We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Review”
Review of Morefield Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morefield Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Bad: Accomodation, ie, bedroom. Very small, - bathroom especially and shower curtains that stick to you in this day and age?

Good: Breakfast. (Didn't eat there otherwise).

We stayed 3 nights and were pretty disappointed. Should have done more research prior to the trip but we made the mistake of thinking that based on price (over-priced) it would be at least OK.
Very disappointing and the Premier Inn on the way up and way back was far better and half the price.

Friendly though, but certainly would not recommend...which is a shame.

Room Tip: It's the sort of accommodation that would suit the budget traveler in anything but price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 240 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

I agree with previous comments, reminded me of Butlins in the 1950's. Bed was comfortable, good to pull car up right outside the door. Needs a complete refurbishment, washbasin was in the bedroom rather than in the bathroom.
Restaurant served good food, but a little overpriced. Breakfast was very good, the owner was very friendly, and did his best to make us feel comfortable.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Have to agree with Elaine W – awful B&B – I don't even rate it!! We struggled to get accommodation as it was a spur of the moment decision to take off, thankfully we were only staying one night but still sorry we went for it! On the website it looked like stables which had been converted and, when we arrived at our room (No. 8) thought it was quaint, how wrong we were. The window sill was rotting, the toilet was terrible with an even worse shower area, dark and smelly – no washhand basin, totally unhygenic! I was so glad I had flip-flops with me so I didn't need to walk on the horrible, threadbare, dirty carpet. Two single beds, toe-to-toe with a chair in between and a little chest of drawers at the wall beside the top bed, the head of the other bed, at the window right next to the door. A small wardrobe with a sink unit area with a white grubby, plastic sink and, the most disgusting kettle I’ve ever seen! The previous night we had stayed in a lovely B&B (Lynver Guest House, Inverness) which had only cost us £8 more than the above hovel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheMaidMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We knew this was going to be basic but on entering we were wanting to book elsewhere but as we'd paid decided to stay the two nights but stayed out as long as we could before going back in. Think Butlins 1970! Positives: clean bed and towels, can park outside your door, breakfast the usual. Negatives: Small, dark, old, tiny toilet and shower (couldn't bring myself to use), toilet area smelt of damp, bedroom area smelt of don't know what, carpet filthy, headboards covered in dust. Would never go back, would never recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just had a great night here, myself and five other motorcyclists, had a one night stopover as part of our 4 day tour of Scotland, we tour Scotland most years staying in soulless big chain hotels, this was the best place we have stayed in, great location, slightly dated but excellent rooms, very helpful friendly staff and owners, and one of the best breakfasts I have ever had, will we return? Yes without a doubt we will.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

What a place. We (6 Motorcyclists) have just had a night at the Morefield Motel. Where do I start?
The owners were very friendly from the second we arrived. The beer was great and a good price although we did not eat there the food we saw looked lovely. There is an excellent choice of whisky. The rooms were spotless as was the whole place. So much better place to stay than the soul less multi nationals. Your bike is right outside your door and it is a very pleasant stroll into town. The breakfast was fantastic, the best black pudding I have ever had. We all agreed we would definitely stay there again. So a big thank you to the owners for a great night and good company. We will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms we had were great. I don't think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

As part of a group of nine, we were all very disapointed in morefield motel
During our 9 day tour staying in 5 different accomdations this was both the most expensive and the one we agreed we would not return to
Rooms in need of a major refurbishment, probably with a bulldozer, The host tried too hard and it failed the atmosphere
Just very pleased we only booked for two nights that was more than the place deserved

Room Tip: Stay away from here even if that means stsying outside of Ullapool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.5 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour House
Harbour House
#3 of 7 in Ullapool
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
191 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
204 reviews
17.3 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morefield Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morefield Motel

Address: 23a Morefield North Road, Ullapool IV26 2TH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range: $106 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Morefield Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Morefield Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morefield Hotel Ullapool
Morefield Motel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing