We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“HOLIDAY AT HARRIS WHITE COTTAGE”
other travelers have booked this property
View from top
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from top
view from lake with old boat Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
View from top
view from lake with old boat
Garden
Welcome basket
Details
Details
Details
Bathroom with walk in shower
Diner
Kitchen
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Kitchen/Diner
Diner/Kitchen
Kitchen/diner
Diner/Kitchen
Kitchen/diner
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Second Bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Internal corridor
Entrance Porch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
linglands...
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“HOLIDAY AT HARRIS WHITE COTTAGE”
Reviewed March 4, 2018 for a stay in October 2017

Loved the view from the cottage ,nice drive on the golden road and nice crossing by ferry from Leverburgh to Berneray. went to Stornoway very nice town went 3 times also went to Callanish standing stones both on Isle of Lewis beautiful scenery..

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2018
Thank you so much for lovely review, so happy that you too loved the island as much as be have for the last 20 years!
Look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future
with best regards - Walter & the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally P
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“True escape”
Reviewed March 4, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We came to Harris to enjoy the beaches and get away from it all. We certainly did that. The weather was Baltic but managed to get warm in the cottage (note bring plenty of £1).
Walter came to our rescue very promptly one night so fear not, you are in excellent hands staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2018
Hello Sally
glad you had a great time in our cottage, I am blessed to have such professional local support who usually arrive in a timely matter to resolve any issues....I look forward to welcoming you again at Harris White Cottage in the not too distant future - have a lovely summer !
Walter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chianti19...
Brampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Charming cottage in perfect location”
Reviewed February 16, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed at this lovely cottage in the week before Christmas. Very comfortable, clean and set in a perfect location for exploring Harris. Perfect as it is dog friendly too. Also a nice surprise was the welcome hamper. Thank you. J & R

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2018
Thank you so much for lovely review! We try hard with the welcome basket to source every year new and exciting LOCAL produce as to support the local artists and artisans... Look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future...have a lovely summer Walter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain S
1 review
“Lovely comfy, pet friendly, refreshing, relaxing place to stay.”
Reviewed February 16, 2018 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed in 2016 & greatly enjoyed it so came back in 2017 & as good as ever.
Quiet, comfy, good views, special place.
Would happily return, but now often booked early! so have to be quick off the mark.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2018
Thanks Iain for lovely review...yes we have gone from a 6 months mainly summer season to a February to November one with couple of weeks usually booked in December too.... we also try to keep our prices fair and hence our lovely guests come back time and time again... look forward to welcoming you back at White Cottage in the not too distant future... all the best Walter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria...
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed February 16, 2018 for a stay in August 2017

Harris is a beautiful island and White Cottage is a great place to stay to explore it. Been going to White Cottage for more than 15 years and it is always very comfortable and clean. Can't beat sitting outside in the sun eating breakfast before a long walk and swim in turquoise water. The local shop at Leverburgh is well stocked and Tarbert a lovely town to explore.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2018
Thank you Victoria not only for lovely review but for your many visits and comments on the constant improvements we do each and every year at White Cottage...it means a lot to us ! Look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future...many thanks Walter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal43...
1 review
“Best Stay on Harris”
Reviewed February 15, 2018 for a stay in September 2017

White Cottage is a lovely, homely house in an idylic location. My husband and i have now returned to the White Cottage three times and are booked in for a fourth stay in September 2018. The house gives us all the home comforts we need , coupled with lovely scenery just outside the door and the excellent access it provides to Harris' wonderful scenic walks. The owner ensures that the house is maintained to a high standard both inside and out.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2018
It means so much to us when lovely reviews as yours are left by our guests and best of all returning season after season ! thank you thank you !
Walter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandasZ2...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning location, pet-friendly and well equipped”
Reviewed February 15, 2018 for a stay in September 2017

We loved staying here; Harris is amazing and the cottage is in a stunning area with lots of walks from the doorstep. It is pet-friendly and had everything we needed. The bathroom had recently been refurbished with a spacious walk in shower and the beds were very comfortable. The owner provided a lovely welcome basket and lots of tips on what to see and do in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2018
thank you so much for lovely review.. it means a lot as we put so much effort to being different from other providers...more like a home to home...!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing