We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, perfect hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Home Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 11 Muir of Ord B&B and Inns
Clausthal-Zellerfeld, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B, perfect hosts”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The best B&B I stayed in so far!
We arrived a bit late but felt very welcome by Sue and her husband.
The twin-room was spacious, comfy and had tasty cookies for tea :) The private bathroom was outside the room (which is OK because there is just another room on the same floor) and spacious as well with a nice view.
The breakfast was tasty and freshly cooked and you came to sit on a large table with the other guests which is always interesting.
Sue had a lot of tips (and a map) for our daytrips and they were all perfect. Thank you so much!
I would definitively go there again and bring more time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anakin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
64
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was our first trip to Scotland and thus the Home Farm. What a great way to start a holiday! Sue and Stewart are the perfect hosts - they make you feel so welcome and they are genuinely glad the you are staying at their home. The rooms are meticulously maintained and the meals are superb. Since we weren't familiar with the area, they both gave us all kinds of ideas of things to see and do in the area that met our needs. If I was going to visit the UK again, I would make a stop at the Home Farm on my list again. If you are reading this and wondering if you should stay there - do it! You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edbikeandski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayside
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I've stayed at least annually in the five years since I last wrote about Home Farm. "Go", as they say, "figure".

Other B&Bs are available locally, indeed I've stayed in two Sue recommended when her house was full, and jolly good they are too, but I keep going back to Home Farm because it's the best, spotless and efficient yet welcoming and relaxing.
And that garden, the birds, the open-handed sharing of information and advice....

The rooms are supremely comfortable and Sue's breakfasts the best I eat all year, a lovely selection, more than sufficient and featuring not only home-made jams but home-made bread. I'd not be surprised to find a cow and butter-churn next year.

I stay in Scottish B&Bs several times a year, the vast majority good or very good, but Home Farm's not just my favourite, it's an exemplar, it's how B&Bs should be, an asset to its locality. When my partner and I open our own B&B Home Farm will be the model.

Room Tip: I've stayed in them all. Most people will prefer the one with the en-suite but the others still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawkeye4472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We chose this property from tripadvisor based on its location and the reviews and were not disappointed. As others had noted we received a warm welcome although arriving well after the check in time. Breakfast is served at a communal table which allowed us to enjoy the company of other visitors from around the world. For a German couple this was the most recent of a number of visits. The room was beautifully furnished and comfortable as was the ensuite although the latter was on the small size it was more than adequate. Stuart and Sue were the perfect hosts. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebandRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeFarmBandB, Owner at Home Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you so much for this review of Home Farm B&B. we are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. It was really nice to look after you and would like to say how we enjoyed meeting and talking with you. Best wishes Sue and Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I visited through working in the area on 24.04.14 and Sue made us feel very welcome and directed us to a terrific restaurant that evening.

The room was lovely, comfortable and spacious, as was the bathroom. The house was spotless and the breakfast was great. A number of lounges are available to rest up In during he evening and a number if maps, books and leaflets to help plan your day (if you aren't there on business). There were bats flying around at dusk in their lovely garden and number of birds too.

If we have further work in the area we will certainly return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Redrage_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotty017, Owner at Home Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear James

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

Sue and Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed for one night at Easter weekend. Very homely, friendly atmosphere, excellent hospitality. So peaceful garden. Delicious breakfast. Sue and Stuart are so wonderful people with so warm greeting
Alla and Mike

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeFarmBandB, Owner at Home Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Alla and Mike
What lovely comments, thank you for taking the time to write them. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will be able to visit us again.
Best wishes Sue and Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

After being in Scotland for only our second day, we had ended a long driving day at Sue and Stuarts welcoming home! Our only regret was not booking it a week earlier to know that dinner could have been provided to us for the evening. Our lost since our first experience of a full Scottish breakfast was more than fantastic. So much fun and Sue made sure that everything was perfect. She provided excellent directions to us for our trip the next day up to the Highlands.
We have more family coming to Scotland and would not hesitate to book again to let them enjoy this special Scotland Bed & Breakfast . Thank you Sue and Stuart for your wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeFarmBandB, Owner at Home Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Elaina
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review of Home Farm B&B. it was an absolute pleasure to look after you and we look forward to your next visit. It is always fun to have guests that have not stayed in B&B before. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Best wishes Sue and Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muir of Ord
3.3 mi away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
337 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Dower House
The Dower House
#1 of 1 in Muir of Ord
32 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
736 reviews
4.8 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
792 reviews
9.0 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Home Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: Highfield Mains, Muir of Ord IV6 7XN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Muir of Ord
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Muir of Ord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Home Farm Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home Farm is a comfortable, welcoming home in a quiet rural location. Situated on the Black Isle in over an acre of garden, with unobstructed views to the surrounding hills. Ideally situated for touring the Highlands, including Glen Affric, Loch Ness and Inverness. 12.5 miles NW of Inverness. Rated 4 stars by the Scottish Tourist Board. Evening meals served by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Home Farm Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Farm Bed & Breakfast Muir Of Ord, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing