We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very good for the price”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Seaview chalet

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Curiosity...
1 review
“Very good for the price”
Reviewed October 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Very nice stay, friendly and helpful owners. Clean and tidy place, wifi (which is a bonus as poor signal in the area), all amenities including washing machine and tumble dryer. Electric heating, but warms up very quick.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bullet17
Florence, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The Seaview Chalet was a perfect place for me to stay during my visit to the Outer Hebrides. After a ninety-minute ferry ride from Uig and a short ten-minute drive, I arrived at the cottage and received a friendly greeting from the owner’s mother-in-law, who lives just across the road.

It’s a lovely, cozy, little cottage, just the right size for one or two people. The kitchen has everything I needed to prepare my meals. It contained many appliances including a large freezer and plenty of pots, pans and dishware. The bedroom was small but comfortable and the bathroom had a large tub/shower with plenty of hot water. The living room has a big television with Sky cable and there is Internet access throughout.

The cottage is located on a narrow one-track road, just a short drive from Tarbert. It has a lovely garden and a little stream running through the back. There’s a view of the small bay from the living and bedroom windows, where beautiful sunsets can be seen. Its location was a perfect base for me to explore the island of Harris, along with the western coast of Lewis. I was able to get some lovely photos at Luskentyre Beach, the Callanish standing stones and other stunning venues along the seacoast.

Tarbert is a very small town, but has all the necessary services. There is a small grocery store, post office, and restaurant in the Hotel Hebrides. I ate three meals there and both the food and service was quite good. The visitor center is really outstanding and a great place to help plan your visit. I enjoyed visiting the new Harris Distillery, which is producing Isle of Harris gin in a very handsome and distinctive bottle.

I would highly recommend the Seaview Chalet to anyone who is looking for a small, comfortable, and well-stocked cottage that provides easy access to many of the beautiful and interesting sights the islands of Lewis and Harris have to offer.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfortable atmosphere.
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRSEdinbu...
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice chalet, tranquil location”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Seaview chalet is clean and well appointed. Everything you require is included. Joan welcomed us on our late arrival. (delayed ferry). She was standing at the door with the lights on so we could find our way.
It is a fantastic place to stay for walking, hiking, bird watching and touring the Outer Hebridies.
We had a most enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RogerW W
1 review
“Perfect well appointed cottage in a setting to die for.”
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Seaview Chalet was for my wife, self & Jack Russel a superp base for our explorations and visits on Harris and Lewis, it being well equipped spacious and comfortable. The weather treated us well in the main and Joan, the owner's mother-in-law, made us very welcome. She and my wife got on famously especially on the topic of Harris wool, knitting patterns etc. and we were able to see works by her son Gordon Ross, photographer and artist extraordinaire. After a 24 year absence we were delighted to reacquaint ourselves with the island, especially Harris Tweed and its production and we even met some friends from our previous stay.
Altogether very satisfactory.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful location”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My friend and I stayed for a few days in this chalet and found it to be very comfortable, well equipped and in a very peaceful, beautiful location. Everything was clean and tidy when we got there and we were made very welcome. I would be very happy to visit there again.

Date of stay: June 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.