We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“4 days at muir of Ord”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Oaklea

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Muir of Ord, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

emmanuell...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 days at muir of Ord”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Hi

I travelled with my parents to Scotland and we stayed 4 days there. Not only the house is ideally situated to visit the highlands (we did lochness, fortrose, lochinver and portmahomack) but the house is just perfect! There is nothing to say if you are looking for quiet and comfort.

Elizabeth the owner is soo nice and accomodating. There is everything in the house all the kitchen gears, toiletery and beddings you need are there. (washing machine, extra heater, laundry detergeant, hair dryer, etc)

The house is perfectly cleaned with nice comfy carpet. The sheets are clean and the bed really comfortable.

There is a nice garden with a table if it's warm enough to dine outside, also there is a nice fountain in the garden.

If you want piece and quite during your holidays and a great spot to see the central to north highlands I really recommand this place (beauly is only a few minutes away by car and you will find great food shops there like the corner on the square or the veggy shop next door to it.)

I spend 2 weeks in Scotland and I can say it's the best place we stayed in :)

We had a great time thanks again Elizabeth :)

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden view, the bed as well as the location of the place itself :)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENNETH T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, clean, comfy and cosy!”
Reviewed October 25, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Liz's house suited us just perfectly. It has all you need for a short break. Everything works. Watching the birds in the pond was a nice bonus.

Date of stay: October 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
777Anna19...
Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A quiet and central place to view the Highlands.”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Liz is a lovely landlady who makes her guests welcome and sees to their needs! Muir of Ord is a small quiet town, and Oakley is great for both those using public transport, because it's right next to the bus stop and train station. There is also a well stocked coop for everyday groceries 10 minutes away from the bungalow. And for those that are mobile, who can reach more places by car and then return to rest in a most welcoming bungalow where you'll find everything you need. Oakley was not only spotless, but for a coeliac like me, it was good to find plastic chopping boards and metal/teflon utensils for cooking. The sound of trains is muffled and not annoying at all. We managed to see quite a lot by train, especially around Inverness, but also further afield to Dunrobin castle. I am glad I can recommend this sweet bungalow that was like a home away from home for us, my husband and our fourteen year old son! Thank you LIz and Gregor, I hope we'll see you again!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accomodation, the area, the price, the friendliness.
Liked least: Hard to tell.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryM242...
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home.”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a brilliant time at Oaklea. It was clean, comfortable and welcoming. The garden is also very beautiful. We where made very welcome by the owner Liz.

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnowGolem
Alcoy, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and nice cottage”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

My friends and me booked that accomodation for two days, and we felt like at home. Everything was clean and the kitchen had all the accesories to made a nice food, very complete. The beds were confortable, the house was warm... what else can we ask for?

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
237momo
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“absoulity wonderful”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

had lovely time at bungalow cannot fault it everything was there even left milk and shortbread, garden is a delight to relax watch Elizabeth.s fountain my grandaughters just loved it, and Elizabeth is a lovely lady very helpful and made us most welcome this is a + place as a base for highlands, or just to chill get bit peace quiet 11/10

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: its all good
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyLizFa...
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect centre for exploring east and west coasts”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

The cottage was quiet, clean, tidy and deceptively spacious; it has a lovely back garden for sitting out, and a well appointed kitchen. Muir of Ord is an unassuming little town with good local shops (we were intrigued by the mushroom shop!) Best of all, access to both east and west coasts is easy: a very good base from which to explore the far north of Scotland.
The owners are thoughtful, helpful and easy to talk to.

Date of stay: July 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.