We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of heaven”
Review of Point Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Point Cottage B&B
Ranked #8 of 45 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We loved this place! Cathy was warm, welcoming and helpful. It is perfectly situated right on Loch Broom. We loved eating the delicious homemade breakfast in our room. Freshly baked brioche! Homemade jam! All this while looking at a beautiful view of the sky, mountains and water. Ullapool is a very laid back place and we thoroughly enjoyed our two days there. Staying at Point Cottage added so much to our enjoyment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odsyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointCottage, Owner at Point Cottage B&B, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanks for your kind review. I'm delighted what we offer here at Point Cottage suited you so well and enhanced your holiday experience. It was great to meet you both and I hope the rest of your trip went off well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
120
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vallendar, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This accomodation is highly recommendet. It was a great pleasure staying here. Everything was really nice - we enjoyed it very much. Especially Muffins and Brioche are excellent and homemade!
We will come back - for sure!!,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointCottage, Owner at Point Cottage B&B, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Thanks for taking the time to post a review. It was great to meet you both and we'll look forward to hopefully seeing you here again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was my second stay in Point Cottage and this time under new owners. I stayed in the same twin room overlooking Loch Broom and once again was impressed by the stunning view overlooking the water and mountains beyond. This must be one of the best located B&B's in Scotland. The room was tastefully decorated with new table at the window for eating the excellent breakfast which certainly filled me up as much as any cooked breakfast--and much healthier!
Cathy has worked hard to raise the standard of an already excellent B&B and added all sorts of additional touches such as fabulous photographs by a local photographer and cut flowers in the bedrooms. The fresh contemporary feel compliments the authentic character of the original fisherman's cottage and I have no hesitation in recommending Point Cottage.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointCottage, Owner at Point Cottage B&B, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you liked the changes we've made, particularly the continental breakfast taken in the room. Hope to see you up here again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2014

A fantastic stay at this lovely B&B, made very welcome by Cathy.. Great location with views of the Loch. Continental breakfast served in room, as travelling alone would have preferred to eat in a dining room with a bit of company, however still very enjoyable. Hoping to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointCottage, Owner at Point Cottage B&B, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanks, John, for your very kind review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to meet and chat with you and we hope to see you up here again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I just have to add one more rave review about how wonderful the Point Cottage is. The rooms are simply lovely with touches we haven't found anywhere else in our 2 week trip through the West Highlands -- fresh flowers, lovely views, modern and fresh decor, super comfy bedding. Not to mention the superb breakfast with homemade brioche and rolls (delivered warm to your door), fresh fruit and juice, and homemade jams and muesli. It just doesn't get better than this. Kathy is helpful and welcoming and we will definitely be back again for a longer stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank interestedobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointCottage, Owner at Point Cottage B&B, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thanks so much for your review. It was wonderful to meet you all and hear about your trip. I'm really delighted your enjoyed your stay here at Point Cottage so much. Hope to see you back again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

A lovely warm welcome from Cathy marked the start of this memorable stay at Point Cottage. The furnishings are superb and the home made warm rolls and brioche together with home made jams made a most memorable breakfast. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RogerA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointCottage, Owner at Point Cottage B&B, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We're really grateful for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We only stayed at Point Cottage for one night but REALLY loved the place! The house is located directly at the waterfront just a few feet away from shops, restaurants and a place to watch a beautiful sunset over the water. Parking right in front of the house is vey convenient.

The rooms were extremely comfy and bright, the bed super comfy. Breakfast is continental and ready in a little fridge in your room. Fresh fruit salad and still warm rolls etc. arrive in the morning (absolutely LOVED the yummie breakfast muffins!!).

Should we ever return to this part of the world we will make sure to stay a Point Cottage again. Until then we can only recommend everyone else coming to Ullapool to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kati K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PointCottage, Owner at Point Cottage B&B, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We do everything we can to make sure our guests' time with us is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, so I'm glad it worked out that way for you. Thanks for the positive feedback about the breakfasts - it's really appreciated. Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.1 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Creagan Guest House Ullapool
0.5 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#2 of 4 in Garve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Arch Inn
The Arch Inn
#10 of 45 in Ullapool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Cottage B&B

Property: Point Cottage B&B
Address: 22 West Shore Street, Ullapool IV26 2UR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Point Cottage we offer a warm welcome at the loch's edge, surrounded by a stunning mountain landscape. A family-owned and run establishment, our rooms are cosy and comfortable with en-suite toilet/shower, TV, WiFi and lovely views. A quality continental breakfast is taken at your leisure in your room, with an emphasis on home-baking and local produce. An ideal base for touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Point Cottage B&B Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing