We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of wildlife tours”

Wild About Mull Wildlife Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“The best of wildlife tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Another magical day with Bryan. At the same time last year six of us friends went on Bryan's wildlife tour, and when we planned our return visit to Ross of Mull the first thing on our list was to book a repeat 'Wild About Mull' tour.
The weather was mixed, with grey rain clouds in the distance and strong winds, but plenty of sunshine and fantastic light across the mountains for taking photos.
As ever, Bryan was friendly and so incredibly knowledgeable. We learned so much about the local birds and wildlife and about Mull itself and its past and present use of the land. He was willing to stop the van if we thought we'd spotted anything, as well as for the numerous sightings he manages to see so well. It was great to be able to get out and stretch our legs and see the wildlife 'in the wild'.
We were lent binoculars if we didn't have them and given plenty of chances for loo stops. A tasty lunch was provided with freshly brewed tea or coffee and I can particularly recommend the egg mayonnaise butties! And it was great to eat them outside the van while watching the spectacle of a circling hen harrier.
We watched a beautiful otter for quite some time fairly close and saw the white tailed eagles guarding their eggs which are due to arch any day now!
Bryan's van is spacious and comfortable and the spectacular day went all too quickly. This will once again be a highlight of our Mull holiday. Amazing and highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Adelai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    3
    0
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A day well spent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Bryan was a wonderful guide. I have worked as a wildlife guide, and operated a large and successful attraction. I would employ Bryan in a moment. He met the needs of the 4 guests that day, including those of an enthusiastic 9 year old. Bryan clearly knows his subject and the island which is his home. Our day spent with Bryan inestimably enhanced our understanding of the Isle of Mull and its fauna.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank desertmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“First rate tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

My partner and I booked a tour with Bryan (wild about mull) and had a remarkable day with him, fortunately before reading the couple of negative reviews. Sadly if we had read the reviews before spending the day with Bryan, we would possibly have cancelled, and missed an amazing day.

Bryan is passionate about Mull and the wildlife, and without his amazing knowledge and enthusiasm we would have missed an awful lot of what Mull has to offer. I think the review from Tiroran ( from reading TA's reviews is a well established hotel) who would not risk their business by recommending a bad tour, perfectly sums up Wild about Mull.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Leonard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wildlife Heaven..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Went out on the 11th April with Bryan for a wildlife tour of Mull, organised through the Argyll Arms wildlife package. It was the day we had most been looking forward to as part of the holiday, and we had a brilliant time. We were showed all round the local area. Bryan asked what we most wanted to see, and then endeavoured to find that for us. The day is an active one of hopping in and out of the truck as the wildlife appears and is spotted, and Bryan has lots of facts and information to tell you about what you are looking at. He has a scope on board so you can see things closer than you can with binoculars. Obviously animals and birds are not always willing to play the game, and you will not see everything everyday, that is the nature of the tour, but there is so much to see on Mull, if you like wildlife, you will not be disappointed. Local knowledge is everything, and Bryan knows just where to look for it all. We saw animals and birds we just would not have spotted or known what they were on our own.

We found it to be a thoroughly enjoyable day, in good company, with lots of amazing wildlife. Oh, and we saw the Golden Eagles we wanted to see too :)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubbardston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very unprofessional, rigid, and dour leader with no customer service skills.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Where do I start?!?! A terrible tour experience. We are experienced naturalists and have taken nature tours in many places, but have never had such a bad time of it. We knew at the outset that it wouldn't be pleasant; Mull was experiencing an unforseen hurricane (which of course we couldn't have known when we booked the tour weeks earlier), and we met our leader in the pouring rain and high gales. He would not cancel or postpone; he said he would not want to bring us back to our B&B if we experienced any difficulty with being too cold or wet or any other problem; he would not offer a refund or a "rain check." It was either go out all day or forfeit the fee. The guide never did introduce himself, nor did he converse in any manner throughout the day or try to foster comaraderie amongst the particpants. The only time he spoke--at least on this tour--was to answer questions. Although several of us were birders, he did not stop for some birds until we asked him to, nor did he consistently point things out when they were around. Again, he would only speak when spoken to. When he did answer questions, he was very knowledgeable, but in a couple of cases he made corrections in a rather scronful and patronizing manner, which caused embarassment to the person who asked the question. Overall, there seemed to be a dismal lack of enthuisiasm and interest in the participants, except perhaps the two people in the front seat, who seemed to be having some little conversations with the guide. Not sure if maybe the guide prefers participants other than Americans(?) We certainly were not unpleasant or demanding; in fact, we were cowed into silence and/or tried to make light conversation, but it didn't go anywhere. Our guide did allow ample time for photos and had an awning at the back of the van under which we could stand to look through scopes, which was nice. (It gave him the opportunity to smoke a cigarette, which I personally did not appreciate.) Lunch was a meager filling (at least one labeled incorrectly) on a white bun, a small bag of crisps, and hot water for powdered coffee or tea. I will say that our leader did help us to find some locations and mammals we would not otherwise have seen, but we probably could have gone birding on our own and done just as well. Someone later suggested to us that perhaps the guide was having a "bad day," but that is no excuse. In our opinion, he should not be in a business where he works with the public. Surely there are more pleasant and flexible Mull tour leaders out there, and sorry we didn't find one of them!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank curiousbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild About Mull Wildlife Tours also viewed

 
Aros, Isle of Mull
Dervaig, Isle of Mull
 

Been to Wild About Mull Wildlife Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing