We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth the visit”

Seaforth Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 20 Restaurants in Ullapool
Price range: $8 - $133
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Seaforth has long been the leading bar in Ullapool, a fishing village in the Highlands of Scotland. Overlooking the harbour, we offer locals and visitors the opportunity to relax, have a drink, snack or meal whilst taking in the atmosphere of our beautiful village. We have a large downstairs bar, a restaurant and function room upstairs, and upstairs terrace, sheltered patio, external smoking area and take away 'Chippy', all of which have won numerous awards for our food, hospitality and entertainment.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“well worth the visit”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Taken to this restaurant with the promise of lovely fish and chips.Oh how right they were- they were wonderful. Crispy batter and delicate soft fleshy haddock. The restaurant also has a good range of food which looked as good as ours.We found the restaurant to be warm and inviting with a friendly and helpful staff. We were lucky enough to eat in the upper dining room which has a fabulous view over the harbour. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rexey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    439
    221
    119
    117
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice and fresh”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We came in on a cold snowy day and had fish and chips and the special which was roast beef stovies. The stovies also had gravy in them which gave lovely flavour. The batter on the fish was nice and crispy and thin and the fish tasted so fresh. Would go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Littlebigfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Warm and very welcoming”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Went in here for lunch on a very cold Sunday. Inside it was warm and very welcoming with a real fire and overhead heaters. Staff very pleasant and helpfull. We both had fish & chips, which were lovely but a bit pricey at £11.50 each. Big portions and cooked to perfection. The place was busy with Sunday Carvery which also looked good. We have eaten here before and the standard has always been good. Of course, we will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent fish supper”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

All fresh and friendly staff. I like to pick up a fish supper from here when passing through Ullapool.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Canisp10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Open fire competing with air conditioning”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely helpful staff, although at every opportunity were huddled around the open fire, (27th December) mainly due to to icy blast emanating from air con unit situated directly above restaurant tables,, seriously the tinsel was quivering! Switched off as soon as requested however what is that about? Such a chilly time of year? Food fine, no more no less and we thought a bit pricey, £15 for a very ordinary fish & chips? Some small changes could make this place great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c_cMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seaforth Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
 
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
 
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Seaforth Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing