We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal cottage to escape to”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sonas Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

AFParker
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ideal cottage to escape to”
Reviewed September 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This 'cottage' is a fantastic find on a gorgeous island. From all the reviews I believed I knew what to expect, but the stay still managed to surpass my expectations. The cottage is modern, clean and very well decorated. The touches of luxury throughout the house are fantastic and it feels like you have a new home with all the modern gadgets you could want for a week!

There has been a clear attention to detail throughout the house, and we were almost disappointed that we had a week of wonderful weather so couldn't use rain as an excuse to hide away inside and enjoy them all more!

We loved the place and were sad to leave. I would recommend Sonas without hesitation!

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeps
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was a special treat for us to celebrate our 'Silver Wedding' and it was just the most idyllic holiday ever. The cottage is stunning, with everything you could ever want or need! We enjoyed the sauna and cinema room in the evenings and explored this beautiful island throughout the day. Angus and Catriona made it extra special when a beautiful bouquet arrived with wine and chocolates on our Anniversary morning. Thank you to Granny Joan!! Joan is an absolute sweetheart who shared some history about Harris and we enjoyed very much her knowledge about the 'Whaling Station' which lies at the bottom of 'Sonas' My husband LOVED the music system! He was like a kid in a sweetie shop!

Once again, thank you so much for sharing your beautiful cottage with us. It was a perfect way to celebrate and one which we will always remember.

Corrine & Alistair Mackenzie

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing! All perfect!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffreys...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simply Spectacular”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is a truly luxurious rental with modern appliances and everything you need to feel at home. The sauna and cinema contribute to make this charming and romantic cottage a comfortable retreat from the vagaries of weather. Sonas is well situated, close to Tarbert, but still remote in a bucolic setting. Harris is a walkers paradise and its beaches are not to be missed.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 5 Star amenities
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona G
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sublime !!!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Have just returned from a glorious week on the Isle of Harris! Sonas is more than a home from home it is truly luxurious. From the kitchen , which is full of wonderful gadgets, to the sauna and cinema room. Not that we watched many movies, we were too busy enjoying the view from the windows. We had evening entertainment with the otters in the bay hunting for fish and the eagles flying at the back of the cottage - truly wonderful!
After a days walking it was great to return to a lovely relaxing bath or a sauna. Angus and Catriona have thought of everything,
A wonderful relaxing break in a fabulous cottage, would definitely recommend and will almost certainly return!

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“For a totally relaxed and de-stressing experience ...... Sonas is the answer”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I travelled to Harris, landing in Tarbert ready for our 7 day break. We both needed to relax and get rid of the stress that comes naturally with both of our jobs. We always holiday in the Scottish Highlands , so Harris and Lewis was an exciting adventure for us. Sonas cottage was everything (and more) that the website described and so is the Island. Combined, it was exactly the right tonic that we needed. Sonas is fully equipped to pamper all of your needs whilst away from home. It was a lovely feeling knowing that we were returning home each day to such comfort and relaxation (both the bath and the sauna are to die for)!
The people in the village were really friendly , as were everyone that we met across the island. Angus was very helpful and kind during the booking arrangements. We saw eagles, seals, red deer and we watched a lamb being born from the back door.
Don't hesitate with your choice .... Choose Sonas cottage and choose the Isle of Harris. You will not regret a minute of it.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“even better than expected !!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

It was our 1st time to Harris. We found the cottage only 5 minute drive from the ferry at Tarbert.

The cottage itself was fantastic. It was better than expected, and had every gadget & comfort you could wish for. The cinema room was great for the dark evenings,(we went in Jan ) & the cottage was very well equipped. The views from the lounge were like a fresh painting by the hour !!

The bed was so comfy & big we slept like logs !! The attention to detail was superb. The bath was amazing,the large walk in shower,and not to mention the sauna.

It is ideally situated for travelling the island and exploring the south of Harris & the north to Lewis.

We loved the place and were sad to leave. I would truly recommend Sonas,We have stayed in many cottages & this has been by far the best, with attention to detail & quality.

.

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodeCam
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Words cannot justify what we experienced at Sonas Cottage. We are still raving about it to anyone who will listen more than 2 months later. If you are the kind of person who loves to get away from the rush of life and immerse yourself in luxury touches and nature - this is the place for you. Angus made the booking process a joy with his immediate replies. As soon as we arrived we spent about 3 seconds deciding we needed to extend our stay.

Every bit of effort that has gone into this cottage has paid off - the floors, the fire, the lounges, the kitchen (with amazing mountain views), the appliances, the (absolutely insane) cinema room, choice of 3 luxurious bathrooms, sauna, the BEST shower you have ever had. As if that wasn't enough Angus leaves fluffy slippers, a Scottish rubber duck (already been sent back to Aus), and chocolates, biscuits and a bottle of Sparkling Elderflower water. He gave us the extra night for a huge discount and was very flexible with payment. The value for money here is ridiculous.

Could not fault this property at all, if we could chose somewhere to live permanently, we would have no problems settling down right there.

6 out of 5 Stars from us. Thank you so much, we literally had to drag ourselves away when we left

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.