We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We recommend a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Home Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 11 Muir of Ord B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 28, 2011

A great welcome from Sue and Stuart to their comfortable spacious home in a qiiet location outside of Muir of Ord. Very detailed instuctions are provided to find Home Farm.
The delicious evening meal was carefully planned to our requirerments before our arrival.
We enjoyed a very entertaining time with the other guests and our hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithskent32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 110 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2011

Sue and Stuart went above and beyond our expectations with everything they did for us during our stay. They truly made my 13-year old daughter and I feel so welcomed and spoiled. The twin room and private bathroom were large, comfortable and had wonderful views of the gardens and the fields beyond! We stayed in 5 B&Bs in Scotland, and HomeFarm was THE BEST!

Sue is a wonderful cook! and a superb hostess! The dining overlooking the garden and the many birdfeeders was truly lovely. Some pheasants even gave us a show one morning. We opted for dinner on two of our three nights and were VERY very happy. langostines and steak. Delicious! Fresh veggies and fruits from their garden, and the best sausage at breakfast. and Sue---i am still thinking of your white chocolate cardamom mouse--mmmmmmmm! ;)

Couldn't reccommend Home Farm more highly--as soon as we get back to Scotland--we are making reservations to stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Our fourth stay and already planning our next one. Home Farm is a fantastic place to stay. The accomodation is excellent. The house and gardens are lovely - amazing bird life. Breakfast and dinner superb. Sue and Stuart and so welcoming. Highly recommended. If you are in this area you must stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueMac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

This B&B run by Sue and Stewart was a cut above your average B&B. We checked in one evening on the advice of a friend.
First class for friendliness, food and comfort. We had our evening meal here two evenings and the food was superb with a complimentary glass of wine that went down a treat!
Sue also catered for my dietary problem and had soya milk to hand, without prior notice.
We relaxed after dinner in the conservatory and watched the variety of birds feeding in the lovely garden.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayoartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Sue and Stewart were superb hosts throughout our stay.

We were warmly welcomed and offered tea and flapjacks in the guest lounge.

The evening meal was delicious and we would definitely reccommend it.
The breakfast was also tasty and set us up perfectly for the day.

Would absolutely stay again

Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adorey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Every time I right a review about this fab place it means i have to find new words that beat the previous review.
When a place is so good the word excellent seems insufficient.
Firstly the welcome on arrival is as though you are a member of the family, its not the welcoming drink that does it, it is the way it is given, difficult to understand just be there and see.
secondly the room always and i mean always looks immaculate.
The meal we have on arrival is absolutely brilliant and timely and so caringly presented.
Finally we are going back to Home Farm later this year but fear that any review i make will make me have to find new words to express my absolute joy in returning to our second family.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicesterBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

The place is a little bit hard to find but they helped me find them. Last minute booking is not a problem for them and they are more than welcoming. the breakfast wes delicious and the room and bathroom very comfy and charming. When I come back to Scotland and need a place to stay to visit the Highland, the Loch Ness or the Aberdeenshire I will come back here. Very safe for a woman travelling alone.

Room Tip: Diner menu can be arranged with them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siertelenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muir of Ord hotels
0 mi away
The Dower House
The Dower House
#1 of 1 in Muir of Ord
33 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ord Arms
The Ord Arms
#8 of 11 in Muir of Ord
68 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ord House Hotel
Ord House Hotel
#4 of 11 in Muir of Ord
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Carndaisy House
Carndaisy House
#1 of 11 in Muir of Ord
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillview Park
Hillview Park
#3 of 11 in Muir of Ord
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: Highfield Mains, Muir of Ord IV6 7XN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Muir of Ord
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Muir of Ord
Price Range: $138 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Home Farm Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home Farm is a comfortable, welcoming home in a quiet rural location. Situated on the Black Isle in over an acre of garden, with unobstructed views to the surrounding hills. Ideally situated for touring the Highlands, including Glen Affric, Loch Ness and Inverness. 12.5 miles NW of Inverness. Rated 4 stars by the Scottish Tourist Board. Evening meals served by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Home Farm Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Farm Bed & Breakfast Muir Of Ord, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing