We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic Skye, Idyllic Cottage, peace perfect peace”
other travelers have booked this property
Tir nan Og Cottage overlooking the sea and Outer Isles. Cosy fire, underfloor heating. Peace. Quiet.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tir nan Og Cottage overlooking the sea and Outer Isles. Cosy fire, underfloor heating. Peace. Quiet.
Romantic, cosy log fire. Unlimited logs supplied. Al fresco dining in our garden o'er the sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Tir nan Og Cottage overlooking the sea and Outer Isles. Cosy fire, underfloor heating. Peace. Quiet.
Romantic, cosy log fire. Unlimited logs supplied.
Al fresco dining in our garden o'er the sea
Seaview livingroom, cosy fire, books galore, telescope, SAT TV, DVD, IPOD Dock, MP3 player: 100% R&R
Diane shares her favourite  books about Skye.
'Energy saving' country kitchen with every appliance & cookware.  imaginable. Seating for 4.
Beautiful, spacious, sunrise master king bedroom. Its own 'Morning Room style' seating area, too !
Bliss! Master ensuite. Walk-in drenching & 3 way massage showers, H&H sinks, towel warmer, bidet...
Artist owner Diane couldn't resist the pewter Rose coat hooks to welcome you on arrival day.
Your first view of Waternish when you arrive on our lovely peninsula. Only 8 minutes to Tir nan Og!
From Tir nan Og's garden -
Diane's sunset photo. A thousand more beautiful sunsets await you!
Sea, Island views. Beautiful garden. Lots of seating. Cosy 'summerhouse' & protected bike shed, too.
Romantic, quiet evening in Tir nan Og's garden.
Paint, photograph, walk in the Quiraing's dramatic 'lunar' landscape: 30 minutes from  Tir nan Og.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
179asmith
Larbert, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic Skye, Idyllic Cottage, peace perfect peace”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and Ihave spent a lovely week in your cottage.It was everything we hoped it would be...you have thought it all out very well. My wife was delighted one morning to come through to the lounge and be welcomed by the log fire particularly as it was a wet and dour morning. Reminds us of our childhood when open fires were the norm. We did much walking and cycling and travelled to the Hebrides also.The Stein Inn,golden eagles and even the sound of a rare corncrake was memorable and that walk to Waternish Point where we guided two Swiss people back who were lost .. ! Many thanks and best wishes to you all. We may haste back to the cottage again. Alex

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it. There was everything anyone could ever need from baking cakes to seeing in the dark
Liked least: There wasnt anything about it we disliked it was perfect
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very pleased that you felt at home at Tir nan Og, and that it was all that you hoped it would be. When I first stepped on the land where I built Tir nan Og, the view of the sea, sky, incredible sunsets, natural moorland all around captured me in ways that compelled me to design a cottage that would respect and reflect Skye's beauty. And that guests would, as you and your wife have, feel the peace and calm that I felt long ago and still feel. It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your wife back again. Logs and kindling will await you, as always!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg Virginia
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2013
Thank you, C. I am 'awestruck' by your heartfelt words and that your stay was indeed 'awesome'.. I am pleased to be able to share my Skye home with you and feel so appreciative that you experienced the fruit of all our efforts to create the 'nicest' home away from home for you and your husband at Tir nan Og.

I have always said that if it there is ever fog or rain, let me be on Skye, as that is where my heart is ever since I 'discovered' Skye during my wandering student days ages ago. 'Haste ye back again, soon' to the 'land of the eternally young' - Tir nan Og.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portsoy
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2013
So pleased that your stay was 'superb', and look forward to your return soon to celebrate another happy milestone in your lives. Thank you for your kind words: it is always a pleasure to know that our guests feel at home at our cottage and can experience renewal. After all, Tir nan Og, in Gaelic means ' Land of the eternally young'! May it always be for you and all our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Market Weighton
Reviewed July 30, 2013 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2013
Thank you for your review 'L. We are pleased that you and your husband had an 'amazing' holiday at Tir nan Og.!

When we designed Tir nan Og Cottage, we said to ourselves: "If we were guests what would we like to see included?' Thus our dedication to providing the finishing touches for comfort as well as aesthetics; plus the important guest information packet containing our 24/7 'concierge' style service - contact details for our wonderful housekeeper and all the expert people who provide electrical, plumbing and joinery services. We want our guests to enjoy a holiday that is virtually 'seamless'.

Guests do enjoy our spa massage and rain shower that also provides easy access for guests who may have mobility issues - we made the decision to utilize the area required for a bath to give our guests double vanity sinks, plus a bidet (and of course a wc) -with the added luxury of a spacious shower room to move around in with lots of storage for toiletries and necessities.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wuppertal/Germany
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2013
Thank you, Christel for your review and thank you for the reminder about George delivering fresh fish to the cottage doorstep. (I will add his telephone number to the Guest Information). That you truly felt at home at Tir nan Og is everything we hope for our guests.

We love the peacefulness and quiet ,too and at the same time only a couple of minutes down the hill to the public road. Yet, the public road is not seen from our cottage, only the vistas of the lochs, the sea and Outer Isles beyond, and those magnificent sunsets that you enjoyed in the evening.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Passenger...
Boat of Garten, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2018
Christian and Gabi, we thank you for being our guests at Tir nan Og, So pleased that your time at the cottage was all that you hoped it would be, We warmly welcome you to visit us again soon. Slainte bha!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMB68
Lapoutroie
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
Google Translation

Traveling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2014
Merci bien!
After your late arrival, I am very happy to read that a sunny day greeted you in the morning and that you experienced our 'breathtaking scenery'! So pleased that you found our cottage 'romantic'; and your comment 'that everything was done for you to feel comfortable' ...that 'after we had crisscrossed the island, all other properties that we had selected, Tir nan Og surpassed.'' Thank you for encouraging others to stay at Tir nan Og.
We are so pleased that you found everything to your liking. You and your husband are most welcome to return again to our cottage to celebrate another birthday, bien entendu! a bientot
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing