We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dave and friends”
Review of The Ord Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ord Arms
Ranked #9 of 11 Muir of Ord B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were on a fishing holiday.
Staying at the Ord arms really made our holiday.The rooms were very clean and comfortable
The food was excellent ,the staff were so helpfull,Looking forward to staying next year

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 68 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

We didn't stay in the hotel but went for dinner on a sunday evening. Although parts of the hotel looked a little tired there was an obvious programme of improvements being carried out and the restaurant was comfortable and clean. The lady that served us was very well presented, very polite and very helpful. The menu catered for most tastes and when the food arrived we were very pleased with the servings (very big), the presentation and above all the taste. The ingredients were very good quality and the chef had made an excellent job of cooking everything. The prices were fair and overall very good value. We would have no hesitation in visiting again and recommended the Ord Arms to anyone. Worth a trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gael_Holiday_Homes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Went there for a one night stay on a Saturday night. Staff were very welcoming. Shown to a double ensuite room with a view of the back area.There is a railway line that runs along the back of the hotel, however the trains are very infrequent and its a local line so the trains themselves are quiet with only one carriage. No train activity at night. The room was a bit tired looking but very clean and bright. TV had freeview channels. 3 piece bathroom suite was perfectly clean and there was a shower over the bath. Plenty of hot water.

You can have dinner in the restaurant room or the private bar area. Menu had a great selection. Food reasonably priced but portions are huge and therefore good value. Both my starter of soup and main course of chicken, ham & leek pie were homemade. Breakfast was served in the same place as dinner and again the portions were big and all homemade. Omlettes made to order too.

We booked direct with the hotel having first seen the reviews and costs on both Trip Advisor and LateRooms. Offered the same rate as on Laterooms. Hotel has its own website. Its rating is 2 star but I would have said the standard of the rooms may be the only reason for this because the rest of the hotel was clean and tidy, staff were friendly and welcoming and the standard of the food was excellent. Certainly left like a 3 star establishment.

Surroundling countryside was beautiful. Wish we had more time to explore.

A great place for a short stay.

Room Tip: 8 rooms in total. 6 are ensuite, remaining 2 SHARE a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy7021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

When in the area was looking for a restuarant that we had not been to before. Discovered the leaflet in the B&B. As it was late in the evening was not sure what to expect, but we got great service from freindly staff as soon as we walked in. As they were closing shortly after we got there again not sure about the menu. Again the selection was all there, we ordered and for a surprise as the starters were great and we could not stop talking about them, the taste and the presentaion were super and the main meal again came to the same standard. Good food and good service is the one thing that I always look for on an evening out where ever we go. Cannot fault the Ord Arms Restuarant in any way and the cost of the meal was what was expected for the area, where we visit often, as it is a great part of the Country. We would certainly go back and take any of our friends

Room Tip: As did not stay at the Hotel on this visit cannot say about the rooms but always look for a 3 or 4 s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mack55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I stayed here for a couple of nights with my father and some friends as we was up for some shooting on an estate a couple of miles away, and may I say what a cracking place,we was greeted by a charming lady on reception who showed us to our rooms,the rooms were of a good size, warm and comfortable with plenty of hot water to be had for a welcome shower after our 620 mile drive from Kent, we went down to the bar for a drink to be greeted by a lovely open fire and friendly staff behind the bar and it didn't take long to strike up a good conversation with some very friendly locals with the help of a good dram on the way, we ate in the restaurant both nights and had cracking food including a good steak on the second night for each of us that was cooked to perfection, I hope to be back very soon. Thanks very to all the management and staff of the ord arms for such a lovely stay, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shotgun76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Cannot fault the Staff for their friendliness, however the Hotel itself requires totally refurbishing. The windows in the room which was on the first floor needed replacing, the whole room was very dated with red sheets on the, not very comfortable, bed, nothing matched and it all felt very uncared for. The outlook was to the side overlooking a flat roof and apart from the occasional passing train during the day it was very peaceful.
As we where there to visit family who had recently moved to the Muir of Ord we didn't use the restaurant, apart from breakfast which was good, they seemed willing to cater for any request and as they had a new filter coffee maker they seemed keen to have some feedback on this. We did however return one evening and decided on a drink, sadly the lounge bar had closed and as it was so very noisy in the public bar (it was a Friday night and it is also a local pub for the village) they suggested we took our drinks in to the residents lounge but as it was dead in there we finished our drinks and retired to our room. Next morning, as we checked out, we found the owner replacing a glass pane in the front door which had been smashed, it seems we missed the fun and games, thankfully.
The location is good, 20 minutes from Inverness and Loch Ness, it is easy to find and has good parking, also 5 minutes walk to the station with good rail links to Inverness, so if you are traveling in this very scenic part of the world the Ord Arms is worth considering.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enigma_IoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Secure bike storage, clean & comfortable bedrooms, good food, monster sized portions and all great value. Recommended for any passing cyclists.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muir of Ord
2.3 mi away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
350 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dower House
The Dower House
#1 of 1 in Muir of Ord
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lovat Arms Hotel
Lovat Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beauly
154 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mackay's Hotel
Mackay's Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
409 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ord House Hotel
Ord House Hotel
#4 of 11 in Muir of Ord
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ord Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ord Arms

Address: Great North Road, Muir of Ord IV6 7XR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Muir of Ord
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Muir of Ord
Price Range: $82 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ord Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ord Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ord Arms Muir Of Ord, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing