We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the morefield”
Review of Morefield Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morefield Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Reviewed July 15, 2013

What a place. We (6 Motorcyclists) have just had a night at the Morefield Motel. Where do I start?
The owners were very friendly from the second we arrived. The beer was great and a good price although we did not eat there the food we saw looked lovely. There is an excellent choice of whisky. The rooms were spotless as was the whole place. So much better place to stay than the soul less multi nationals. Your bike is right outside your door and it is a very pleasant stroll into town. The breakfast was fantastic, the best black pudding I have ever had. We all agreed we would definitely stay there again. So a big thank you to the owners for a great night and good company. We will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms we had were great. I don't think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 240 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

As part of a group of nine, we were all very disapointed in morefield motel
During our 9 day tour staying in 5 different accomdations this was both the most expensive and the one we agreed we would not return to
Rooms in need of a major refurbishment, probably with a bulldozer, The host tried too hard and it failed the atmosphere
Just very pleased we only booked for two nights that was more than the place deserved

Room Tip: Stay away from here even if that means stsying outside of Ullapool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Although the hotel is a bit tired all round but due to get a face lift soon a recent lunch stop was really good. The fish ragu was very tasty and loaded with fresh fish & shellfish. The hake was delicious. Service was friendly and the email was good value from this slightly out of the way restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 192AHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The accommodation is a little dated and the shower/toilet a bit small. But the room was big and the bed comfortable. Quiet at night, clean and tidy room and peaceful. food was excellent, both breakfast and evening meal. our hosts were so helpful when we had a slight problem. a truly pleasant 3 nights.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

this was our 3rd night on a motorbike touring break. motel was very convenient as we were able to park our bike directly at our front door. room was clean and light. shower and toilet were roomy and clean. a short walk away via a beautiful river and park was the town centre, so very convenient. the breakfast the following morning was delicious and the the staff very friendly and welcoming. very good value for money. much enjoyed stay.

Room Tip: room number 2....very quiet and park outside of door so easy for getting luggage in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becky620186380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The accommodation is circa 1959 and the bedding and towels from a little later. The room on entry reeked of a Fabreeze like smell, which required us to leave the windows open and go to the bar. This bar stocks well kept real ale and as you eat there as well it was fortunate that the Menu was good and the food wholesome. On returning to the room the smell had abated. The room was initially only equipped with a sink, so they have put in box in the corner containing the shower and toilet, leaving the sink and mirror at the end of your bed! The bed had been well used and was uncomfortable. This Motel is very tired and is in need of serious investment, which is sad as the Owner and his staff are personable and enthusiastic.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyandJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed with Tony & Bev for two nights and had a great welcome.The rooms whilst not to everyone's taste provided good value and were clean and had good showers and heating.
The breakfast was excellent with a choice of cereal and fruit juices and a full cooked meal and they were happy to provide a range of options.
Had an evening meal there on two nights and the choices would suit most people.
Excellent selection of local seafood and meats with vegetarian options also available.
We would without doubt stay here again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.5 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour House
Harbour House
#3 of 7 in Ullapool
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
191 reviews
4.7 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
204 reviews
17.3 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morefield Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morefield Motel

Address: 23a Morefield North Road, Ullapool IV26 2TH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range: $106 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Morefield Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Morefield Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morefield Hotel Ullapool
Morefield Motel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing