We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ardmair Bay House

Ardmair Bay House, Ardmair, Ullapool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ardmair Bay House, Ardmair, Ullapool
A luxurious Five Star Retreat peacefully nestled in the rocky hillside in Ardmair Bay The ideal escape to the Highlands
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Ardmair Bay House, Ardmair, Ullapool
A luxurious Five Star Retreat peacefully nestled in the rocky hillside in Ardmair Bay
The ideal escape to the Highlands
Admire the spectacular views looking cross Ben Mor Coigach and the Isle of Martin
Cosy nights at Ardmair Bay House
Fully Equipped Modern Kitchen
Star gaze while relaxing in the Hot Tub
'Aerial views over Ardmair Bay'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Hogglewoo...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Ardmair Bay House was simply perfect. A brightly lit, modern, warm and tastefully decorated holiday home, that more than fulfilled our expectations. The owner Alison was incredibly helpful, friendly and efficient. I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2016
Thank you for a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed the house.
Alison & Alistair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate - just book it, you won't regret it.”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A fantastic property in a great location. Everything about the property, facilities, fixtures and fittings and welcome pack exude quality.
Very spacious accommodation with a well thought out layout.
We've stayed in many good quality holiday homes and this overall is certainly the top of the list.
The only negative I would have is the condition of the shared driveway, you need to take it steady to avoid pot holes, etc. But in a strange way this almost adds to the remoteness of the property and holiday experience.
Just book it - you won't be disappointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2016
Hi Stephen, thank you for a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed yo ur stay. Many thanks for the feedback about the shared drive way, we are having it repaired in the next few weeks.
Alison & Alistair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neillbrid...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Ardmair Bay House”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Ardmair Bay House is set in a stunning location overlooking Ardmair Bay. The house is beautifully fitted out. Will certainly be looking to return in the near future. Excellent location for fishing and walking (especially the Coigach and Assynt mountains). Had a great trip on rib boat out tot he Summer Isles - saw seals, birds etc. Greta holiday enjoyed by all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fabulous views and wonderful accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2016
Hi Neill
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your holiday. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Alison & Alistair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace T
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique and wonderful house/ location!”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The website pictures led us to believe that Ardmair Bay House was everything we were hoping for. The truth is that our vacation was so much better than what we had expected because of the house and its unique location.
The house offers generous accommodation for eight people and plenty of space to spend time together or apart. The main reason is that the spacious kitchen, living room and game room are all separated from each other giving the possibility for one to find any peace and quite when necessary. The house is very luxurious with bathrobes and slippers available for each guest while in the kitchen there is an entire service of Highland Stoneware pottery. What we all rated highly was the quality of the beds: top mattresses and very soft cotton bedsheets. The views over the Ardmair Bay are to die for no matter which time of the day, but especially stunning at sunrise and sunset. The hot tub was used most days come rain or shine!
The house is ideally located for 1-day excursions in the area (Applecross, Torridon, Inverewe Gardens, Gairloch beaches, Lochinver, the Old Man of Stoer, Drumbeg and its rugged coast, the Summer Isles, the Rogie Falls and its salmon ladders, and many more. More locally, Knockan Crag is really worth a visit and a walk around as well as the Rhue Art Gallery. Based in Ullapool, the Seascape Expedition company offers amazing trips for close encounters with seals and seabirds. Slightly further South, the Corriesshalloch Gorge is not for the faint hearted.
Food wise, with prior booking, the local fisherman (phone number available in the house) is more than happy to bring you bags of fresh langoustines (some of them still alive) and squat lobster tails (a.k.a ‘spinies' locally) with their very delicate and sweet taste. A real gem in the area is the Seafood Shack in Ullapool with some exquisite but simple dishes: Tempura Haddock Wrap with Salad, Lemon Mayo and Pesto; Cullen Skink; Spiney Popcorns; King Scallops on a bed of Couscous, to name but a few. You just cannot go wrong. The Walled Garden in Applecross, Peet’s restaurant and the Pie Shop in Lochinver are also really worth a stop.
Although the weather could have been better, the contrast of light, clouds and landscape made for unforgettable views and scenery which required many, many stops along the way (plan sufficient time for stops).
Our party of 7 hold vivid and unique memories of our 1 week stay at Ardmair Bay House. We recommend it very highly!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & luxury/ views from house
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2016
Hi Grace thank you a great review. I'm sure a lot of other guests will appreciate all the detail you have added with areas to visit. We are delighted that you all will hold vivid & unique memories of you week at Ardmair Bay House. I hope you had a safe trip back.
Alison & Alistair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PamelaEll...
Worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic House in a Beautiful Location”
Reviewed July 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this lovely house for a week from the 9th of July and we really loved it. The house is very modern and very big and equipped with everything you could need whilst on a self-catering holiday. On arrival we found it immaculately clean, kudos to whoever does that, and some lovely goodies including a bottle of wine, fresh flowers, local eggs and smoked salmon! There are other lovely touches as well including white fluffy robes and slippers and a stonking big hot tub outside overlooking the bay.

As the house was so luxurious and relaxing we did spend a lot of time there but every now and again we ventured out to view the jaw-dropping scenery in the area. It really is a lovely part of the UK.

I definitely would recommend Ardmair Bay House to anyone looking for holiday accommodation in the Ullapool area.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2016
H Pamela thank you for a great review. Delighted that you felt that Ardmair Bay House was very luxurious and relaxing. Hope you come back to enjoy more of the amazing scenery.
Alison & Alistair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed April 22, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: We did not use the Games room but I am sure many would
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2016
Hi Brian, thank you for your review. We are delighted you had a great holiday and chose Ardmair Bay House to celebrate a special birthday. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Alison & Alistair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 5, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2016
Hi Julie we are delighted that you felt that Ardmair Bay House has a five star hotel feel in a stunning location. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Alison & Alistair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing