We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!”
Review of Avalon Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Harris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalon Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 23 Isle of Harris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed in this fantastic guesthouse for two nights this summer. The rooms are immaculate and extremely well furnished. We were greeted by a very friendly and obliging host arlene who made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was delicious, especially the homemade oatcakes, and served in the lounge with stunning views over the loch. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roseann82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    15
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
76
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Warm welcome, very friendly. Most rooms have wonderful sea view. Watched a sea eagle fly past while having breakfast, plus gannets diving in the sea loch. Very convenient for getting around Harris, and also close to Tarbert for shops and eating out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girvan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed for two nights. On arrival we were shown to our room and given some home baking to have with our cup of tea. Room was clean and well equipped. Had both bath and shower above the bath. Breakfast room has great views over the loch. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lamalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Just back from a two night stay at Avalon Guest House whilst on a week's tour of the Western Isles. Arrived in Tarbert off the ferry and Avalon was just a few minutes from the ferry terminal. We were greeted by the owner named Arlene who could not have been more friendly. She was full of knowledge of the island and gave us lots of recommendations of what to see. We were put in Room 2 which was a lovely room with gorgeous views over the loch. The room itself was a decent size and well equipped with all the mod cons - flat screen TV, docking station for an ipod, free WI-FI. The room and bathroom were perfectly clean and the bed was comfy. The breakfast was lovely. I could not fault a thing. I will definitely be back and would recommend Avalon to a friend.

Room Tip: Room 2 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank absaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

When I booked 5 nights at different locations as we toured the Western Isles I thought Avalon looked the best on paper. However, it was quite ordinary. No warm welcome, an OK room but nothing to really recommend it, but the breakfast was very good with a lovely view across the loch. Good parking facilities and a clean, comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Check if there is a room with a view over the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Lomond
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Avalon is only 5 minutes from Tarbert Ferry Terminal - really handy. The bungalow is nice and comfy and breakfast was fine. Great views out to west loch tarbert.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BertLochLomond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auvergne, France
Level Contributor
111 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Finding accomodation on Harris is not easy so I took the simple option and booked this ahead from the tourist office in Portree on Skye. What a good idea that was ! Right off the boat in Tarbert there's a sign showing the way to the Avalon, just a couple of minutes drive up the road to Stornoway. The house is right on the edge of West Loch Tarbert with a lovely view from the breakfast room. The welcome was warm, the house can't be faulted in any way, it's modern, impeccably clean and well equiped. There's room for off-road parking too. As for most B&B's on Harris, Avalon doesn't take credit cards and if you're travelling from abroad paying by check is not an option either so make sure you have enough cash before you get there, there's only one cash dispenser in Tarbert and it wasn't working during my stay which meant a trip all the way to Stornoway. Some shops do offer a 'cash-back' service when paying for your goods but you can't really ask for £100 cash after having bought just a bottle of milk !
The location of Avalon is ideal for visitng the north and Lewis or South Harris. Would I go back ? Definitely !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bussetboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Harris
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
462 reviews
24.6 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ceol na Mara Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#8 of 11 in Isle of Harris
43 reviews
32.1 mi away
Broad Bay House
Broad Bay House
#4 of 58 in Isle of Lewis
274 reviews
20.9 mi away
Uig Lodge
Uig Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timsgarry
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Guesthouse

Property: Avalon Guesthouse
Address: 12 West Side | West Tarbert, HS3 3BG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Harris
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Avalon Guesthouse Isle Of Harris, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing