our home tidy and sparkling: they there for you 24/7 to answer any questions and should anything be awry...of course, you may always contact me before, during or after your stay - my pleasure! Haste ye back again, soon from down under!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna963
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A magical retreat”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our time at Tir Nan Og was so much more than we could have hoped for. Diane's cottage is beautiful, warm, welcoming and in the most magnificent location overlooking Loch Bay to Dunvegan Head. The landscape is rugged and magnificent and this delightful little cottage with its huge windows overlooking the bay, is a perfect base for relaxing in and exploring from. We had the privilege of meeting Diane while we were there, and having met her, we could see why Tir Nan Og radiates with light and happiness. She has created a magical place. We will return. Thank you Diane - go in health and come back in health. Jo and Lorenc

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2016
Thank you, Jo and Lorenc,

It was a privilege to meet both of you, too, and to share personal touring ideas and Skye anecdotes with you. Thank you for your heartfelt review. I am happy that your stay was even more than you hoped for. Skye is magical to me, too, and has been since i first stepped on Skye when I was at university, many years ago.. I am so heartened that you 'felt' the magic that I have tried to create and sustain at Tir nan Og for my guests. May you 'go in health and return in health' in all your journeys; and in the Highland way, 'Haste ye back, soon'. Slainte bha, Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lollyven
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable isolation with great views”
Reviewed March 1, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Tir Nan Og is a homely little cottage on Waternish Peninsula overlooking Little Minc and was a perfect base for a three night stay for two keen photographers. It's Isolated but cosy and the cottage has everything you need, with a comfortable bed, lovely kitchen dining area and a superb log burner and underfloor heating. A telescope, music player and speakers were welcome extras, as was a bottle of wine to welcome us. We arrived late and had some teething problems that were promptly and courteously rectified the next day by the housekeeper. We ate out one night in the local Stein Inn - lovely pub food and a nice selection of wines. In February there aren't many places open so we were delighted it was so close to the cottage. We would definitely recommend Tir Nan Og for a relaxing, 'away from it all' break set in an absolutely stunning landscape.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and the log burner.
Liked least: Not very keen on the modern TV unit as it seemed a little out of place. But an extremely minor point!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2016
Thank you for your review, and so happy you enjoyed our home , as we designed Tir nan Og to answer one question: will this home be both a comfortable and visually aesthetic setting for guests?

Pleased that you we were able to help you celebrate with some bubbly, and new 2016 toiletries, too.

Our housekeeper is wonderful (as you discovered for yourself); and as she is only 'around the corner', she responds as quickly as she can whether a question is minor or major!

As an artist, I chose this hilltop to build Tir nan Og for its incredible views and stunning sky/sea/mountain scapes. As you both are professional photographers, it is a true compliment that you, too, were delighted with Tir nan Og's beautiful setting.

'In the Highland Way, 'haste ye back again, soon'. Diane H., owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
179asmith
Larbert, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic Skye, Idyllic Cottage, peace perfect peace”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and Ihave spent a lovely week in your cottage.It was everything we hoped it would be...you have thought it all out very well. My wife was delighted one morning to come through to the lounge and be welcomed by the log fire particularly as it was a wet and dour morning. Reminds us of our childhood when open fires were the norm. We did much walking and cycling and travelled to the Hebrides also.The Stein Inn,golden eagles and even the sound of a rare corncrake was memorable and that walk to Waternish Point where we guided two Swiss people back who were lost .. ! Many thanks and best wishes to you all. We may haste back to the cottage again. Alex

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it. There was everything anyone could ever need from baking cakes to seeing in the dark
Liked least: There wasnt anything about it we disliked it was perfect
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very pleased that you felt at home at Tir nan Og, and that it was all that you hoped it would be. When I first stepped on the land where I built Tir nan Og, the view of the sea, sky, incredible sunsets, natural moorland all around captured me in ways that compelled me to design a cottage that would respect and reflect Skye's beauty. And that guests would, as you and your wife have, feel the peace and calm that I felt long ago and still feel. It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your wife back again. Logs and kindling will await you, as always!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing