We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great host”
Review of Cnoc-na-Uamha

Cnoc-na-Uamha
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Harris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cnoc-na-Uamha
Ranked #17 of 23 Isle of Harris B&B and Inns
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great host”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Had a wonderful stay with Annie the last week in May. A fabulous welcome to settle us in and great hospitality there after. We had a small apartment to ourselves which would be great for family. A place to definitely return to.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Annie is a wonderful host. She met us as we dithered outside her gate, swept us in, sorted us out with a lovely, cosy room and packed us off out for a day of wandering to the lighthouse, exploring Harris and gazing at acres of golden beaches. A very friendly, funny, wise lady who delights in having guests and in making us feel welcome. My goodness - the breakfasts certainly set you up for the day! It was great to have fresh fruit and everything was delicious. It was Annie who suggested we eat at North Harbour Bistro and made the arrangement for us. She clearly loves her islands and wants her visitors to feel the same. We really, really want to go back.

Room Tip: There are two rooms, a twin and a double. The double is downstairs and is more of a suite, with a sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spean Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

my partner Alan and myself had a night with Annie and Donald two great hosts , just wish we could have stayed longer the shared their local knowledge about walks and things to do ,their B&B was comfy and spotless and breakie was superb
thanks again Annie and Donald hope to be back

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My third visit to Annie and superb as always. Each stay has been with different family members and Annie's welcome has always been exceptionally warm and friendly. Staying at her B&B is now an essential element in any stay on Lewis and Harris for us. We will return, many times. Cnoc na Uamha is just two minutes walk from the best (in our opinion) place to eat on Harris; ie the Scalpay Cafe/bistro in the centre of the village. It is also under fifteen minutes delightful drive time from Tarbert, thus well worth it. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Errol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I have just spent an amazing week on Harris staying at this B&B. As the other reviews indicate, Annie is an amazing host - she is so warm and welcoming, and looks after you really well during your stay. The whole place is spotlessly clean, the bedrooms are cosy and inviting with very comfy beds. Sleep quality is great as the island is really quiet at night. The location is convenient for Tarbet (just 15 mins away), and the breakfasts are absolutely delicious. I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: The downstairs room is great if you have a family as its really more of a suite with a double bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saas-Grund, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Most appropriate description of our stay here would certainly be: homely. Annie is looking after you so well, you almost feel like being at your grandma’s (absolutely no offence!). The bedrooms are not modern, but clean, somehow quirky and above all cosy, also due to Annie’s passion for sewing. The rooms might not be the biggest, but you can always use the lounge if you’re not out all day anyway on these islands. Due to its position on the far eastern end of Harris, this is truly a quiet and peaceful spot, but not as far from Stornoway as you might reckon. Breakfast is served in the kitchen and cooked in front of you (again, very homely indeed), Annie is a good entertainer and can’t deny her hospitality trade background.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Recently stayed for 2 nights while my daughter 'wild camped'. A lovely stay. Around 6 miles out of Tarbert - a nice drive - on the Isle of Scalpay (via a bridge). Annie is a wonderful host - nothing is too much trouble. Lovely spotless room and bathroom. Super breakfast. I can't think of a down side. Next time I'm on Harris, Cnoc-na-Uamha will certainly be my first choice of B&B. I don't think you could find a better B&B than this. Thank you Annie.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Harris
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
477 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#8 of 11 in Isle of Harris
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ceol na Mara Guest House
0.0 mi away
Borve Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Cnoc-na-Uamha

Property: Cnoc-na-Uamha
Address: Scalpay, HS4 3XU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Harris
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cnoc-Na-Uamha Isle Of Harris, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing