We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelled”
Review of Morefield Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morefield Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Once again had the pleasure of staying in this family run motel/restaraunt where excellent comfortable rooms and good quality food meet.
The food is of a high quality and the owners happy to help and make your stay enjoyable and are willing to accommodate your needs.
A quality family oriented place to stay.

Room Tip: Speak to owners. They are happy to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 240 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

Had a comfortable stay at this motel in July while travelling down the coast of Scotland,the owners were really friendly and made our stay all the more better,rooms are comfortable and you can park your car right at your front door.Meals were delicious(try the lobster) affordable and plentiful,town in only a short 10 min walk away.Will definitely stay here again when in the area

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had a nice, clean, good sized room, with a particularly excellent shower. Reasonably priced too, and a friendly helpful owner. But it's the food that will live in the memory. As you might expect from the location, seafood features prominently on the menu. I had the seafood ragout my wife had the Lobster Thermidor. We spent the whole evening raving about it and arguing (inconclusively) about who had made the best choice. The seafood ragout was teeming with salmon, prawns, mussels, scallops, nod haddock in a very tasty tomato based bisque. And did I say very generous helpings at a very reasonable price. Great selection of malt whiskies too.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank DMYorke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here. When I said to the lads (we are motorcyclists) that I was organising another trip to Scotland they all asked if we could stay at the Morefield again. This time they wanted to eat here. We did eat there and the food was very very good. It is in the process of some renovation. Lets hope not too much as I would hate to see it lose it's character. I am sure we will be using this hotel again in future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The rooms were very clean and well presented, but quite small, especially my shower. Yes, light shower curtains are a pain. The proprietors and staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant was excellant, the food was very tasty and well presented and the choice of beer and wines was good. The breakfast were also very well cooked, with excellant service. I really liked the choice and variety of fruit. We liked the walk to the town, yes, it takes 10 to 15 minutes but it is a pleasant walk. Altogether, we thought it very good value for money.

Room Tip: rooms 1 to 11 are probably best as they face the lawned area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRADBURY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The rooms are a bit basic but very clean and tidy although overall they let the Motel down a bit bearing in mind it's other qualities.A plus is parking right outside each chalet.
The food was excellent both in terms of quality and quantity with seating in a pleasant conservatory. The breakfast also offers a range of choices and will leave nobody feeling hungry. The bar is a well stocked with a wide range of beers and spirits.
All round the management and staff were very helpful and friendly.
Although on the edge of the town there is a pleasant15/20mins walk to the centre and if you do not want to walk motel can arrange for a taxi.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Think 50s/60s USA motel and that is the look - quirky rooms but clean and comfortable with TV, free wi-fi etc. We don't usually eat at hotel restaurants but the Mariners restaurant and bar was worth making an exception for, and we can recommend the seafood platter for two. The bar has a fine selection of real ales. It is very popular so tell the staff if you intend to dine there.
The breakfast next morning was superb and we could face another day's cycling in good spirit.
Excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supersmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.5 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour House
Harbour House
#3 of 7 in Ullapool
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
191 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
204 reviews
17.3 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morefield Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morefield Motel

Address: 23a Morefield North Road, Ullapool IV26 2TH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range: $106 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Morefield Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Morefield Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morefield Hotel Ullapool
Morefield Motel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing