We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and service poor”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Surgery Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 45 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dated and service poor”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed here on the way up to Durness, had a family room which was large and comfortable. There was a great view and a balcony to the room. However this was shared with the next room who had been allows to hang out their washing on both sides!!!!!!!! Also their kids were knocking on the door when they were not screaming ! This is not a place for two people it is more geared up to families with poorly behaved kids, we were unable to sleep due to crying and shouting children. I appreciate that this may have been a one off but the rooms seem geared up to families this ought to be shared with guests or families asked to respect privacy of others. Breakfast was a farce we sat for about 15mins whist the one member of staff said - oh you have chosen the wrong time to arrive!!!!!! We were paying her! Breakfast was fraught and not relaxing. Would not stay again.

Room Tip: Stay with your family but not as couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ches65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    51
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
39
57
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our stay at Ullapool clashed with start of book festival and our preferred digs were already fully booked. Cue Old Surgery. Room was sufficiently clean but bathroom had a carpeted floor (yeuck) and decor was very dated. Beds were ok but not comfortable and room overlooked Tesco car park - deliveries made a bit of a racket. The smell of burnt toast permeated our room before we made it for breakfast. Doubt I'll return to the Old Surgery.

Room Tip: Avoid the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were travelling with friends and had three rooms. All were very comfortable, spacious, clean and warm. Our ensuite was huge and the shower wonderful, plenty of hot water and good pressure. Breakfast was excellent. It was served cheerfully, plentiful and all choices enjoyed by our group.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chappyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

It was okay bb. Service was neutral, not good but not bad. Breakfast was good - maybe little tricky. Family room was good but the doors were really difficult to open. Location was lovely. It didnt mind me that tesco was on the back yard.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annnsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We were finding it hard to book a family room in Ullapool and came across the Old Surgery on Trip Advisor. We stayed in room 5 which had a queen size bed and bunk beds. The room was quite large as well as the ensuite. The view was of the Tesco car park but that did not bother us as we were out most of the time. Everything was well equipped but the decor looked as though it had not been updated since the renovations in the 1980's. Breakfast was good and all up at 75 pounds a night it was to bad value.

Room Tip: Try and get rooms 1 or 2 for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestAussieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Did the job, but this dated set up was not my cup of tea. We were in room 8 which is to the side of the house, no curtain for over the glass door so you feel exposed and of course it let the light in. Having said that It was clean and the bed comfy and breakfast okay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissOutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

been staying here since the early ninties cannot fault it stayed 4 nights walked to a different restaurent every night it was the end of the tourist season so the main restaurents were closed but the bar meals were fantastic real ales are a feature now days in the early days it was all keg beers in the arch inn you could get 3 malts for £7.00 what value breakfast in the surgery was superb all choices choice of juice choice of cereal tea or coffee full english or smoked haddock we were so full we never ate at lunch time the surgery is run by a family where nothing is too much trouble I expect every guest house in ullapool is ok but for us 3 guys this is the place for us

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sunshineman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
245 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
367 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#2 of 4 in Garve
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Creagan Guest House Ullapool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Surgery Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Surgery Guesthouse

Property: Old Surgery Guesthouse
Address: 3 West Terrace, Ullapool IV26 2UU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Surgery Guesthouse Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing