We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, great views.”
Review of Seaforth

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Harris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaforth
Ranked #15 of 23 Isle of Harris B&B and Inns
Loughborough
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hosts, great views.”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and really wish we could have stayed longer. I can only echo the previous reviews regarding Miranda and Angus - two very friendly and knowledgeable people who make you feel very much at home as soon as you arrive and throughout your stay. The views of Loch Seaforth and the surrounding hills are magnificent and the croft's location is also very good for wildlife viewing. The room is spacious and very well appointed and the breakfasts excellent and we would not hesitate to return for another visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rattyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My husband and I spent a night at Seaforth during our holiday in the Isles and although we had fantastic stays in B and Bs everywhere, we would have to rate this as our favourite stop. Why? Our hosts Miranda and Angus are just fantastic people and we had the best night's 'craic' with a bottle of McCallans - we haven't laughed as much in ages. The breakfast was superb and the views magnificent. The dogs and cats were lovely animals and we learned a great deal about crofting. Thanks Miranda and Angus - hope to see you again soon!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This wonderfull B&B gives you a very warm wellcome. The en-suite Room is very nice and it is very fine to have time to sit in the wintergarden and have a talk with Miranda & Angus.
The Breakfast ist the best in Scotland I think. It is a place to come back again and again and again. Thanks to Miranda and Angus.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deeptoneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudersberg, Deutschland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We had a lovely stay here - warm welcome and great hospitality! The B&B offers only one double bedroom with en-suite bathroom, which is fantastic if you like to build up a "real" relationship to your hosts. The house - beautifully located in the North Harris hills, on the edge of Loch Seaforth - offers a lot of amenities, such as a pretty conservatory, free WiFi and a lovely furnished bedroom. Miranda offered a wide range of breakfast meals, but unfortunately we are not used to have a savoury breakfast in the morning. Although we just ate toast with jam / honey or scrambled eggs we were surprized by the big choice of dishes. "Seaforth" is a great starting point for tours to South Harris and the Isle of Lewis. Make sure you fit in a boat trip with Hamish Taylor (Scenic Cruises), which is an experience of a lifetime. Wish we could have stayed longer, because there are also plenty of nice walks which are waiting to be explored. It was an unforgettable stay for us and we would heartily recommend “Seaforth” B&B to anyone looking for a comfortable and welcoming stay on the Isle of Harris. Thank you, dear Miranda & Angus, for this great experience! We’ll definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank exilschotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed here in June as part of our Outer Hebridean Hopscotch holiday.
I must admit we were a little worried when we turned up in the rain to find a windswept Miranda outside in the garden in her raincoat holding two empty bottles of beer in her hands!! It was when she explained that they had been filled with milk to feed her two orphaned pet lambs that we felt much better.
This B&B is a real find. It's a small re-furbished Crofter's cottage with just one double en-suite room to let which was both spotless and tastefully decorated. Infact, the whole house was beautifully decorated especially the conservatory where we ate breakfast and sat in the evenings watching the sun go down over Loch Seaforth chatting to Miranda and Angus about their daily lives on the Croft.
Breakfast was both plentiful and beautifully cooked and Miranda most helpful suggesting places to go and to eat out. The situation is perfect for travelling around Harris and Lewis.
Can't wait to return to what was a real highlight of our holiday. We left feeling refreshed and rested.

Room Tip: There is only one room and it's the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Harris
6.9 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
496 reviews
20.6 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
323 reviews
20.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
283 reviews
20.2 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
297 reviews
16.3 mi away
Uig Lodge
Uig Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timsgarry
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaforth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaforth

Property: Seaforth
Address: Ardvourlie, HS3 3AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Harris
Also Known As:
Seaforth Isle Of Harris, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing