We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wished we never left”
Review of Tigh an Eilein

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Harris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tigh an Eilein
Ranked #8 of 23 Isle of Harris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We wished we never left”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We really wished we never left this wonderful B&B and the lovely Isle of Harris.
Christina and Harvey were lovely hosts. Once we settled into their lovely home, they were concerned about whether we have place to go for dinner. Harvey even called ahead to make reservations at the Anchorage Resturant for us.

Harvey also gave us ideas as to where to go in Harris and Lewis (Luskentyre is somewhere you must go!). Their breakfast was lovely! Christina was busy cooking for us when we woke up. It smelled heavenly! While Harvey did a wonderful job making our hot chocolate! We had a lovely chat with the both of them, understanding Christina's family history, looking at their photos...

The room was comfortable and the shower pressure was one of the best!

It was a pity that we could only stayed for one night. We would really wish to come back and spend alot more time with Christina and Harvey!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumndew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
56
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This lovely B&B in the Isle of Harris was such a great surprise. The hosts, Christina and Harvey, were so welcoming when we got there... It was like visiting relatives.
The breakfast was really good and the room was wonderful. The hosts shared many stories, as Christinas family are from Harris. We felt like we truly got to know the history of Harris. After breakfast we took Christina and Harveys advise on what to see in Harris and we were nt disappointed. What a incredible place!
Me and my husband plan to go back and stay a bit longer, next time!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

A nice and clean B & B right on the coast with a very warm and friendly owners. In order to even catch the ferry in the morning they made us extra early breakfast. Too bad that we could stay there for as short, would have liked to spend more there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

What more can I add to all the other glowing reviews. Christina and Harvey are the kindest nicest people you can meet. One of the best B&Bs I have ever stayed in. The view is amazing so relaxing looking out across the bay to Skye and we saw an otter and a seal whilst there for two days. We not only heard a Cuckoo we also saw it. The place is so clean and the room is fantastic, spacious and well the shower I could have stayed in there all day, the most powerful ever. Breakfast is a joy and the view across the sea finishes it off. Our chats where most entertaining with Christina and Harvey. They helped with great directions and also a great recommendation for dinner at the Anchorage in Leverborough. The weather also made our holiday we even got in the sea over on the West Coast and on Harveys say we visited Luskentyre amazing thank you. Don't change a thing its perfect we will back if you will have us.
We want to thank you for one of the best holidays we have had in our 27 years together.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mepbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Wonderful B&B on the Isle of Harris in stunning scenery! The rooms are very nice and comfy, breakfast was wonderful, the views are beautiful... in the morning when we were still asleep, a seal apparently came into the bay just below the house, and while we were at breakfast, a golden eagle passed over the house, so it's a great place to watch wildlife too! Christina & Harvey were wonderful and gave us so many recommendations of places to go. They also immediately made sure we would get a table for dinner, when we hadn't booked anywhere yet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyArctica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Gorgeous B and B with lovely views looking over to Skye. Christina's breakfasts were beautiful and Harvey's waitering skills and knowledge of the island made for a fantastic trip! Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the Island.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthie102000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hosts, Christina and Harvey, are the friendliest and most accomodating B and B owners we have ever met. It was a privilege to be able to share their beautiful home. Their knowledge of the local area was a great help and nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfasts were delicious, especially the marmalade..(thank you Harvey for the recipe). The room was comfortable with everything we needed, complete with amazing views over to Skye...perfect for watching the sunrise. We really didn't want to leave, but we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slops42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Harris
7.9 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
477 reviews
32.5 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
155 reviews
24.3 mi away
Uig Hotel
Uig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Uig
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Ceol na Mara Guest House
12.6 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#8 of 11 in Isle of Harris
48 reviews
39.7 mi away
Broad Bay House
Broad Bay House
#4 of 58 in Isle of Lewis
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh an Eilein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh an Eilein

Property: Tigh an Eilein
Address: 5A Flodabay, HS3 3HA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Harris
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Tigh An Eilein Isle Of Harris, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing