We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, best rooms, best food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Harris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pairc an t-Srath Guest House
Ranked #8 of 23 Isle of Harris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best location, best rooms, best food”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I love the Isle of Harris and this B'n'B is in a great location looking out over the sea. Beautiful beaches are a short walk away and more challenging walks are a short drive. But for any advice on what to do and see the landlady is a fountain of knowledge, and with her husband, also a source of some of the best breakfasts I've ever had. The rooms are warm, comfortable, clean and modern - and feature a lot of Harris tweed of course. Also there is the option of having dinner here, which is a very good idea (although not cheap) due to the quality of the food and the fact that the Isle is rather short of places to eat out.
Can't think of anything negative to say! What a boring review.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
85
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pwick21
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very friendly owners who made us feel very welcome. Rooms were immaculate and location is stunning. Breakfasts were delicious with freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade bread, pancakes, oatcakes etc. Would stay here again when visiting the beautiful Isle of Harris.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pwick21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Pairc an t-srath is in a great location overlooking the Sound of Taransay and Borve beach. We stayed there 2 nights in the upstairs double overlooking the sea. A cosy room with a fantastic view but not as spacious as some places we stayed during our Hebridean holiday. The ensuite had a shower but if you like a bath there was a separate bathroom adjoining our bedroom which we made use of.

Pairc an t-srath are corporate members of the Isle of Harris Golf Club so if you are golfers (like us) you can play on this fun 9 hole course for free – but not on Sundays!

Unfortunately Lena was unexpectedly away during our stay but we were well looked after by Richard and his team and made to feel very much at home. Breakfasts were substantial with a lot of choice. There was a lovely dining room with great views and a very comfortable guest lounge.

Dinner is offered and that is very convenient because there’s not a lot of choice in the area without driving to either Leverburgh or Tarbert (a 15/20 minute drive away). However we would agree with a previous reviewer who felt “the dinner option at £35 per head was over-priced for what was nicely cooked but not exceptional food” and with no choice unlike another b&b we stayed at on Harris. It was a quite a premium to pay for the convenience of having dinner without leaving our accommodation. We ate for less at restaurants like Loch Bay (Stein, Skye), Cafe Fish (Tobermory, Mull) and Digby Chick (Stornoway, Harris) where we enjoyed a ‘dining experience’ compared with good home cooking at Pairc an t-srath. Ok we didn’t have to take the dinner option but as well as the convenience factor, we had booked it in advance of our stay and we don’t like making cancellations at short notice. That apart Pairc an t-srath is a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: The upstairs double with a lovely sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TruckyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Very friendly and obliging hosts. Wonderful location and very well appointed bedroom, dining room and lounge. We had one tasty evening meal (£35 for 3 courses).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGMAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I could write pages on Pairc an t-Srath and the beautiful Island of Harris but the best thing to say is "Go and see for yourself!". Staying here was the highlight of our Western Isles trip with our American friends - the weather, the scenery, the beaches, the mountains, the sunsets, the people and this wonderful guest house with its stunning views in every direction. Richard and Lena are indeeed excellent hosts as so many reviewers have stated already. Nothing was too much trouble. The house is a guest house but it feels like home. Lena is a wonderful cook and breakfast each morning was superb - fresh grapefruit, fruit compote, yoghurt, kippers and poached eggs, as well as the usual cooked breakast; then home made bread, scones, pancakes, oatcakes, freshly squeezed orange juice, freshly brewed coffee in a cafetiere with its own Harris Tweed jacket'....there was just so much! We just couldn't manage the porridge but I bet that was good too! There were so many,many touches that make this place so special - a cafetiere in the bedroom to brew fresh coffee, a flask of fresh milk and home made shortbread, gorgeous Arran Aromatic toiletries, Harris Tweed cushions, curtains and throws....... I have stayed in many hotels and guest houses in the UK and abroad but Pairc an t-Srath has got to be up there with the best. It was a particular joy for me to be back in Harris after an absence of more than 20 years having spent all my childhood holidays there with my grandparents and to see how well tourism is done in Harris.
Moran taing, Richard and Lena!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was my favourite stay of our trip! The house is comfortable, well equiped, cozy, comfy bed, stunning views over the sea. A real home from home. Lena is a fantastic host- really helpful. We had booked to go to St Kilda and were scheduled to go on 8 June. Lena got up to cook us breakfast at 7am - well before the normal breakfast time. She made us packed lunches and hot coffee to take with us. Sadly we weren't able to set sail on the 8th (wind direction) and we tried again (successfully this time!) on the 9th. Lena again got up to make us a 7am breakfast and new packed lunches. We also had two delicious (and very large!) evening meals in the beautiful dining room with its sea views and relaxed in the comfy sitting room with coffee after dinner.
Breakfasts were large with an excellent choice. There is no choice (generally) for dinner but you can let Lena know in advance if there is anything you don't like and that will be excluded from the menu.
I loved all the Harris tweed in the rooms! There were beautiful sunsets out of our bedroom window over the sea.
I'd come back to Harris just to stay here again :)

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room at the front of the house which had stunning sunset views over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very luxurious accommodation with a couple who could not do enough for us. We would love to stay there again. Stunning views and and fantastic food beautifully cooked and presented.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Harris
8.1 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
495 reviews
39.2 mi away
Broad Bay House
Broad Bay House
#4 of 58 in Isle of Lewis
279 reviews
23.6 mi away
Uig Lodge
Uig Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timsgarry
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Tigh Na Bruaich
Tigh Na Bruaich
#2 of 3 in Balallan
7 reviews
8.1 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#8 of 11 in Isle of Harris
48 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ceol na Mara Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pairc an t-Srath Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pairc an t-Srath Guest House

Property: Pairc an t-Srath Guest House
Address: Borve | South Harris, HS3 3HT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Harris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the West coast of Harris, Pairc an t-Srath Guest House enjoys a magnificent location overlooking golden beaches, the sound of Taransay and on a clear day as far as the Island of St Kilda. Pairc an t-Srath Guest House is situated on a working croft and is an excellent and comfortable base from which to explore the Isle of Harris and the Outer Hebrides. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pairc An t-Srath Guest House Isle Of Harris, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing