We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Magnificent !!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ALAN F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Magnificent !!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for my 50th Birthday for a week and loved every minute of it, we were greeted by the lovely Janice who gave us a quick tour of the cottage and also a nice warm welcoming bottle of red wine and a box of shortbread, the cottage itself is simply gorgeous, the place was spotless and the beds are really comfortable, i actually meant to check the mattress make as it was comfier than my own bed, we visited all the beautiful beaches which are a must if you go to Harris, had the pleasure of seeing a White Tailed Eagle in Leverburgh and 2 Buzzards which lived out the back of the cottage, the weather was fantastic, the scenery breath taking and also caught a few Mackerel, i will return to Harris again and hopefully stay at the same cottage, thanks again to Janice for helping to make my 50th so memorable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A real get away from it all trip”
Reviewed July 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A lovely house that very quickly felt like home. Janice could not have done more to help our holiday go smoothly.
Well situated for visiting the beautiful beaches and walks that Harris has to offer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidPRo
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, lovely house”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely house in a beautiful location in Geocrab. Janice, the owner was extremely helpful and on hand if there were any issues (there weren't).. House is very spacious and lovely outlook on all directions. Two cafes in the area, one a short walk away. Beautiful beaches on the West coast (Luskentyre & Hushinish), lovely evening meal at Isle of Harris Hotel in Tarbert. Midnight walk when it was still light and spotting an otter nearby was a highlight as was spotting 3 golden eagles in the mountains of North Harris.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safari715...
1 review
“Very spacious, clean and comfortable accommodation.”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Stayed with friends for 4 days in this lovely cottage in Geocrab where my family came from. The location is ideal for travelling around Harris and Lewis. Stunning beaches and scenery all around as well as wildlife. Visited various tourist attractions i.e.; Harris Distillery, Callinish Stones, Black Houses and the Butt of Lewis Lighthouse to name a few. The Skoon Cafe close by is lovely with amazing home baking. Janice was very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. We will be back to visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotslass...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent accommodation and location”
Reviewed May 27, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed here for a week as an adult family of six. The house was very spacious, warm and extremely well equipped. A real home from home. One of the double bedrooms was en suite and there is a good sized family bathroom with double shower. It was easy to find from Janice's clear directions from Tarbert (20 minute drive).

The location of the house is good for getting around Harris and Lewis - never far from a stunning beach or an interesting place to visit. Highly recommend the Harris Distillery in Tarbert and the Machair Kitchen near Borve beach (book in advance).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SussexTri...
Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed May 14, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We found Tigh a' Chreagain to be very clean, warm and comfortable. Near to Skoon Art Cafe where we had some delicious soup and to a water inlet where seals swam, played and snoozed. Saw an otter in a lock on the way to the cottage. Not far from the main road and easy access to the lovely beaches and Tarbert. Janice is a lovely lady and was very helpful to us. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilacJ
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had such a nice few days here, and Janice was delightful and super-helpful. Harris is stunning, this is a fabulous place from which to explore. We'll be back soon please, Janice! :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing