We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Cottage - Great Location - Great Views...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
House
View from decking
View from decking
Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Open plan lounge, dinning room and kitchen
House
Callanish Stones February 2015
View of Lemreway
Carloway Broch Tourist Attraction
Butt of Lewis Light house
Gearrannan Blackhouse Village
Harris beaches
St Kilda
St Kilda
St Kilda
St Kilda
St Kilda
Pollock
Isle of Lewis
St Kilda
St Kilda
St Kilda
St Kilda
St Kilda
St Kilda
Seals
Birds
Dolphin
Hawk
Lemreway
View from my croft
Lemreway
Lemreway and Shaint Isles
Visit Scotland recommends Lemreway!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Natalie R
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Isle of Lewis is amazing and this holiday home is in a great location. Unfortunately, the cottage was disappointing. There are 3 sofas in the lounge and 2 of them cannot be used as they are missing the cushions at the back. There were lots of stains and marks on the walls, doors, bedroom carpets, bath mats, etc. The carpet in the hallway looks like it needs replacing and the cream curtains in the front bedroom were filthy with either dust or dog hair. The laminate floor in the lounge was clean. Having sky and wifi was great. The mattresses were not comfy at all. Out of the 3 bedrooms only 1 had a chest of draws to store clothes so would have found living out of a suitcase frustrating if staying for more than a few days. Overall a very disappointing experience which is a shame as this place could be amazing. I would not recommend this holiday home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly T
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Cottage - Great Location - Great Views - Great Holiday!”
Reviewed June 16, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We were looking for a cottage that accommodated 4 adults and 4 golden retrievers but it was proving difficult. I had emailed Kayleigh to see if having 4 dogs in the cottage would be a problem, but she was more than accommodating and welcomed us to stay there. We arrived at the cottage about 7.30pm - the door was open and the keys were in the kitchen (like she had said in her email) and we were pleasantly surprised by the size. From the outside it doesn't look massive, but inside you have your ulility room (where there is a extra toilet and shower room), open plan kitchen/dinig area/living room, large hall way, three bedrooms and bathroom. The cottage is very minimalist but lovely and clean and we made ourselves at home. The 4 dogs had lots of room to run around and loved their new home for the week - especially watching the bunnies and sheep from the patio doors. The kitchen was well equipt , there was sky tv, wifi and a dvd player - all which came in handy at night time when we were back in the cottage relaxing. Lemreway is about 15mins off the main road but not a long journey and worth it for the scenery. One thing I would recommend is getting a Tesco shopping delivery - we did this and it made life so much easier as there is no shop to get your weekly shop from in Tarbert, Stornoway was another 40 mins drive from our cottage, and it meant that we didn't have to carry any food with us in the car on our way up. I would stay here again, and would definitely recommend this cottage for a get away on the Isle of Lewis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZuluOscar...
Dornoch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best views in the whole of Lewis”
Reviewed August 28, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great views, we were blown over when we saw the islands and the sea while driving to the house. Remote location- but everything seems remote in Lewis! Houses around but you don't see them around when you're in the place. Lovely big rooms, and a great kitchen- had some good meals!
Would definitely recommend, and the dog was happy to have all the space too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: mattress not the best
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I_Scott34...
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location and house.”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a wonderful stay, the house is very new and spacious with fantastic views from the windows and decking.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ginger23...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Edge of the world for peace and quiet”
Reviewed May 15, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The house is in a great (remote) location with fantastic views from two of the bedrooms and the lounge. It's incredibly peaceful and quiet.
The house has very effective heating so nice and cosy while being spacious, roomy and light and there's plenty of hot water. There's a big, new satellite TV and effective WIFI. There's a nice deck with two deck chairs and the lounge seats five. The landlady is friendly and helpful and lives across the lane.
Everything feels newly fitted - not always to a very high standard and the kitchen is not especially well equipped. There is no mobile phone reception in the village. There was no DVD player during our visit and the dish washer wasn't working. The mattresses are slabs of foam. There was no house number or name so we were a little worried we were walking into someone's house when we arrived.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view
Liked least: Absense of kitchen equipment and dishwasher
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roddy M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 star location and property!”
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here in February. The house is in a place called Lemreway which has breathtaking sea views. Lemreway is so relaxing for a chilled out break away from it all. I would recommend a boat trip to the Shaint Isles to see puffins and dolphins. The house is beautifully finished, very cosy considering it was winter. The house is in such a beautiful location that I cannot wait to go back, it really was not long enough. I would definitely recommend and I will be looking forward to our return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, house and attractions.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnissea...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing