We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect cottage and a stunning location”
other travelers have booked this property
Cuckoo Cottage overlooking Luskentyre Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cuckoo Cottage overlooking Luskentyre Beach
On the beach, Luskentyre Luskentyre dunes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Cuckoo Cottage overlooking Luskentyre Beach
On the beach, Luskentyre
Luskentyre dunes
Double bedroom
Box bed in the kitchen
Preparing a special dinner
Family bathroom
Summer flowers on the mach air
Evening  light on the sands
Cottage interior
The snug
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ewan B
1 review
“A perfect cottage and a stunning location”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed for a week at Cuckoo Cottage. The cottage is beautiful and well equipped. The views are stunning with uninterrupted scenes of Luskentyre Beach, which is a mere 50 meter walk.
Wifi would have added to our holiday experience, if only to find out about local amenities, but this did not detract from our enjoyment of a fantastic holiday on the island of Harris.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cottage and the Location
Liked least: Nowhere to buy fresh fish to cook for ourselves
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fitzgeral...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful beach cottage!”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

After our visit to Harris Cuckoo Cottage, we fell in love with Luskentyre beach! This cottage is perfectly situated overlooking the most beautiful beach on Harris. We spent part of our honeymoon here and we are so glad we did. Although the weather wasn't the best, we could sit watching the changing skies and tides from the comforts of 'our' wee cosy cottage.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weloveHar...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An idealic island retreat”
Reviewed September 11, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Cuckoo was glorious! Perfectly situated and beaming out across the beautiful Luskentyre beach with its red roof showing proudly, this was a cottage that we were sad to leave at the end of our trip to Harris. A very comfortable stay with excellent facilities and the greatest outlook on earth, in our opinion. Perfectly equipped and smartly laid out with plenty of space to curl up with a book or enjoy some home cooking. With the greatest thanks to the owners, and we'll certainly be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace12...
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“to expensive for what you get”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The location makes up for the cottage.
The cottage is poorly equipped and a warm shower was not possible!!
The garden is not looked after, therfore clouds of mitches and if you like to enjoy your view from the inside, you have to park your car on the single side track because there is no parking for your car unlike you park your car in front of your window....
Very disappointed!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makeusmil...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“situated in a the most perfect place on earth”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

No matter what time of year, leaving west Harris is always the most difficult part of the year. You just never know where the time goes and you never get all the things done that you wanted to do so you always have to come back! This compact "cottage" was a great base, well equipped, informal and flexible for 2 adults and 2 large male teenagers. The view is awesome and difficult to drag yourself away from.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahJW82
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in the most spectacular place on Earth”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Sweet, extremely well-equipped cottage on Luskentyre beach which is the most beautiful beach I have seen. My only suggestion for improvment wouyld be blinds in the main bedroom (& wifi although that might actually spoil the splendid isolation) but otherwise faultless.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annypurpl...
Wenhaston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a stunning location”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed for two weeks in late May early June. We wanted to explore wildlife on the extraordinary Scottish machair. We wanted all our home comforts including constant warmth. We got everything we wanted here: abundant wildlife, fantastic setting on Luskentyre beach with stunning views from the cottage all from the tastefully decorated and fully equipped accommodation . I could have happily spent another two weeks or more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing