We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very friendly, excellent food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morefield Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Morefield Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very friendly, excellent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

stayed over at the Morefield for a couple of nights to be close to friends who live in the area and the rooms were as expected - nothing flash and a bit dated but clean and comfortable and we slept well. The added advantage here at the Morefield as that as it's a motel you you can park the car right up against your room, so no carrying bags long distances. The food, as always, is great - very tasty and plentiful - and we can now say that breakfast too is also good. Tony, Bev and all the staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    69
    30
    23
    13
See reviews for
31
80
22
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
renfrew scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Have stayed in the Morefield motel a couple of times, the hosts Tony, Bev and kids are lovely. If staying in Ullapool well worth a stay in this place, if not visit just for the seafood. I had mussels for a starter and there is nowhere else you would get that amount I,ve had less for a main
elsewhere. The seafood ragout was amazing, I was there with my partner we both had a 3 course meal and four drinks the price for the amount of seafood in all fish dishes was excellent. The breakfast I would definately recommend this motel the only downside is that it's a four and a half hour drive away from us.

Room Tip: room 12, bright and parking right outside room, very quiet as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenmcshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

stayed for one night in july to catch ferry to stornaway next day the motel is clean and the staff were friendly read mixed reviews about this place and still went ok the rooms are old but they were clean slept like a log the breakfast was good as well would book this motel again if i was going to ullapool

Room Tip: the room we had was round the back you can get your car to your door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Friendly, good food (dinner & cooked breakfast). Close to town, but quite a walk. Free wifi - clean rooms. Cheapest place I found at short notice on hotels dot com - OK for the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Our company often use this hotel as its good value and is particularly friendly. I stayed with colleagues earlier this year (March 2012) for about two weeks. At first sight it looks more like a motel. Communal areas are well appointed and friendly. The rooms are located round the back. The rooms are typically motel like, small with all the amenities you expect. You can park bang outside the room and as they are located at the rear they are very quiet. We were there when it was bad weather and the rooms were very warm and cozy and easy to get a good nights sleep. Location of hotel is only a short walk away from the sea front but as it was out of season we seldom left the hotel. The best bit of the hotel is the bar and restaurant. They always do real ale and the food on offer is either a comparitively expensive/posher restaurant menu or substantially cheaper cut down bar menu. Whatever food we had was extremely good, in particular the Mary Hill pie (sausage and meat) which is legendary. Its family run and the owners and staff are fantastic, really want to come back. A very good thing which is a first for me is the option to have a pack lunch instead of breakfast; particularly useful if you are here on business. The pack lunch was huge and included sandwiches, fruit, crisps, drink, biscuit and cakes. We mostly opted for the pack lunch however the breakfast is typically scottish and very good. Nice porridge just too full from the previous evenings food to enjoy the breakfast early in the morning. Overall the motel is very friendly, and comfortable with superb food. The rooms whilst are not luxury are clean, quiet and very confortable and offer a good comfortable base for business or leisure. I would definitely look forward to coming back to stay.

Room Tip: No tips for this, but if you ever have a problem with anything the owners/staff will always try to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick_Travel_Views
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Fair to say the tired rooms have now been re-done internally, including new central heating. 7 of us stayed 1 night in June 2012 and I slept like a log after an excellent meal. For 7 motorcyclists we found it excellent value for money - we are all in professional employment and nearer 50 than 40 so don't tend to suffer poor facilities - - this is our 3rd visit in 4 years!! Next year the owners investments include a full replacement of windows & doors. Go with an open mind, recognising it's a motel which in my view offers good value for money...peace & quiet with no noise or light pollution through the night followed by an excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Pre book whilst stating your preferences - - rooms are different sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Booked in here as it had the best access and a, so called, ensuite twin room
Room was small and worn down. Shower was an embaressment. I wouldn't have minded staying somewhere that was like a bunkhouse - if I'd been paying bunkhouse prices.
Fortunately we were warned off the food so went somewhere else

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ullapool hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.5 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
17.3 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
16.1 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
10.3 mi away
Summer Isles Hotel
Summer Isles Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achiltibuie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morefield Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morefield Motel

Property: Morefield Motel
Address: 23a Morefield North Road, Ullapool IV26 2TH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Morefield Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Morefield Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morefield Hotel Ullapool
Morefield Motel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing