We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tetherstone Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$200
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Stornoway)
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$143
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caladh Inn(Stornoway)
$139
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harris Hotel(Tarbert)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ardhasaig House(Ardhasaig)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Stornoway)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveler rating
50
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarabella and davidprivate bathroomwarm and friendly hostsyogurtbreakfasts were excellentporridgeenjoyed our staybeachesscotlandlinens
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 51 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

What a fab B&B, the decor is lovely and the house it is absolutely spotless. David and Arabella are a lovely friendly couple and who both bend over backwards to help you. The breakfast was very yummy, especially the homemade bread. The location is great as you are right next to all the big Harris beaches. I couldn't find any fault with this B&B and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlieclarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Pros:
- Great location, right next to one of the most beautiful beaches on Harris, very close to the Ferry to St Kilda, to the main restaurant on the South of the Island (the Anchorage), etc. You could hardly be in a better spot on Harris.
- Lovely rooms.
- David and Arabella are fantastic hosts and make you feel at home. I was travelling by myself and they made me feel like an old friend who was staying over.

Cons:
- I did wonder if it would be possible to rearrange the doors and walls upstairs so I didn't have to get out of the room to get to my bathroom (although the doors are literally adjacent). There were strangers staying in the other room and I did not feel comfortable moving around naked.
- This stay brought to life for me the difference between a B&B and a guest house. This is the latter, i.e. this is not a small hotel with no restaurant. You are literally staying in somebody's house. It is pleasant, relaxing, and very friendly but they have no license, no bar, no ample guest-dedicated common parts. As long as one's expectations are set, this will be a feature and not a con. To be clear, all accomodations on Harris are of this type, except Scarista House.

On the whole, this is a gem of guest house in a fantastic location; run by lovely, knowledgeable people. I recommend it to everyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edtealdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Had a fabulous stay at Tetherstone B & B. The owners, Arabella and David, couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. The location is absolutely stunning. The rooms are very beautifully decorated, with every need catered for, and very comfortable beds. The breakfasts are really delicious with a varied menu including full Scottish or healthy, delicious fruit salad and muesli. Excellent warm showers and heating. Many beautiful walks straight from the property and a really good local cafe for delicious lunches. A very fair rate and worth every penny. Would certainly recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XXXTerriXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Fantastic B & B, in a beautiful position with wonderful views in all directions. The rooms are wonderful, beds comfortable and the breakfasts outstanding - including wonderful home made bread, fruit salads, yogurt, stornaway black pudding ........ David and Arabella are wonderful hosts whose local knowledge helped us to make the most of our stay. Cant recommend Tetherstone too highly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

As a writer and photographer who does a fair amount of travelling around Scotland, I stay in many b&b's but this one is in another league altogether and is quite the nicest I have yet encountered. Everything about it is superlative. The owners, Arabella and David are just right: they are kind and helpful, informative and above all extremely welcoming. The accommodation is the cleanest and most comfortable you could find anywhere, their taste is impeccable, their freshly prepared food just perfect, and the location is wonderful. Adjacent to one of the world's finest beaches, on one side, and a lovely smaller beach on the other, you can get up in the morning and find yourself the ultimate peace. Northton is a charming Harris village and this is the very best place to stay.

Room Tip: Either room is superb
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PollyScotlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews