We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely cottage in a magnificent location”
other travelers have booked this property
The Fishermans Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Fishermans Cottage
View from cottage View from cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The Fishermans Cottage
View from cottage
View from cottage
View from loch seaforth towards The Fishermans Cottage
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
View from kitchen to lounge
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Bathroom
Twin room
Home baking
Fresh shellfish available on request
Feed me!
Callanish Stones
Gearrannan Black House village
Uig, Lewis
Island sunset
Yacht anchored in loch at the front of the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duncan H
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely cottage in a magnificent location”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The property is well situated to visit the attractions of both Lewis and Harris which is important as the island(s) are of significant size. The view from the cottage is quite superb looking along Loch Seaforth with the hills and mountains around. The cottage was well equipped with everything one would expect and also includes wifi, a monocular for viewing the scenery and a range of maps. The owners were very friendly and try their best to make sure you have a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location/owners/cottage
Liked least: Nothing except the midges in the evening
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davekb54
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location location location”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Just stayed in this cottage for a week. Cottage is great and the view down Loch Seaforth across to Skye is amazing. Sat on bench outside and watched golden eagles soaring and land on hill across the loch. Will be back!!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyG201...
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Get away from it all in style”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

If you are looking for a holiday retreat away from it all with hospitable hosts, excellent fishing and abundant wildlife on your doorstep then look no further. The Fisherman's Cottage was a well appointed, comfortable home away from home and represented excellent value for our 2 week stay on Harris. It is centrally located within easy reach of both Lewis and Harris and would recommend it for anyone looking to enjoy peace and tranquility. The view over the Loch is stunning and changes from minute to minute you never know what you might see from your window. We saw eagles, sea otters, seals and dolphins from the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the hospitality
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalF_13
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful cottage with stunning views.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Fisherman's Cottage for 5 nights in June. We absolutely loved it, and we were very sad to leave. The cottage has the most beautiful view over Loch Seaforth...there will be volunteers to do the washing up! The bedrooms were clean, and just the right size. There is a fully equipped kitchen and the owner, Irene, even provided a cake for us when we arrived. She was happy to help with any queries we had. There is ample parking, and the cottage is clearly signposted off the main road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie R
Yarm, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Perfect Relaxing Break”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The Fisherman's Cottage was a truly wonderful and relaxing place to stay! The owners instantly made you feel at home and without a shadow of a doubt we would return in a blink of an eye. It is well located so we were able to easily explore Harris and Lewis. Looking out of the front windows, we were greeted by the amazing view of the Loch something we will not forget in a hurry. The cottage was extremely well equipped and everything was of a high standard. What did we like the best? It's really difficult to say but if we had to pick one, it would be the location (which includes the people and the views). What we liked the least was...having to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views.
Liked least: Leaving.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwark
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage in great location with friendly owners.”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in this lovely cottage for a week at the beginning of July 2012. The cottage is newly refurbished and has everything you would want for a comfortable stay. The kitchen was really well equipped, there were plenty of additional towels and bedlinen in the bedrooms and a great stock of maps of the island and surrounding islands; the owners Irene and Alasdair had clearly thought hard about what their guests might need. The location on the bank of Loch Seaforth is perfect, with an incredible view of the loch and mountains. We spent a lot of time just watching the sheep and the sea trout jumping out of the loch! It is also really well situated with easy access for both Harris and Lewis.

It was lovely to have Irene and Alasdair living in the cottage next door (they run a B&B there). They are both islanders and were able to tell us about the islands and the local community, which really added to our visit. Irene supplied us with home-made cakes and local eggs, and Alisdair (who is also a fisherman) caught us some lovely langoustine!

We spent most of our time on Harris which has really wonderful walking. The mountains are not too ambitious for novice hikers, but are high enough to feel like you have really accomplished something. Harris is stunningly beautiful with a real variety of scenery. It is also very uncrowded; we barely came across any other walkers the whole time we were there, which is rare almost anywhere in the UK.

Although we went in high summer, we feel this cottage would also be a great place to stay in colder weather as it is really cosy and comfortable. We had a fantastic time here and definitely plan to return before too long.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNewber...
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage with a wonderful view, on fantastic islands”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Myself (20s) and my grandparents (80s) stayed in this cottage in June this year, for one week while we toured the isles of Lewis and Harris.

It as a delightful cottage with a beautiful view of Loch Seaforth. Situated in a peaceful place, ideally situated on Harris but near the Lewis border - perfect for exploring both islands in a week. We can fully recommend this clean, well equipped cottage for all ages. It is all on one floor, so ideal for older people.

The cottage was fantastic. A real home from home, very comfortable and welcoming. It had been recently renovated to a very high standard. Kitchen was very well equipped, with all utensils, pans, tins and basics such as teabags, coffee, sugar, milk which really help when you arrive somewhere new. The bedrooms were very comfortable, plenty of storage space. The living room was comfortable, with hifi, digital tv and wifi is available. It has everything you could need for an enjoyable week's holiday.

Allasdair and Irene were very welcoming, gave us tips on where to eat on the island and answered any of our questions.

The islands are beautiful - including lovely beaches to visit (the best I have ever seen - Luskentyre), historical places on Lewis (Callanish, blackhouses) and lots of craft places. Harris and Lewis are now our favourite spots in Scotland - contrast of mountains and beaches, and they are a must see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$93
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing