We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“White Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
View from top
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from top
view from lake with old boat Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
View from top
view from lake with old boat
Garden
Welcome basket
Details
Details
Details
Bathroom with walk in shower
Diner
Kitchen
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Kitchen/Diner
Diner/Kitchen
Kitchen/diner
Diner/Kitchen
Kitchen/diner
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Second Bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Internal corridor
Entrance Porch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
atkinsonh...
Wemyss Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
“White Cottage”
Reviewed February 15, 2018 for a stay in May 2017

Beautiful cottage with lovely decor and furnishings. Very comfortable and cosy. Fully equipped kitchen and very modern bathroom. Only downside is the coin operated electric meter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2018
many thanks for nice review ! our guests have always commented positively about the coin meter as it has made them much more alert and aware to go green ...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J1855ZMma...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Pet Friendly cottage in the Outer Hebrides”
Reviewed February 28, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This Beautiful cottage in Rodel on the Isle of Harris , is have a beautiful location few miles from the famous Scarista Beach and Luskintyre , you can walk from the property to St Clement's church the second oldest church in Scotland ( just 10 minuts door to door ) .
The Harris White Cottage is very nice and clean and warm we stay there in January , bathroom is fantastic , very comfortable bed ( 2 single on the back bedroom , and 2 single Bed in the main bedroom in the front but you can attach it so it make a big double bed ) the main bedroom in the front have a very nice view with a little waterfall in the front very nice .WI FI is very fast. Kitchen is full equipped with microwave fridge freezer etc...
Walter ( the owner ) make us very welcome with a very nice welcome basket and even Fritz ( My little dog ) felt like home with the enclose gardens all around the property . we definitely we will be back and stay in this cottage again I personaly very high recommended.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2017
many thanks for lovely review - look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future - have a lovely summer
Walter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stumpy737...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic cottage in an amazing location.”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We have just returned from 7 nights in this cottage and it is a wonderful place.

I believe we may of been the first to stay here this year but I'm only guessing this as we were the first to leave a review in the guest book.

We arrived on the morning ferry after a very long drive and we picked up a puncture on our van(more on this in a mo) the cottage was immaculate with a beautiful new bathroom with a lovely big shower.

The kitchen is well stocked with everything you need for your stay.

Two twin rooms that again were spotless.
We stayed in the front bedroom as this is the best view.

We did have a problem with the water heater in the kitchen but once it was reported to Walter the owner it was fixed with 2 hrs by Gordon the maintenance man and it was Gordon that recommended where I could get my puncture repaired at a small local garage 5 mins from the cottage.

With regards tho the coin meter in the kitchen
We spent £70 for the week on electric with all heaters turned down to number 2 , my wife and I showering daily and cooking daily and out most of the day seeing the island.
We only used the washing machine once(who washes on holiday right) so it is pretty expensive so I'm unsure how other guests have spent £25 a week but we were visiting in February.
This would be my only small minus point of cottage.
However the cost of booking the cottage is far far cheaper than others on the island.

All in all is is an amazing cottage and having spent many years visiting harris and Lewis I can tell you this is one of the best i have seen and great care is put into looking after this cottage.

We will definitely book this again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2017
Thank you so much for a great review.... you were in fact the fourth party staying this year but sadly not everyone leaves a review in our book ... we are really proud of our cottage and greatfull when guests appreciate the time and effort which is put in... look forward to hearing from you in the not too distant future...
have a lovely summer - Walter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nannastok...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect spot on Harris”
Reviewed January 26, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Lovely cottage in a quiet little spot south of the island. Great kitchen for cooking and cozy living room putting feet up. Cottage was so nice we wanted to stay an extra 2 nights and Walter was very accommodating. Will be back for sure. Thanks Walter!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2017
Joanna many thanks for lovely review - look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future - have a lovely summer
Walter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed October 27, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the White Cottage for 5 days in late October 2014. We suffered the remnants of a Gulf of Mexico Hurricane on the first 2 days which meant we were largely confined to the cottage. Many of the islands shops operate restricted opening hours out of season and none open on a sunday - it's essential to plan your meals accordingly.

Walter, the cottages owner, is very organised prior to your arrival and provides ample information beforehand about the cottage and local area.

The beautiful cottage is set in an idyllic location overlooking Rodel and Renish Point, with cows and sheep as neighbours. Fantastic views to wake up to. The bathroom is very modern with a waterfall shower. There are two twin bedrooms with electric heaters and ample storage. The lounge has fabulous views to the sea and seats 4 comfrtably on the chairs/sofa. There is a large electric fire in the lounge with TV + freeview, DVD player and iPod (old style connector) speakers, jigsaws and board games. The kitchen is again modern and fully equipped! Ceramic hob, fan voen and grill, washing machine, microwave, cork-screw(!) and plenty of crockery. The cottage owner had kindly laid-on a basket of local jams and biscuits for us.

From the cottage its an easy walk down to Renish Point and back (2 hours approx although the ground is marshy and often there's no clear path) and really really worth the views. The hill at the back of the cottage, Roineabhal (pronounced Roneval) can be climbed easily from near St Clements Church in 3-4 hours but needs walking boots and a map if you aren't familiar.

The drive from Tarbert to the cottage takes around 40 minutes via the main road, and around 1 hour if you take the Golden Road (not good if you easily suffer with car sickness).

Food: basics can be bought from the shop in Leverburgh (3 miles) or in Tarbert, but both are small shops. We stocked up at a good sized Co-op in Portree on Skye prior.
Fuel: obviously going to be more expensive so worth filling up on the mainland beforehand.
Electricity: the cottage has an electricity meter which requires £1 coins to work - make sure you bring enough. We used £25 or so for 2 people over 5 days in Autumn.

High recommended cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2017
Alex many thanks for lovely review - look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future - have a lovely summer
Walter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossendale
Reviewed May 27, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2017
Many many thanks for lovely review - look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future - have a lovely summer
Walter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chris M
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, beautiful location, however, the lack of adequate heating is a real issue.”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

When we arrived the cottage was very cold. There is a 3-bar electric heater in the lounge, and we had to keep this on for several days in the evenings (or whenever we were in) before the cottage started to feel warm. Likewise the bedrooms were cold. We wouldn't go back until it's fitted out properly with central heating.
If you're looking for a romantic break then I definitely wouldn't recommend this cottage because it only has single beds (although in fairness to the owner, he makes this clear beforehand).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The lack of adequate heating
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2016
We have successfully run cottage for 15 years with constant repeat clients - cottage is heated hours in advance to guests check in and radiators left on in each room. It is then up to each party to leave radiators on or switch off during their stay. I have to say even in bitter winters guests have never complained about lack of heating. Must be a one off guest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing