We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B Smashing location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverside Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Harris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Cottage
Ranked #22 of 27 Isle of Harris B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely B&B Smashing location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

What a find, excellent accommodation, very comfy bed and excellent shower just what you need after a long motorcycle journey.
A lot of thought and hard work has gone into ensuring a stay at Riverside Cottage is as comfortable and relaxing as can be.
We left the next day refreshed and 're-fueled' (excellent breakfast) and ready for the next day of our motorcycle tour.

Motorcycle Mick (Ryton)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueisleofharris m, Owner at Riverside Cottage, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
The owners of Riverside cottage would like to thank their guests for a lovelly review and are pleased they enjoyed their stay with us .Thanks again S & R .@ Riversidecottage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2012 and were delighted with everything about our stay. The owners Ray & Sue are a lovely couple and they really couldn't have made us feel more welcome, it is very obvious that they take great pride in their B&B and also in making sure our stay was perfect, they gave us lots of great information & tips about visiting the islands too.
The location was perfect for exploring the Isle of Harris and also for our St Kilda trip out of Leverburgh with 'Kilda Cruises' (which was also fantastic and highly recommended!). The views from the bedroom window were beautiful and we really couldn't have asked for more.
When booking this accommodation we were slightly concerned as we couldn't find any reviews online at the time - thankfully our concerns were unfounded and we were delighted at our find as this really is a gem of a B&B. We discovered that the reason there were no previous reviews is that 2012 is really their first season after rebuilding Riverside Cottage from a ruin (although Ray & Sue have ran B&Bs elsewhere over the years). When we were staying, Riverside Cottage was awaiting its star rating from the Scottish Tourist Board..........when we got home we recieved a lovely note from Sue to let us know they had achieved 4 stars! I'd say this is definitely well deserved.
We were staying with my sister and Mum so we had booked all 3 rooms - all rooms are beautiful, very spacious and very modern and the whole B&B is spotlessly clean. The beds are extremely comfortable (my Mum said she had the best 3 nights sleep she's ever had in her life!!) and the large ensuite showers are great. A tray with kettle, coffee, tea, fruit tea & biscuits was also supplied in each room and this was replenished every day. A hairdryer is available for use.
Breakfasts were delicious and kept us going until well after lunch time! (choice of cereals, toast, fruit, fruit juices, tea, coffee and full cooked breakfast........including of course the fabulous Stornoway black pudding and also delicious free range eggs!).
We wouldn't hesitate in recommending this B&B to others, in fact I'd say it's really a shame if you miss out on it as part of your visit to the Outer Hebrides! It is a fantastic B&B with equally fantsatic hosts.
Thanks again Ray & Sue.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueisleofharris m, Owner at Riverside Cottage, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
The owners of Riverside cottage would like to thank their guests for their review ,We appreciate your opinion and hope it helps other travellers .S & R .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this recently opened B and B as part of our tour of the Outer Hebrides from Barra to Lewis.
Riverside Cottage is the fabulous home of warm and welcoming hosts Sue and Ray. Spacious, comfortable, well appointed room with a great shower, amazing outlook over the bay, the location is just idyllic. Breakfast was delicious too. Really cannot recommend Riverside Cottage highly enough, it was just perfect, we would love to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flkrkbairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueisleofharris m, Owner at Riverside Cottage, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
The owners of Riverside cottage would like to thank their guests for their reviews ,were glad you enjoyed your stay at our B&B and hope it helps other travellers .Thanks again S&R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Harris
8.9 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
33.5 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ceol na Mara Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#8 of 11 in Isle of Harris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
40.7 mi away
Broad Bay House
Broad Bay House
#4 of 62 in Isle of Lewis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Cottage

Property: Riverside Cottage
Address: Quidinish, Stromore, HS3 3JD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Harris
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Riverside Cottage Isle Of Harris, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing