We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Essex Cottage
Nearby Hotels
Dundonnell Hotel(Little Loch Broom)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$246
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour House(Ullapool)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morefield Motel(Ullapool)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyll Hotel(Ullapool)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Aultbea Hotel(Aultbea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveler rating
11
3
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
3
1
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 17 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after being out camping and was a really comfy haven for us. Really good value for money. Great views and location. Lovely breakfast that set us up for the day! The lady owner was a really nice lady and so friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This B&B was truly nice. The lady running it is extremely nice and friendly. You will get a good cooked breakfast and a nice room with all facilities and views over the sea.
The B&B is within a 5-10- minute walk from the pier and the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parrulinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Went to The Essex for my birthday meal, went with 9 people, a few of us running late but not a problem for the staff, had a brilliant meal, all of us enjoyed our food and the service great, will definately be going back, can't wait, nice to find somewhere close to where we live that we all enjoyed!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikkib06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed here in July (high season) and at 160 pounds for three nights it is still good value. I asked for non-sugar Muesli for breakfast and our hostess bought this especially for us which was nice. The room was a bit on the small side and full of all types of objects we did not need - on the other hand it had a lovely view of the sea....

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldstarSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Comfy, not fancy, two bedrooms and the landlady Mrs. McFadden is exceedingly nice. We've stayed at least three different holidays. Ullapool is our favourite and Essex Cottage is walking distance to everything. Beautiful view of the inlet, ferries, hills, fog and sunsets.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMcB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews