We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The smiddy”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Waternish, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lesleymak...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“The smiddy”
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Our stay in Skye was spot on! Not only stunning views and amazing places of interest Andy other half proposed to me at the gorgeous fairy pools! It was all just beautiful!

The smiddy was brilliant Carmen had literally thought of everthing the most equipped lodgings I have stayed in !
All
The little touches and her warm and extremely friendly welcome was very much appreciated ! We will be back and her and her partner john deserve all the very best in there venture as it's already a great success!

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S
1 review
“Contemporary, exquisitely furnished, peaceful, quite and with extraordinary hosts.”
Reviewed October 8, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We loved meeting our hosts who provided many local details for plants and birds on the Waternish Pennisula, this well kept secret of the Isle of Skye. We would not hesitate to book again to see the beauty of this area in the various seasons. In addition to the ever changing views of the straits and Hebrides Islands, we truly felt as if we had met kindred spirits in our connection with Carmen and John.

Date of stay: September 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_vanD...
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great cottage, great location fantastic hosts”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Don't be put off with the fact that there are few reviews for this cottage. There can't be, it is brand new - we were the second guests. It is by far the best equipped cottage we've ever stayed in. Not only a fully equipped and very nicely appointed kitchen, with all the appliances you could want, also a nicely stocked fridge and cupboard with a lot of essentials, such as cereal, milk, butter, herbs and spices etc. etc. and some nice non-essentials such as a couple of Skye beers. The place is spotlessly clean and there are anti-allergy covers on the pillows and duvet - brilliant for asthma patient like me. The location is beautiful with a lovely view over the loch and on clear days to the Uists and Benbecula. On nice warm days the location is high enough to get a bit of wind. In Scotland this can be vital: it means few midges - when down at the water's edge and any sheltered bits you get eaten alive, at the cottage you can still sit outside. Carmen and John are great hosts. After finding out we like wildlife, we found a very comprehensive checklist of birds that can be found on Skye, Latin names, English names and even Dutch names, compiled by John. If we visit Skye again, we will certainly book here.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2017
Thank you so much for your review, Luca! It was a real pleasure to host you, and we would be very happy to welcome you back to Skye and The Smiddy anytime :-) Carmen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing