We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it.”
Review of Point Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Point Cottage B&B
Ranked #9 of 46 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is our second stay at Point Cottage. We usually stay if we are catching early morning ferry.
Perfect location. Lovely comfortable room. We stayed in Beinn Dearg. (photo's on their own website don't do it justice, Isn't so dated looking in real life)
Hannah a great cook and a great hostess. Love the addition of filter coffee to bedroom welcome trays. Thank You.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slimsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 182 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here 1 night on way home from the Outer Hebrides. Chose Point Cottage because of the reviews and we were not disappointed. Really lovely B&B - clean rooms and comfortable bed. Appreciate the extra touches of nice soap and shower gel and a cafetiere and shortbread on the hospitality tray. We had a great view over the harbour and went to the Arch for tea - recommended by Hannah and that was very nice too. Plenty of other places to eat in Ullapool if staying more than 1 night. Breakfast - full scottish was absolutely lovely and very tasty and we just wished we had stayed another night to try the pancakes!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Point Cottage. It was lovely and our hostess Hannah was great. The bedroom was immaculate and very clean.The outlook from the bedroom window was right accross the harbour and we could watch the ferries coming and going and the herons flying in of a morning. But it was the little extras that also made the stay enjoyable like the tubes of moisturiser. Breakfast was delicious.Cant say that I could fault our stay in any way. When it was wet Hannah was very helpful with places and things to do. Altogether a very good experience and I would recommend Point Cottage as the place to stay in Ullapool.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzie1jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We spent 2 very comfortable nights at Point Cottage during our recent trip to N/west Scotland. The bedroom was very clean and cosy but a little cramped. Hannah is a very pleasant and helpful host and serves up a great breakfast, and the location is great for everything that tourists go to Ullapool for.

Room Tip: All rooms have a 'sea view', either up or down the loch, but I think the front ones are prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This bb is fantastic value. The location is tops with a fantastic view of the loch, convenient to all the goings on in town. Ullapool was very lively when we arrived Friday night. We had a very good seafood meal at a restaurant reccommended by Hannah. The room was immaculate, wifi excellent and breakfast fish was great. Hannah helped us in every way she could. Great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yeen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We loved our stay in Point Cottage. The location is wonderful, we actually spotted some seals right in front of the house on the day of our arrival! The room was very clean and pretty. The host was very friendly and willing to answer all our questions during the 4 days stay. We wanted to stay even longer, because Ullapool and the region has so much to see. The only downside of the town is that in August the restaurants are so popular that you have to wait for up to 45 minutes for a table, which is not easy when you are returning from a long day of hiking... We compensated this at breakfast time and enjoyed very much the lovely blueberry pancakes at the Cottage!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuula387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This B & B is a little gem and the situation overlooking Loch Broom stunning. The welcome we received was outstanding and the helpful recommendations for entertainment and evening meal very useful. The bedroom was extremely comfortable, decorated to a very high standard and the ensuite superb. Breakfast was well cooked with wonderful local ingredients and we considered this B & B excellent value for money. This is a very small B & B so book early to avoid disappointment. I would recommend this establishment without reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
257 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Creagan Guest House Ullapool
0.1 mi away
The Arch Inn
The Arch Inn
#7 of 46 in Ullapool
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Cottage B&B

Address: 22 West Shore Street, Ullapool IV26 2UR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Price Range: $61 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Point Cottage we offer a warm welcome at the loch's edge, surrounded by a stunning mountain landscape. A family-owned and run establishment, our rooms are cosy and comfortable with en-suite toilet/shower, TV, WiFi and lovely views. A quality continental breakfast is taken at your leisure in your room, with an emphasis on home-baking and local produce. An ideal base for touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Point Cottage B&B Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing